We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning building in a beautiful & tranquil location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cloth Hall Oast B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cranbrook
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cloth Hall Oast B&B
Save
You added Cloth Hall Oast B&B to your Saves list
Coursehorn Lane, Cranbrook TN17 3NR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 18 Cranbrook B&B and Inns
London, UK
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“Stunning building in a beautiful & tranquil location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011

We chose Cloth Hall Oast b&b from Alastair Sawday's guide 'Special Places to Stay' for our Valentine's weekend away, 11 & 12 February. We booked the room with the 4 poster bed on the ground floor.

Due to bad Friday night traffic, we arrived later than planned & so concerned about inconveniencing Katherine, we rang her ahead of time to forewarn her. No problem at all, she even offered to have some home made stew ready for us which we graciously declined as we wanted to go into the town . We arrived just after 9.00pm, greeted by Katherine at the door and told we could select our room as the two other parties had cancelled. We had specifically booked the room with the 4 poster which we had confirmed in writing and so were a little anxious to think what would have happened had the other guests not cancelled & turned up before we had!

We went out straight away and although we didn't plan to be late, we suggested to Katherine that we might take a door key. She told us that she would be up when we returned but gave us the key anyway. We drove a mile into the very pretty small town of Cranbrook. The only place we found still serving food at that time was Mumtaz Mahal, a good if not pricey Indian Restaurant with very attentive service in pleasant surroundings.

To reach Cloth Hall, a drive off the main road takes you past other buildings, including an Independent School and a magnificent house & estate dating back to the 1400s which had been visited by Elizabeth 1 that Katherine has previously owned. She had lived there for 40 years before selling and converting the Oast House which she also owned on the same land in its derelict state.

The conversion has been lovingly and tastefully done with great attention to detail. Beautiful antique furniture & silver, paintings & ornaments, photographs everywhere of her family and toys for her grandchildren. Constant reminders that first and foremost this is a home and then a b&b.

There are no locks to the b&b bedrooms and you are not as a matter of course given a front door key to let yourself in & out. Our room was spacious and beautifully furnished. One aspect we did not like was the fact that the bathroom (with bath, bidet, toilet & basin) which faces you as you enter the bedroom has no door. Although there is a cloakroom outside the bedroom, we did not want to use this in the middle of the night or first thing in the morning. Also there were no tea & coffee making facilities. Katherine did offer several times to make drinks and although the lounge was lovely, when we are in a b&b we like to spend time on our own relaxing in the room. We found this hard to do.

There were plenty of old guide books & newspaper cuttings in the room and very out-of-date magazines - some 15 years old from IKEA to Vogue!

The bathroom was roomy, with varied toiletries from hotels that Katherine had collected from her travels, perhaps something nearer to home & matching - Yardley or Bronnley would have been more in keeping. There was a rather manky nail brush & loofah which should pehaps be removed.

The bed was comfortable but the heated blanket wire was in the way, we eventually unplugged it. The pillows were very flat and by her own admission Katherine told us they were old and that she needed to buy new ones.

Breakfast was in Katherine's dining room. There was a good selection of cereals and jams all beautifully laid out. Shame though that the orange juice was 'economy', watery & tasteless. Katherine sat down and ate her breakfast with us on the Saturday morning. She was extremely helpful & knowledgeable about all there was to see. She also very kindly gave us free tickets to Leeds Castle (45 minutes away by car).

She is rather a formidable & forthright lady and fascinating to listen to - having worked at Number 10 and met many interesting people. She is clearly very kind & attentive, she likes the company and takes great pride in her home which was spotlessly clean.

We did give her feedback on the bedroom which she took well; she had wanted to keep it open plan, hence the lack of bathroom door - but she will reconsider. The drink making facilities, she is concerned that a spillage will occur and spoil the carpet. She told us others had made the same points.

We walked around the gardens which were spectacular even on a dull, rainy Wintery day. She has an outdoor pool for guests to use in the Summer and there is plenty of space to sit outside.

There is alot to see nearby; Leeds Castle was well worth a visit as were the Pantiles in Tunbridge Wells.

On the Saturday night we ate in the much acclaimed Apicius Restaurant which has a well deserved One Michelin Star - people travel there from all over the country so you need to book well in advance. It is run by a husband & wife team with very attentive service given to the 8 tables. A good menu and very reasonably priced at £31.00 for two courses. We would certainly return.

