We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The highlight of our 3-week jaunt in the UK” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Godwin House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cranbrook
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Godwin House
Save
You added Godwin House to your Saves list
Tenterden Road, Cranbrook TN17 3PA , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 18 Cranbrook B&B and Inns
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The highlight of our 3-week jaunt in the UK”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

Sean and Corinna made us most welcome, despite our having brought forward the date of arrival and turning up late at night - we caused more upheaval by also making use of their lovely little Oast House instead of just sharing the Garden Cottage! Breakfast next morning was outstanding (sign that we had been forgiven for all the muddle we caused??). We felt really at home during our 3-day stay and know we'll be back in the vicinity before too long, if you'll have us - just waiting to win our local Rio de Janeiro lottery!! Oh, and thanks for that added touch of smoked salmon with the delicious scrambled eggs!! What more could one want?? Many, many heartfelt thanks to you both and good luck to you.
Marion, Sacha and Marina Zelenoy

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
63
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

Wonderful warm welcome...with tea and cake just right after the M25!...lovely stay if only for one night....breakfast was gorgeous and we felt more like family friends than paying guests.Sean's history lesson was very interesting and we will certainly return if in the area.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Haven, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

I stayed at The Cottage at Godwin House for two nights in late October. It was quiet and peaceful, very clean and nicely updated. Owners Sean and Corinna Holden and family were very hospitable, polite, and always helpful. The garden is large and soothing. Sean's fresh-baked bread at the full English breakfast was a real treat, and his knowledge of British and World history is comprehensive and adds great conversation. It is a very good location for sorties out to many interesting sights in Kent. I was travelling alone, but will gladly return with my wife next time ! Tom O'Shea, Glen Haven, Colorado USA

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

We heard about Godwin house through a recommendation. The day we arrived it was late and we had a very warm welcome with tea and a delicious vegan cake (we had told before on the phone that we are vegans). Corinna and Sean did everything to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. They had thought a lot before about what vegans might like. We loved the garden cottage with its individual and tasteful furnishing, the comfortable bed and the big bath room. Everything was very nice and pleasant. Breakfast was really superb in its variety and especially for us with the vegan English breakfast and also the look into the garden. We got many good suggestions for visits in the environment and had interesting conversations especially about historic issues. Thank you both Corinna and Sean for the lovely week we had with you. We are sure to come back and we will recommend Godwin house to all our friends who will come to Kent.
Eike and Gerd, Hamburg, Germany

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

This is a real little gem of a B&B in Cranbrook. We were greeted with tea and a yummy slice of home made carrot cake in the garden which was the first of many lovely little extras. The area is beautiful, the house is full of character, everywhere is immaculately clean and tidy, the hosts couldn't have been more helpful, attentive and accomodating and the breakfast was delicious! There are 2 seperate little cottages in the garden where the guests stay, they each have a bathroom and a bedroom, they are beatifully decorated with all new facilities but keeping much of the original features and classic style. The bed was very comfortable too and both my husband and I had a lovely restful sleep.

We would recommend this B&B to all and look forward to going back again soon. Thank you Sean and Corinna!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

We stayed at Godwin House for one night when we were visiting the nearby Chapel Down Vineyard. We had a warm welcome from Sean, a quiet comfortable on-suite room and a great breakfast.
If we had known how good it was we would have satyed longer!

Barry & Janet Day (Portsmouth)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

Found this place from searching the web, phoned and arranged a booking for a week. I could easily have stayed longer. They were happy to accomodate our slightly earlier than scheduled arrival time. A very pleasant unique accomodation that has a charm all of it's own. Very comfortable, with excellent facilities. Breakfast is taken in the main house with views over a superb garden where watching a green woodpecker was an additional bonus. The breakfast, well what can I say, I suggest you try it!!

Our hosts were most pleasant, where no request was too much trouble, and you come to regard them as friends rather than hosts. I have no hesitation in recommending them most strongly, and I think we shall be going back before long.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Godwin House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Godwin House

Address: Tenterden Road, Cranbrook TN17 3PA , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Cranbrook
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Cranbrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are invited to bed and breakfast at our Tudor home in the heart of the Weald of Kent. Godwin House, is an Elizabethan farmhouse built in 1580 and, set in lovely grounds minutes from ancient Cranbrook and Sissinghurst. You can choose between two luxurious en suite rooms - stylish Garden Cottage or our beautiful, unique Oast House, the oldest in England, a 16th Century building rebuilt in 1740. Garden Cottage with its peg tiled roof and weatherboarding is pure Kentish style. Exposed beams and antique furniture create a welcoming and interesting space, relaxing and private. Godwin’s Oast House is special. There’s nowhere like it. You are in the heart of Kent’s history and rural life but with en-suite comfort,fine furnishings, king sized sleigh bed and mod cons. Breakfast is the best of local produce with home baked bread fresh on the day served in our Tudor Morning Room in the house overlooking the views in this designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Godwin House Cranbrook, Kent, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Godwin House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.