We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely people, incredible food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bloomsburys

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Biddenden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bloomsburys
Save
You added Bloomsburys to your Saves list
Sissinghurst Road, Biddenden, England   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
“Lovely people, incredible food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We booked Bloosmburys for a party of 30 following our wedding. The place is absolutely perfect for a group of this size (and smaller groups too by the looks of it).

Claudia and Russ looked after us so well during our stay: we felt more like VIPs then guests!

The mod-cons really make the glamping quite luxurious: hot showers, fridges and even beer kegs to order.

The food was incredible. What better way to start the day than with a Bloomsbury's breakfast. The lunch and dinner menus were also fantastic: well suited to vegetarians as well!

We can't wait to stay at Bloomsburys again another time.

Will and Zoe

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    5
    6
    0
    6
See reviews for
3
2
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Great place , Beautiful surroundings , the best cream teas ... the staff made you so welcome , I will never be able to go camping again unless it involves a proper bed , heated TP and under floor heating in the shower block ! Had the Best time ...

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We went to Bloomsburys for our annual summer works party. From the moment we arrived we were looked after, the hospitality is relaxed and very friendly. Claudia and her team did everything to make the experience enjoyable. The yurts are really comfortable, the setting is awesome. It's like being in another world away from the stresses of the city. We were a very large group but this didn't make a difference. We had a fabulous time, and the atmosphere there was so relaxing. We had arranged some activities and a lot of us went on the electric bikes which was great, we had a tour of the area and finished off with a visit to a vineyard for a nice glass of wine before heading back for high tea, which was wonderful. Home made scones with fresh clotted cream and jam. The day was finished off with a BBQ and in house band which was great fun. I personally would highly recommend a visit here, it's different and lots of fun. Thank you Claudia and the team for making our stay so GREAT. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We hired a Yurt for 8 of us on a hen do this gone weekend. I have to say that reading over the past reviews I was shocked! We had the most amazing time, it so relaxed and we were in such beautiful settings. It's just how you'd imagine with the huge tent, mattresses inside, a nice seated area with colourful bunting and fairy lights.

I can't comment on the cafe as we took all our own food, although inside it looks great, with fabulous mis-match furniture and interesting pieces, which extends to the outdoor area and garden centre. However, with regard to Claudia (the manager), she was fantastic, really friendly, a great laugh and attentive. Whether the fantastic customer service be in reaction to past reviews or not, I couldn't really care as we had a such a positive experience.

As a group we rented the Jacuzzis which were lovely and had massages from one of the resident masseuses, Daniella, which was amazing!

All in all I'd definitely recommend this place, and hope to return!
I'd say this is more for the relaxed camper, as partying into the night doesn't seem to be too much of an issue. Also regarding glamping in general, I think a lot of people forget that you're still camping, there is still going to be mud and dirt, just not as much as usual! Not meant as a patronising comment at all, I think sometimes people can expect more than they think they're going to get!

Room Tip: We stayed in the site to the right hand just as you walk into the glamping area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We came to Bloomsbury for my sister's hen do weekend and we had the most brilliant, relaxing time. Everything was incredibly laid back and Claudia and Russell bent over backwards to get everything we needed.

We booked the hot tubs for three hours on the Saturday and Daniela the masseuse to come and treat our party of eight. She was brilliant and made us all feel very special.

I loved the relaxed feeling on the site, the beautiful surroundings and the chance to have a chilled out time with our friends. There was another hen party on the site but everyone stuck to the rules and we could sit around the fire on Saturday and feel like we were in the middle of nowhere.

What a brilliant time, we'll definitely be going back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the yurt and it was a very hot weekend. It was good to keep the doors open during the d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We booked this weekend away to escape the stresses. What a mistake! The idea of being away from it all with modern day comforts looked like the perfect choice; well, it could have been. Once we were eventually shown to our site (45 mins after we got there) after the site owner 'popped out', knowing full well what time we were scheduled to arrive, we unpacked our stuff. The teepee was as we expected but we were led to believe from the photos on the website that the yurt would be better equipped and more luxurious than it was.

