We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top of the line” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waters End Farm Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Waters End Farm Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Waters End Farm Bed & Breakfast
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Standen Street | Iden Green, Cranbrook TN17 4LA , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 18 Cranbrook B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Top of the line”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

The highest standard of B&B accommodation that we have yet experienced. Located in the countryside with peace, and quiet, for neighbours, Waters end Farm B&B sets such a high standard that few others even get close to, let alone equal. After an interesting drive along quiet Kent country roads, and then to turn into a long winding drive, our apprehension disappeared as Jill was there expecting our arrival. The warm greeting was accompanied by a pot of tea, and a superb fresh cake, exactly what was needed. From that arrival experience, every aspect of our stay was without peer, from superb breakfasts, to very generous room consumables, and a luxuriously appointed room. Advice on the local restaurants was freely, and accurately, given, which enabled good meals at nearby Pubs, that would otherwise have been hard to locate. This was a great experience, and we would certainly stay at this B&B on any return visit to Kent, as an added bonus is its position, that provides a great central location for day trips all over the very interesting historic county. The weather may have been not quite desirable, however the accommodation more than compensated for this deficiency.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
40
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

It's a little tricky to find, even with a SatNav, but it's worth it. Drive down a long drive and eventually reach a most charming house, with several small lakes (or large ponds) and a vast view over Kentish countryside. It's a rural idyll, peaceful and seemingly miles from everywhere. But it's definitely not rustic - everything in the property works perfectly (even the Wi-Fi). This is, in essence, quite a modern property that has been designed by people who know what's required; so the beds are proper large ones, and supremely comfortable, the bathroom kit is top class and well thought out, and the rooms have all the stuff that anyone will need (TV, fridge, kettle, hair-dryer, etc).
The place is run by Jill and her husband Maurice, and they are both masters of the art of hospitality - nothing seems to be too much trouble. They are also delightful and charming people. And to top it all, the breakfast is worthy of a Michelin star in its own right.
There are several first-class restaurants in the area (including the local pub, about a mile away) - ask Jill and she will give you advice and fix a very reasonably priced taxi.
If you're thinking about a few days holiday in Kent - and you should, it's a lovely county - then do stay at Waters End Farm. You will not get anywhere better

Room Tip: Two rooms in a separate building - where breakfast is served - are delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-sea
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

What a lovely place to have spent our Ruby Anniversary.Wonderfull grounds to walk around.Charming hosts who couldn't do enough for us.Breakfast was great.We stayed in room Oak 2 which was very nice, although we had a peek in Oak 2 which was even better so would recommend that one if available plus price is a tad more. The best B+B we have stayed at and we have tried quite a few.

Room Tip: See Review on rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Waters End Farm is a beautiful b&b and we couldnt rate it more highly. my husband booked for us to stay here for our first wedding anniversary as a surprise and i was wowed from the start. Gill & her husband are so welcoming and made us feel very relaxed. the rooms are lovely, spacious, warm with plenty of character. loved to little touches of fresh water and oj in the fridge. bathroom was very clean and had a good shower. but the best thing was the breakfast! the mushrooms, tomatoes and halloumi were scrummy! the grounds were beautiful, lots of walks and great for animal lovers. cant wait to go back!! thank you

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marly-le-Roi, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We booked both barn accommodations (self-catering) for a week's stay at Christmas as we were 11 family members in total. Everything was perfect. A stunning Christmas hamper was waiting for us on our arrival, together with an iced Christmas cake and games for the children. The decorated Christmas tree was a lovely touch and we enjoyed many cosy evenings by the wood-burning stove. The accommodation is of a very high standard and the rooms are beautifully furnished. The beds are sooo comfy, with lovely linen and the bathrooms are wonderful too. Really enjoyed using the extensive kitchen facilities too, which were well equipped. We also took advantage of nearby restaurants, particularly the Bull at Benenden where we enjoyed some lovely meals. The weather was too wet to really explore the glorious surroundings and setting, but we will plan do this on our next visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Not sure what else to say about this place other than it is stunning and you have to stay here!

The owner/host was great and really helpful and welcoming, the rooms were great and the bed was huge and really comfortable. The main house is incredible and the photos we got of the sun setting over the moat were amazing. The grounds are great too.

Go there!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

It's a long journey for us and this place was just the treat for us to relax for 5 days.
The owners are terrific and look after the facilities perfectly.
The rooms are large and comfortable with first class amenities.
Definitely lives up to it's 5 star rating.
Very good meals available at pubs around 10 minutes away.
You need a car here as it is isolated, but so quiet.
Only negative is the apple iPad does not connect, but they will lend you their computer.
Most enjoyable !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waters End Farm Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waters End Farm Bed & Breakfast

Address: Standen Street | Iden Green, Cranbrook TN17 4LA , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Cranbrook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Cranbrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Waters End Farm Bed & Breakfast 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five StarGold Breakfast Award. Lovely, quiet, well furnished, Plasma/DVD, WIFI. All rooms en-suite and very comfortable large beds,very good breakfast. Set within 45 acres of beautiful Kent countryside with own 12 acre lakes with lovely walks. Extremely well placed for visiting both Kent and Sussex. Ten minutes from Sissinghurst Gardens, Great Dixter and Pashley Manor.Leeds Castle, Chartwell, Hever Castle, Bodiam Castle and Scotney Castle, Twenty minutes from Rye, thirty minutes from Camber Sands beach, or just come to chill out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Waters End Farm Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waters End Farm Bed & Breakfast Cranbrook, Kent, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waters End Farm Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.