We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spot on location, warm and friendly family hotel with lovely food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Priory Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Priory Bay Hotel to your Saves list
Priory Bay Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Priory Drive, Seaview PO34 5BU, England   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Seaview
London
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Spot on location, warm and friendly family hotel with lovely food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

Stayed here for half term having checked out of a nightmare of a hotel elsewhere on the island. What a difference. Warm, friendly and invitng, and OK not awash with kids facilities but our daughter soon got chatting to others in the play room and they were friends for our stay. There are room listening facilities - GREAT ! You can eat altogether in the family restaurant or Mum and Dad can indulge in the more upmarket restaurant. Food very tasty - a bit hit and miss but I'd say good not bad. Service very attentive - always a friendly smiling face. And of course, there's the beach - YOUR beach. For running, walking, paddling and sand castles. Marvellous...

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPrioryBay, General Manager at Priory Bay Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2010
Thank you so much for your comments. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    56
    40
    30
    20
See reviews for
89
126
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2010

We stayed in one of Priory Bay's self catering cottages over the new year period 09/10. Amazing location, gorgeous beach - ideal for dog walking. We had particularly been looking for somewhere that allowed dogs, this is what drew us to Priory Bay, although only allowed in the self catering cottages but this suited us fine. The cottages themselves are very basic but clean and really well supplied, never stayed anywhere with such a well supplied kitchen, everything you could possibly need! The walls are fairly thin in between the cottages and the windows are badly sealed, huge draft blowing through the living room french windows which meant it was hard to keep warm. But lovely view over the golf course and really nice to be self contained in such peaceful surroundings.

We went up to the hotel for a cream tea and also dinner one night but to be honest we didn't feel very welcome. It is a gorgeous property but something seemed to be lacking. Maybe it was bit atmosphere-less. Certianly when we had dinner in the more relaxed of the 2 restaurants we were the only people in there and felt we were eating off garden furniture. Great fish and chips but my husband had a whiskey from the bar which cost a small fortune, worse than any London prices!

So in summary this place could be absolutely amazing but unfortunately it is not quite there. Needs a more cosy, comfy, homely feel. We were there mid winter and we never once saw the fire lit which was a great shame. There is also a very tatty, run down beach type restaurant in the grounds (closed but not sure whether that was just for the winter period or for good) and it is things like this that left us feeling a little disappointed. Needs a bit of love and investment plus a few more welcoming staff and it could be heaps better than it is...

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPrioryBay, General Manager at Priory Bay Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2010
I think you will like the changes we have made recently, Please come back and see.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

Spent the weekend at the hotel - the staff was attentive but not friendly, rooms just average and no shower in our en-suite. Food trendy, but very small portions for high prices - nicely presented. But, weekend was saved by the location - great breach walking and views.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
201 helpful votes 201 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2010

We have just stayed at this hotel and have found it one of the best hotels we've stayed at in a long time....its only 3 stars but we have stayed in far worse 5 star hotels in the UK.

Superb room in the main house with a view of the Bay...dinner in the restaurant was also superb ... a couple of hiccups were put right immediately, professionaly and without question.....as was lounging about with a pre-dinner drink on the sofa infront of the open log fire.

Breakfast was top quality too...

We thought that the whole place had a wonderful atmosphere (it did help that the weather was glorious with an amazing full moon)..the walk through the trees down to the private beach (most pebbles) with all the birds and red squirels was a joy.

Equally, we cannot understand the few negative comments here about the staff???.....everyone that we encountered was of the highest quality and above all, cheery.

The only downside to us was that we noticed that pets were allowed...although that's probably just on the outside buildings and rooms....not keen on the idea that a dog has slept in or on a bed that I'm sleeping in.

We will not hesitate to return when we can.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPrioryBay, General Manager at Priory Bay Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2010
Thank you for your comments. I can confirm, pets are only allowed in the cottages!

See you soon hopefully.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west sussex
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2010

On our 4th visit we found ourselves unable to leave due to severe weather conditions.What a dilemma! Accomodation was immedietly offered,ferry bookings altered and specialised food arranged for our disabled family by the michelin star chef. A polished peformance from all the staff. The Priory bay excells. Fabulous warm comfortable accomodation, the food was warming and the hospitality heartwarming ! This hotel is not to be missed-A GEM ON THE ISLAND

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPrioryBay, General Manager at Priory Bay Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2010
Thank you so much for your lovely comments.