We proceeded to put our nibbles and drink in the warm fridge/freezer that we had to turn on ourselves and hope that it would keep ok. Claudia eventually made her way back over to the site (to read out the rules that no-one else seemed to obey) and we double checked the time for our BBQ food to be delivered but asked if we could have this asap as we were all getting hungry, it eventually turned up...2 and a half hours later than we had booked, thankfully the food was delish!!

Saturday morning a few of us decided to visit the cafe for breakfast, a small breakfast, tea and a glass of coke somehow cost over £15. We were advised that we could go to the field behind to play a game of rounders but unfortunately halfway through our 1st game the actual land owner came over and advised us that we were effectively tresspassing and using her grazing land; a very awkward and disappointing moment for us. Our picnic lunch was lovely but very small for the amount charged, the fruit had clearly been defrosted instead of being fresh and we had no choice for the fillings, fortunately we all managed to find something we could eat. this was also nearly an hour later than we had requested.

The bathroom facilities didnt appear to be cleaned at all over the weekend and they run out of loo roll early saturday evening, more was requested but never arrived. The site owners daughter had a party/sleepover on site, and didnt we know about it!! They took over and visiting the bathroom felt uncomfortable, there were items of underwear/bikinis/make-up and toothbrushes strewn everywhere. Our food again was a lot later than we had booked it for and we didnt get the items we had requested, obviously their daughters party was seen to first and we had to endure the smell of the food rather than eating ourselves for a while. thankfully we took plenty of snacks!! We asked Claudia if we could have some more firewood as this hadn't been brought round, her reply of 'try and be patient and if I get chance, and I remember, I might bring some round' summed up her attitude for the whole weekend; I went and collected some wood myself after a few hours of waiting. Customer service clearly not one of her strong points!!

After eating we all gathered round the campfire for some drinks and chatter, this was at times interrupted by the very loud music coming from both the child sleepover and the large family/friends group that were there, this continued long after the 11pm 'no noise' deadline. Many of us retired to bed around 1am to try and sleep but were disturbed by bouts of screaming, shouting and fighting at various times through the night.

Most of our group wanted to go to the cafe for breakfast on the Sunday morning but were refused the menu because we were glampers so could only have the Glampers breakfast; this was disputed and we asked to see the menu that everyone else visiting the cafe could order from, we were eventually and begrudgingly given this but were told that we coudn't have most of the items on there.

We couldn't get cleared up and off site quick enough, thankfully we still managed to have a nice time in each others company but certainly wont be returning, nor would I recommend anyone visits if they want to enjoy a real Glamping experience.

Room Tip: If in teepee make sure you zip up the door if you dont like creepy crawlies!! Also gets very hot in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We booked a yurt at this site for eight friends this weekend for a birthday celebration. There were a number of issues from start to finish which made the £120pp price tag something of a joke.

The camp site positions itself on the website as a traditional glamping site in the Kent countryside. It is in fact a field on the back of a garden centre in a village.

On arrival we appeared to walk into a squabble between the female manager and her staff and we were left for over half an hour to wait to be addressed let alone registered and taken to our camp area.

We paid over £1,000 upfront but the manager kept asking us if we had paid and what we had paid for. Pure chaos.

The website said all linens were provided. However towels were not. we asked the manager for towels three times and they never appeared.

The manager's attitude was appalling. She was rude, confrontational and absent minded and didn't follow up on anything we asked for - towels, fire wood, confirmed timing for the hot tub, how to use the hot tub, our breakfast timing and orders and the pre-paid cooked-for BBQ. She even put her hand up to stop our birthday girl talking when she was enquiry ing about breakfast.

When we arrived for breakfast that we had to pre-order the night before at 10am the kitchen hadn't opened. It took 30mins for our food to arrive. We were served half the advertised quantities of breakfast.

Chaos from start to finish. Thank goodness we didn't let this appalling woman dampen our celebration!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bloomsburys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bloomsburys

Address: Sissinghurst Road, Biddenden, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Biddenden
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Biddenden
Also Known As:
Bloomsburys Biddenden, Kent, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bloomsburys, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.