We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the journey there” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Seaview Hotel and Restaurant

The Seaview Hotel and Restaurant
The High Street | High Street, Seaview PO34 5EX, England
+44 1983 612711
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 9 Restaurants in Seaview
Price range: $23 - $45
Cuisines: Fish & Chips, Seafood, British, English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Good, unpretentious food coupled with relaxed informal dining is at the heart of the Seaview Hotel. We are lucky to have our very own farm supplying beef, pork and venison as well as fresh vegetables and herbs. Alongside traditional crops we have planted a variety of heritage vegetables bringing some new colour and flavour to the table. We try to keep our food offering as 'local' as possible and work with a multitude of island suppliers, for example it's not unusual for our head chef, Bruce Theobald, to know when our fish was caught, by whom and on which boat. 'Newclose Farm pork is simply the best I have ever tasted. The animals are reared respectfully and sustainably by our farmer Adrian Lax.' - Bruce Theobald
Totland Bay
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Well worth the journey there”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Went with friends for the 3 course Sunday lunch battling the awful wind and rain to get there from the other side of the island. The bars were busy but the restaurant was fairly quiet. The rear restaurant part where we ate is a very attractive room. The menu choice was good and everyone from our party was impressed with the quality and presentation of the food. Service was good and the staff friendly. We look forward to another visit in the future.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    33
    15
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
“One of the best Roast dinners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Went for Sunday lunch with friends while on holiday . Good food, potted crab which was a hot starter and very taste, roast beef, roast potatoes, Yorkshire pudding and really well cooked veg, (the roast potatoes were cooked to perfection, the meat exactly as I like it and great gravy, the sticky toffee pudding and caramel ice cream, my husband had soup which looked good, lamb which he said was amount the nicest he had had and apple crumble and ice cream which was also good. The service was good and efficient , I asked for my beef well done and it was. It was also good value for money. The tables were well laid out and everyone was a good distance from each other not to near.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“birthday night outing while on a visit to the Isle of Wight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

A very good dinner well cooked and nicely presented and good value.
The service was good and the waitresses very friendly and efficient.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Good Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We were on a short break to Seaview on the Isle of Wight and decided to go here for lunch. We sat in the front bar which looks like it has recently been refurbished and my husband and I chose our meals off the specials board. I had the cottage pie which was beautifully cooked and served with a nice selection of vegetables and my husband had the roast pork which he thoroughly enjoyed. Afterwards we asked the waiter if we could have had something off the restaurant menu which was billed as three courses and we were told we were more than welcome to have either three, two or even one course. We did have a bottle of wine with our meal but they do have a couple of real ales on. We found the service absolutely fine.
A couple of nights later we just went back and sat in the pump bar which is to the rear of the building just for a drink. Very pleasant no fruit machines or loud noise.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We went for dinner with friends and family and the restaurant and food just gets better every time, the lovely local ingredients and quality of the food are beautifully cooked and presented and it is excellent value for the money compared to other restaurants and so called gastro pubs on the island.

I was surprised to see the comments about the worst service, as we have always received excellent friendly and attentive service so this seems odd compared to the experience that we received

If you are looking for great food in a relaxed and friendly restaurant then this restaurant ticks all the boxes

Highly recommended

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaview-Hotel A, Front Office Manager at The Seaview Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you so much for submitting your feedback and mentioning the service. I am aware that we do not always get everything right, but I am glad than in your case you have had friendly and attentive experience :)

Our head chef, Alan Staley, has great plans to consolidate our food offering even more. His style of skilfully preparing well-sourced ingredients without fuss and pretension is pitch-perfect for the Seaview Hotel. We are lucky to have our own farm, Newclose Farm, and we are already planning the crops for next year.

Without doubt we have gone through quite a period of change this year, and conversely this has caused us to reflect on what has made the Seaview Hotel so unique and loved.

Thank you so much for all your support and we hope to be even better on your return visit.

Best regards

Tracy Mikich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Seaview Hotel and Restaurant also viewed

Seaview, Isle of Wight
Seaview, Isle of Wight
 
Seaview, Isle of Wight
Seaview, Isle of Wight
 

Been to The Seaview Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Seaview Hotel and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.