We love having you and your family here and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, UK
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2009

Having read the other reviews I was terrified about our anniversary trip to the Priory Bay. However I needn't have worried. The hotel is set in beautiful grounds, with a lovely walk down to the private (sandy) beach.

We were given a warm welcome and shown to our room, no sign of the grimy worn out hotel I was expecting and our room at the very top of the hotel was simply stunning! We had our own balcony with a fantastic view of the sea. Also we had been left fresh fruit and an anniversary card from all the staff. Rooms have Freeview and a DVD player as well as lovely Molton Brown toiletries.

My next fear was the food - the first night we ate in the Oyster Restaurant - basic value food and we only had one course but it was all nicely cooked with friendly service. We had been given menus to read in the bar before hand and our drinks were carried from the bar to the restaurant.

For the night of our anniversary we ate in the Island Room - again it was attentive and friendly service. I can see if busy they may have problems but we felt the pace of the meal was perfect. The food was lovely - my partners beef was simply stunning. No it isn't Michelin star quality but nor is it Little Chef. It is clearly a hotel on the up and trying to deliver good quality in relaxed surroundings. For me they succeeded. Yes room for improvement but I didn't feel that at £35 for 3 courses the meal was at all over priced.

We had drinks in the bar afterwards and again all the staff were very friendly - it was a very enjoyable stay and we will certainly go back. We met one couple that have been regulars for 10 years and they certainly had no complaints!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPrioryBay, General Manager at Priory Bay Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2010
Thank you for your lovely comments, and i am glad you had a good anniversary.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

We had 3 nights at this hotel recently.
Bits of the building are part of an old priory and so the overall aspect is “historic”.
The grounds are quite large and extend down to a large private beach and encompass a 9 hole par 3 golf course, OK for a bit of practise, greens looked OK, fairways rough.
There were gardens and a swimming pool, but due to the time of year it was full of leaves, brown water didn't look nice.

There was a shortage of rooms when we booked and we took an oak panelled room (No 3). Overall the room was pleasantly furnished in a traditional/historic way. We were warned the room had dark walls, but it was really (really) dark, even in the day. There was insufficient light to see what was in your case. All it really needed were some decent lights set in the ceiling as in the bathroom. The other problem with the room was that only one small window opened, the other being screwed shut. Even in September this made the room stuffy and hot. They really need to fix this – get some new opening windows.

Although the hotel was furnished nicely, some of the carpets were threadbare on the stairs – I don’t expect to see this at £200per night.

One evening we eat in the Island Room restaurant (traditional). The food was OK, not brilliant and service was slow. Another dark gloomy room. We sat for ages waiting for someone to offer us some bread. Finally some arrived in the restaurant, but the waiter didn’t seem to want to hand it out until we asked, then everyone did – it was delicious however. The staff didn’t really seem to be trained. Before dinner we had gone for a drink in the bar. We were asked if we were dining, but no one then thought to offer us a menu and then they disappeared and didn’t come back. Overall the meal was OK but not worth the ca £120 bill (for 2).

Other evenings we ate in the Oyster Room restaurant (bistro/fish). The food here seemed better and cheaper and the service was friendly and good – we were happy with this one. Breakfast was excellent and service was good. Usual buffet, fruit, smoked salmon, cereals etc. followed by English breakfast or poached fish.

Overall I would only go back if I needed a hotel in the locality and couldn’t find an alternative, but never to Room 3.
I would never go there for a treat.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPrioryBay, General Manager at Priory Bay Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2010
We would love to put additional lighting in the Room, however, it is the only room in the hotel that contains the origional oak panelling and we are therefor not allowed to install additional lighting. We have carried out lots of general maintenance recently and have an ongoing plan in operation.

Thank you for your comments though, they are all very helpful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Priory Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Priory Bay Hotel

Address: Priory Drive, Seaview PO34 5BU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Seaview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Seaview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Priory Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Priory Bay is the Isle of Wight’s leading country house hotel. Set within a 60-acre estate, it's period buildings have spectacular views out to sea, with gardens and woodland running down to the bay. It inspires our chefs to use the finest seasonal ingredients, whether foraged, farmed or fished we are passionate about local produce. James Trevaskis and Oliver Stephens have both returned to the Isle of Wight to run the restaurant and kitchen at the Priory Bay Hotel. James and Oliver started their careers at Priory Bay and then went on to hone their skills in London, Paris and Copenhagen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Priory Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Priory Bay Seaview
Hotel Priory Bay
Priory Bay Hotel Seaview, Isle Of Wight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Priory Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.