We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs Refurbishment and Spring Cleaning” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Country Garden Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Totland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Country Garden Hotel
Church Hill, Totland PO39 0ET, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Totland
Stratford upon Avon
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Needs Refurbishment and Spring Cleaning”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

We stayed for two nights and although we enjoyed our short break we were disappointed with this hotel. Having viewed the website before booking I felt confident this would be of superior quality, however the hotel is dated, tired and in need of a really good clean.
The proprietors were welcoming and friendly but although a non smoking hotel, there was an aroma of stale tobacco smoke in reception. The rooms we had were spacious and light but needed attention to detail, tops of wardrobes thick with dust and windows dirty with many cobwebs. Bathrooms were clean with complimentary toiletries. Breakfast was tasty and efficiently served by a very polite young man although we were not keen on the plastic teapot! The gardens have the potential to be lovely but look quite neglected and the outside of the hotel needs attention, even if just to remove grime and yet more cobwebs.
If you are looking for a good old fashioned/traditional B&B then this is the place for you but it didn't really meet our expectations.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    5
    4
    4
    5
See reviews for
5
11
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

Spent 2 nights in a twin room with elderly and infirm mother, booked through Laterooms and cost £150. The bathroom/wetroom was modern clean and convienient, the beds were comfy and there was a pretty view of the garden, plenty of tea/coffee and fridge with fresh milk. The service was attentive without being intrusive and the breakfast was plentiful, good quality and well cooked. We both enjoyed our stay and thought it very good value for money and managed to see a lot of the Island without car. would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

The hotel is in a quiet location, with beautiful gardens. When we arrived we were welcomed by the owners who were friendly and pleasant and the room we stayed in (The Marigold) was spacious and had a view of the sea. It was a pleasant change to have a fridge in the bedroom which we used to store cold drinks and chill wine. There are tea and coffee making facilities and also provided daily is a small jug of fresh milk.
Breakfast is a wide variety of foods, cereals, fruit, yoghurts and a really good cooked english breakfast, my husband and myself didn't feel the need to eat lunch after such a fulfilling breakfast.

When we return to the IOW we will certainly stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: ask for the Marigold bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

We have just enjoyed a 2 night stay at this hotel. The food was excellent.
We stayed in the Marigold room which was adequate and sufficient for our requirements.
The prices in the bar were comparable with some of the pubs on the island.
Yes the rooms are a tad expensive but you make yourself aware of the prices when booking. If you don't like the prices don't book. Better that than be disatisfied.
Being an early bird my only gripe would be about the breakfast hours....8-30 to 9-30 and a £10pp charge if you wanted it between 8 to 8-30....in mitigation nothing on the island opens or starts before 10 - 10-30.

All in all an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2009

What superb service at this hotel. The staff were friendly & attentive and the chef marvellous in accommodating my "Gluten Free Diet". What a choice menu and the bacon as breakfast is delicious. They have a delightful and very comfortable lounge overlooking the gardens. Just the thing for us old folk to relax & read and No children was a blessing. The whole hotel was peaceful & relaxing with good old fashion service. We could also discover the Island by bus as it stops right outside of the hotel. We hope to return next year god willing. Keep up the good work.

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2009

Never again would I visit this hotel. The rooms are dated and desperately need decorating. They are untidy and the whole hotel looks like it's never seen a duster! The breakfast was ok, but very small portion sizes. Certainly not worth anywhere the money charged. The female owner of the hotel was also extremely rude and arrogant. Following the hotel double booking our room, we only stayed one night instead of the two nights booked over the phone. The female owner did not apologise and chose to insist that it was our mistake. A course in good customer service is urgently needed!

You couldn't pay me to visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dupediddley, OWNER at The Country Garden Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2009
You made a booking for one night. Your mailed confirmation clearly stated this, along with your dated ferry tickets. You also signed a registration form on arrival which also clearly stated your stay was for one night only.

The room you were allocated was redecorated, newly carpeted and a new bathroom fitted in January 2009.
We have invoices to confirm this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

Ridicuously over priced.......£160 for one night for 2 people and why do they charge per person and not the room. Bed one of the worst I have ever slept in, shower a pathetic dribble at best, decor, I felt sea sick, red and green carpets clashing against each other. TV circa 1970....amazed it was not black and white.

On the plus side the staff are attentive, helpful and charming, they where probably shocked at the state of the hotel and the day light robbery price. I can get a room twice as good in central london for £60 less. Would have been more comfortable in a tent, if the owners do nothing else sort out the beds and showers.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Country Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Country Garden Hotel

Address: Church Hill, Totland PO39 0ET, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Totland
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Totland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Country Garden Hotel
The Country Garden Hotel Totland, Isle Of Wight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Country Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Country Garden Hotel to your Saves list