We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Atmospehere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Fort

The Old Fort
The Esplanade, Seaview PO34 5HB, England
01983 612363
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 9 Restaurants in Seaview
Cuisines: English, Seafood, International
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Atmospehere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We have been several times to this restaurant and although quite basic gives good food and a very friendly atmosphere. The views across the Solent are brilliant (saw Queen Mary 2 set sail) and Seaview itself is wonderful. We found it neccessary to pre-book this year as it always seems to be fully booked with 2 sittings in the evening.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    25
    7
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Beer and Curry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Went there for their curry night (Wednesday when we went). Good real ale and excellent eat as much as you like curry. Sitting out area for drinks right on the sea side.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Disappointingly slow service.......”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Judging by the fulsome reviews I imagine we must just have been unlucky (and it was confirmed later that they had 2 new chefs) but we sat with two ravenous teenagers for what felt like an inordinate length of time before our food arrived on a recent visit.

The fare was judged to be fine by the rest of the family but a merguez salad was mediocre and we couldn't bear to risk another prolonged wait for desserts.

Despite this experience we would give The Old Fort the benefit of the doubt and essay a return visit given the very agreeable décor and superb views.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good food, great service and fantastic sea views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This was our fourth trip to the IOW, and we always stay in Seaview, and always visit The Old Fort at least once during our stay.
It offers good food, good service, and wonderful views which you can enjoy from inside or outside right by the sea wall. Wednesday curry night is good, I would recommend booking if you want to visit for an evening meal as it is fairly small and gets very busy.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Yummy food, great views and very friendly!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We were staying in Seaview over half term and this was definitely our favourite place to eat. The food was delicious, it was child friendly, the people were so welcoming and the views over the sea were incredible! You could see the Spinnaker Tower from our table. We ate there three times and every time, the menu had changed and every night was great! You feel very relaxed there and there are three sittings a night. Best to book in the busy periods as it was very popular. Can't recommend it enough!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Fort also viewed

Seaview, Isle of Wight
 
Seaview, Isle of Wight
Seaview, Isle of Wight
 

Been to The Old Fort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Fort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.