We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The George Hotel to your Saves list
The George Hotel
Quay Street, Yarmouth PO41 0PE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Yarmouth
Hamble, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“great setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We lunched here as a group of 4 adults and 2 children. Originally we had booked a table overlooking the Solent, but our English summer saw that off.

The smoked salmon starter was excellent, as was the goat's cheese - starter portions are small, which i have no problem with when the quality is this good.

Unfortunately the Thai beef salad main was disappointing, basically some leaves (not all fresh) with a few strips of beef and sweet chilli sauce, and a little nam pla. I would have expected better given the establishment. Other mains were well received. The wine list has a good range.

The staff were friendly and accommodating, though not all as attentive as one would expect for the calibre of the place.

The views from the restaurant across the water were excellent, even in the pouring rain. Definitely book a table outside when the weather permits it (a large wall shelters the garden from the prevailing sou' westerlely's) or by the window in the restaurant if it doesn't.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    54
    21
    17
    4
See reviews for
33
92
6
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We had a wonderful two night stay at The George in June, celebrating my mother's 80th birthday - it was a surprise for her and she loved it. As always a really comfortable hotel with a great ambience. We had perfect rooms (chosen with Marylin's help last year), two adjoining balcony rooms and the four poster room. We were hoping to have champagne on the balcony deck but it was far too windy! The food was very good, service also very good - one very helpful guy (sorry don't know his name) in the restaurant who we quizzed remorselessly about various things to do with the history and the food, always came back with an answer and a smile - he was probably glad when we left. Our stay coincided with the IOW festival, and there were a couple of festival goers staying at the hotel (glamping rather than camping!). Look forward to staying again in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed for a weekend here in one of their balcony rooms. We were lucky with the weather so got to experience the best the hotel has to offer. The food was exceptional and that really was the the difference for us. Others have moaned about the service in the hotel but i'm not sure why. I think people must have the wrong expectations from staff these days. Anyway loved the room and the location bang on the ferry terminal is very handy. Parking was not ideal but we didn't stay there for that reason. Would highly recommend for the food alone, worth the money in my opinion.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012 via mobile

Visited the George for an after dinner drink Jubilee week. The covered pavilion came with heaters and blankets. Just as well as it was b.....y freezing weather. We just had coffees but the menu looked tempting.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

My partner took me to Yarmouth as a surprise for my Birthday at the end of April. We stayed at The George for two nights. This hotel is lovely. Inside the decor is classic with a modern twist, and very up together. The service is really second to none, nothing was too much of a problem for any of the staff. Our room (room 1) was huge! And beautifully appointed. We didn't have sea views, but this didn't matter as the room had large sash windows and a lovely large comfortable bed. The bathroom was huge and again very well appointed (it felt new!). The breakfast in the morning was plentiful and really nice and what a view!! The weather was awful all weekend, but this really didnt dampen our spirits, there are lovely shops and restaurants right on the door step of the hotel, and one day we got a taxi over to Cowes which was also lovely.

Overall I would highly recommend this hotel and we will no doubt be back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

As you may already know the Isle of Wight exists to some extent in a time before the worlds current problems, some say even well before time began. The George is about location and in the main absolutely excellent service. The location in the centre of Yarmouth close to the excellent Wightlink ferry service and overlooking the Solent is beautiful, with parking nearby in the town, although it could be somewhat more difficult in the full summer months there were no problems at all in April this year. The restaurant is really well run with all staff welcoming and helpful to the extreme and providing off menu items without a hesitation. Our room overlooking the Solent was well appointed and comfortable.So all good so far but !!.
Apparently the property is owned partly by an ex rock star (explains the many guitars evident as part of the decoration) and the commodore of the local Yacht Club. I am sure both of these people live in the up-to date world where the internet is as much a requirement for travellors as the water out of the taps is. But I am afraid the biggest letdown here is is it's almost unavailable unless you stand on one leg at various times of the day near reception , then Voila !! it is there just.

Come on guys please you can not let yourselves down in this way.

Also as far as technology goes the recent digital upgrade of TV transmissions locally has caught these folk trowsers down BigTime. Again lets catch up and be 100% Please.
We are back on the island shortly, I shall check for upgrades, but we may stay elsewhere which is a shame.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

0verall we had a wonderful 3 nights at the George - the sun shone so we got to sit in the garden and enjoy watching the ferries coming and going beside the pretty pier.
We feel that we were mislead on a few of the details concerning our booking - firstly we were not aware that the hotel did not have its own car park until we received our final confirmation letter. We were on a Romantic Break for two nights which included Champagne and chocolates but actually only half a bottle of champagne was produced. Dinner was excellent as were the breakfasts so well done to the chef, but the service let the occasion down - it appeared that the staff were inexperienced and untrained.
We stayed in Room 26 with rooftop views - no safe but a gun cupboard!!!!. No tea or coffee making facilities! By prior arrangement morning tea was brought to the room which was a nice gesture but not what we were expecting. I had to clean the shower head to get enough water through it, the toilet roll holder was hanging off and the toilet seat was loose! Little things which were easily overcome but our expectations was for very high standards.
We loved our time on the Isle of Wight but did not feel that the standard justified the price.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Address: Quay Street, Yarmouth PO41 0PE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Yarmouth
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George Hotel is a 17th Century town house in the bustling village and Harbour of Yarmouth on the Isle of Wight. A Traditional environment of warmth and atmosphere is found in each individually designed bedroom. Meticulous attention to detail perfects a marriage of comfort and relaxation, and caters for your every need. All rooms offer: full room service, bathrobes, hairdryers, direct dial telephone, satellite TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Yarmouth
The George Hotel Yarmouth, Isle Of Wight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The George Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.