We enjoyed our weekend and with a few minor changes Cloth Hall would have been perfect.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    2
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
2
22
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2010

My partner and I had the most bizarre, horrendous-but-in-retrospect laughable experience at this oasthouse. Arrived and were given afternoon tea by owner. Found the place incredibly beautiful. Wanted to go out into cranbrook for a meal so asked for a key, which we were refused - the lady owner told us she doubted we'd be back late anyway...we went into Cranbrook, had a meal and were in a local pub just after 11pm when she threw open the door and scolded us for staying out so late in front of the entire pub....Dumbfounded we followed her back to her car...after being told off the entire way home we fell about laughing as soon as the door to the room was locked - we are a perfectly nice, normal couple in our 30s, yet we had just been treated like naughty children! Worse was to come the next day as she tried to charge us for the afternoon tea she had given us, then described us as "the worst people she had ever had stay there" when I refused to pay for what had obviously been a complimentary welcoming cup of tea and a biscuit. She wouldn't accept a cheque and demanded I leave my fiancee as security while I went to withdraw cash, which I also refused to do. Altogether one of the oddest, most unreasonable people I have ever met!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2010

Never having stayed in Kent we found what looked like a very interesting property on the net and took pot luck and booked the four poster luxury room.

The owner has done a magnificent job in converting the building into a marvelous home and a wonderful place to stay for visitors. This is a high quality building conversion with very comfortable bedrooms and well stocked bath and shower room. There was plenty of towels, lots of choice of bed linen and the spacious room was well furnished and tidied frequently during our stay.

The house is set in acres of beautiful gardens with ample places to sit and relax. The swimming pool is a great bonus and during a hot weekend we enjoyed morning and evening swims with extra towels provided.

Breakfasts were served around a beautiful Georgian dining table with room for all guests to eat together - a very enjoyable start to the day with no separate whispered conversations in small tables stuck in corners!

Our host (Katherine) was gracious, welcoming and very knowledgeable about things to do, how to get there and who lives where in the various local garden houses. She has a great fund of stories from her travels and people she has encountered. She recommended we try Apicius in Cranbrook and booked a table for us - a terrific meal and great value. We would definitely recommend it.

Overall, this proved to be a terrifically lucky choice of venue, we were at the Hop Farm Festival on the second night and although we were late back, Katherine stayed up and offered us drinks or tea at gone midnight.

Whatever brings you to this part of Kent, Cloth Hall Oast is a perfect place to explore the gardens, coast or countryside.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Riding of Yorkshire
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

A stay at Cloth Hall Oast is an experience not to be missed.The country location is within easy reach of Cranbrook and many of Kent's finest houses and gardens.
The house itself is a luxurious and beautifully furnished barn conversion standing in lovely landscaped gardens with heated swimming pool which we were able to take advantage of.
Katherine Morgan proved to be a delightful, charming and knowledgeable hostess ever ready to direct us to houses, gardens and restaurants in the area. She provided tea and cakes on our arrival and cooked a fine breakfast.We very much look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palo alto
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

My wife and I found this B&B recommended by Karen Brown. As always Karen's description was apt. We thoroughly enjoyed our two day stay in the king four poster in the former oast roundel. The home and gardens were spiffing and the breakfast choices extensive. Mrs. Morgan pointed us in interesting directions as we wandered among public gardens and to Ramsgate for the 70th anniversary of the Dunkirk evacuation.
We subscribe to all the comments in the last three reviews.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

We spent two nights at cloth hall oats third week of May 2010. It is a beautiful location with a beautiful garden. The weather was nice and the (heated) pool had just opened. We took advantage of garden and pool every morning and evening. In the Guide Michelin there is a special sign for originally and calm places: The red rocking chair. For us cloth hall oast is a location we would nominate for the red rocking chair.

Mrs. Morgan is an expert in good gardens and restaurants. That made it easy for us to identify the points of interest. The house itself is very clean. Good breakfast in a nice environment. We would always stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

We have stayed at many B&Bs over many years and this was the most enjoyable experience of any. The accomodations are warm and welcoming (we stayed in the Four Poster), the gardens and grounds leisurely, and Katherine Morgan is the most charming and engaging hostess imaginable. The breakfast selection was wonderful - the sausages are locally made and not to be missed.

We have been to the Southeast a number of times and had visisted all the best NT and other gardens...we thought. Katherine put us on to a number of gardens and properties of which we had never heard but which are now among our favorite experiences.

If you want to have some good fun, just ask Katherine for a cup of tea in the afternoon and ask her to tell you about her travels. There are few places on the planet she has not been, she has enjoyed them all thoroughly, and she has a truly unique gift in her ability to describe her experiences and impressions.

All in all, wouldn't want to miss it for the world and hope to return someday.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cloth Hall Oast B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cloth Hall Oast B&B

Address: Coursehorn Lane, Cranbrook TN17 3NR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Cranbrook
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Cranbrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Cloth Hall Oast B&B Cranbrook, Kent, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cloth Hall Oast B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.