We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and clean B&B, Friendly and Helpful Hostess” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harvey's Bed and Breakfast

Harvey's Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yarmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Harvey's Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Harvey's Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
The Square, Yarmouth PO41 0NP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Yarmouth B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable and clean B&B, Friendly and Helpful Hostess”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We have extended family who live in Yarmouth and have been many times over the years - staying at a number of B&B's in and near town. This, without a doubt, is our favourite - for value, location and comfort. Three of us stayed this time (child, mum and grandmother) and Sarah (the proprietor) set up a wonderful room for the three of us to share. Plenty of storage space, room tidied every day, comfortable beds, new sheets and towels whenever we needed (and sooner!), CLEAN, a fridge to use for our own food, and a very comfortable shared living room. Sarah gave us a warm and helpful welcome, and continued to help and accommodate us throughout our stay. Breakfasts were SO tasty (helped by her lovely mother Margaret) and for over a week, we really felt at home. The location right in the centre of town is fantastically central and convenient, and in spite of that, still perfectly quiet. I agree with another reviewer that the rooms are all a little different, so if you don't need special arrangements (like we did with our three beds), ask to see a few of them and pick the perfect one for you. Enjoy!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
2
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

We haved stayed here twice now and both times it has been a pleasure, good tidy clean rooms with ensuite showers, a warm welcome and a monster breakfast, the fact it's above cost cutter made no difference to us no noise problems and plenty of places to eat locally as its right on the Yarmouth square.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

It was a slight surprise that Harvey’s sits above the Costcutter supermarket in the small, charming square in Yarmouth. Don’t let this put you off, this is a great place to stay.
The welcome we got from Sarah was perfect.
We were there to do a bike race and their garage had been specially cleared out to give us safe, secure storage.
Sarah’s mum even made us her special home-made porridge for breakfast which is the perfect cycling energy food, and we could have had a full-English if we wanted. Cereals, fruit juices, tea, toast or coffee were all laid on.
The fact that there is a proper dining room, overlooking the square makes Harvey’s seem more like a small hotel rather than a conventional B&B. There is even a separate guest’s lounge with a massive TV which is very rare for a B&B.
We had two good-sized rooms; spotlessly clean with lots of space and flat screen TVs, good showers with white fluffy towels and soaps and moisturisers.
There are about half a dozen great places to eat within one minute’s walk and the ferry terminal is literally two minutes away.
In one word: faultless and we would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: I had room 3, overlooks a quiet side road and you can hear people talking as they walk past but very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed only one night but would have enjoyed staying more. Great location right in the middle of delightful little village of Yarmouth. It has all been refurbished so is modern yet comfortably traditional. Plenty of thoughtful details in the room (power point and lighting) which was faultlessly clean. Good fluffy towels and comfortable bed with quality bedding. I was warm as well - really important to me.
Sarah the host was warm, friendly and very helpful. Breakfast was excellent.

Room Tip: Try to avoid staying in a room at the back as the grocery shop underneath gets noisy early morning d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is a very nice B&B with a very friendly reception from the proprietor, and comfortable clean rooms. The layout is quite different, being spread across various bits of the building at first floor level, but no worse for that. Slept very well in a comfortable and warm bed: we had no noise problems in our room apart from the rain hammering down outside!

It's right in the centre of Yarmouth very near to good pubs and restaurants.

Breakfast was excellent - the 'full English' had big portions and with good alternative choice of continental style on offer and as much coffee etc as you could want.

The only negative about breakfast was that the vegetarian version is simply the normal 'full English' minus the sausages and bacon! Ask for extra tomato, mushrooms or beans and a second egg!

Room Tip: The rooms are all a bit different so ask to have a look at others if there is a choice available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Although it wasn't mentioned that the B&B was above a local 'co-op' style store, this very small 6 bedroom b&b was fine for one night and close to the ferry port. The room was nice enough with a comfortable bed and a fair size ensuite. The best thing about the place was the wonderful breakfast. I particularly loved the choice of soft fruit berries and fruit and yoghurt which was laid out aswell as the normal cerials and fruit juices. The cooked breakfast was a generous size and you even got TWO sausages! Sarah was very friendly. Recommended

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

This B&B has been renovated and does not now reflect the 2010 review that Willowblue gave. The we had was clean and beautifully decorated. The en-suite was a really good size. The breakfast was wonderful - and BIG! Sausages from their own farm (bacon too, I think). Yes, the B&B IS on top of a deli, but it wasn't noisey at all. The room overlooked the town square and we had wonderful views of the entertainment going on in the square at Old Gaffers. Sarah, who manages it, couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. Give it a try and stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for the room next to the breakfast room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harvey's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvey's Bed and Breakfast

Address: The Square, Yarmouth PO41 0NP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Yarmouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Yarmouth
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Harvey's Bed And Breakfast Yarmouth, Isle Of Wight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harvey's Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.