We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC FOOD AND GREAT VALUE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yelf's Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Yelf's Hotel to your Saves list
Yelf's Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   54 Union Street, Ryde PO33 2LG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Ryde
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC FOOD AND GREAT VALUE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Came across this hotel restaurant by accident last night whilst rushing to get bus for ferry back to the main land. We opted for 3 courses for £15 including a LARGE cup of filter coffee. What a meal, starter big bowl of fluffy potato skins with onion and chive dip, main sword fish in lovely butter sauce with new potatoes, other half had large leg of lamb steak on bed of mash both coming with ample mixed veg., both finished with the most enormous bowl of eton mess with mixed berries we have ever seen SO much lovely thick cream..............WONDERFUL!! We missed intended bus which made us have long wait for last ferry of the night then not getting a homeward bus till 1;30am but remembering the journey will make us re-live the most amazing meal we have ever enjoyed with the exception of several cruise liners.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YelfsHotel, Manager at Yelf's Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your evening at Yelfs Hotel. Our restaurant is becoming ever popular with visitors from the mainland as it is so quick and easy to cross over to the Island. I am so pleased you enjoyed your meal and thank you for including the lovely photos. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    87
    32
    25
    14
See reviews for
49
97
18
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
126 hotel reviews
Reviews in 132 cities Reviews in 132 cities
204 helpful votes 204 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed 5 nights along with about 25 other members of a choir that were performing at a charity concert in Ryde. Not surprisingly, the hotel was busy both with choir members and others enjoying the Bank Holiday but generally the staff coped very well. Reception were efficient, knowledgeable and friendly. Service at breakfast was particularly good (especially Nikki) as was the food. Some advice for anyone having breakfast at Yelf's - ask the waitress if you don't see the food you want on the buffet. In fact, the hotel should have a breakfast menu on each table which makes clear what can be ordered from the kitchen.

We treated ourselves to a suite (Room 14) on the second floor which was basically two rooms with a bathroom in between them. The room was spacious, comfortable and quiet though the bathroom was in need of modernising (especially the shower) and some better towels are much needed. Note - the hotel has no lift.

Hopefully, the current refurbishment programme which will refresh the building so that it really becomes a top 3 Star hotel. It's certainly what the staff deserve.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

This building needs a good bit of refurbishment and new decor inside and out. Staff were polite but the state if the place was old, ratty and unloved.

The food was good and the bar was friendly.

To get into the hallways that lead to the rooms you need a code. The code is easily obtainable and could anyone could get in.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We spent five nights at Yelfs from Monday 6th May. This was our 7th stay at this hotel in the past three years and it did not dissapoint. Firstly the service and friendliness of all the staff - particularly in reception. Secondly, the food which was well presented, excellent choice (particularly the daily 'specials') and delicious. Thirdly the room which was spacious and quiet (located at the back of the hotel). On each of our visits we have found the staff to be very friendly and helpful and we look forward to our next visit

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horley, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Yelfs as my family live in Ryde and being in the town makes it really easy to see everyone within walking distance. We could leave the car in the car park with CCTV coverage with easy access to the hotel even though it is in the adjacent road.

We checked into room 11 which is at the back of the hotel. The room is a bit tired with a definitive sloppy floor. However the building is pretty old and is on Union Street which for anyone who knows Ryde, will know that it is the steep road leading up from the seafront.
On check in we were informed that there was a rugby team staying in the hotel! This would not have been a problem if they had behaved, however it became apparent that some of them were in the room above us. After a few minutes I had to go and complain at reception and the reception staff said they would deal with them and the chap who had arranged their visit.
Back in the room things got worse and I went back to reception and said that we were not prepared to stay in that room and the receptionist moved us into room 27. This room is on the top floor at the back of the hotel with a sea view, four poster bed and is a larger room. It was hoped by all concerned that this would be a quieter room for us! To cut a long story short, the rugby team were pretty uncontrollable and caused rucus most of the night into the morning! A fair number of residents complained in the morning because we had had such a disturbed nights sleep.
I contacted the hotel for the details of the manager and without any prompting she wrote to me offering a full refund and a discount on any future stay with an apology of the behaviour of the rugby team.

We are used to four star accommodation but we would stay at the hotel again, but choosing to stay in the more expensive room.

The breakfast would have benefitted from having some fresh fruit but that said it was perfectly acceptable.
All of the staff at the hotel were pleasant and friendly and given the circumstances, had their work cut out for them keeping the rugby team under some sort of control!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

visited this hotel on Saturday 4th May as friends from the mainland were staying
only used the bar area & the rest room
absolutely disgusting condition of rest rooms
went out in the evening & when we returned at 11pm, someone had been sick at the bar.
This stayed unattended to for the next half hour, when I left.
Probably the most disgusting bar I have been in, anywhere in the world
Absolutely disgraceful

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YelfsHotel, Manager at Yelf's Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
I am so sorry that you had to witness the disgraceful behaviour and lack of respect for the hotel bar and restrooms last Saturday by a visiting Rugby Club, Our facilities are usually cleaned and checked regularly but we failed on this occasion to witness the incident next to the bar and it was not brought to our attention by anyone else. This is not acceptable and I sincerely appologise. Yelfs is used to a more traditional clientel and this particular crowd will not be tolerated or welcomed back again.

Please revisit us again in the future when you will see how lovely our bar and sunny beer garden really are.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at Yelf's whilst attending a friends wedding.
We struggled to find the ideal hotel in Ryde but thought that Yelf's hotel would a be safe bet given the AA 3* rating and a number of positive TripAdvisor reviews. As it turned out, we were very disappointed.

First, on the positive side:
* Staff in reception were friendly and helpful in offering advice
* There was parking available, albeit a street away, which is always a bonus with a town centre hotel
* The location was good: right on the main road (Union Street) through the centre of Ryde

That said, these positive factors were far outweighed by the negatives.
* The hotel was run-down though-out the public areas with chipped paint, bird dropping dried onto the welcome placard, faded carpets and a generally run-down / tired and slightly dirty feel
* Our bedroom was to a similar standard, with chipped paintwork all round the skirting, a damp patch on the roof and dingy/cramped bathroom
* Our bedroom faced onto the high street and with single glazed windows and little or no sound insulation we heard all the noises from the high street on Friday night.
* Breakfast was poor. There was no fresh fruit at all/ no seeds, dried fruit or healthy cereals. The cooked breakfast was dried out / overcooked (e.g. scrambled eggs cooked to the point that they had turned hard and the liquid separated). The pastries were doughy and overly sweet. On our second day in the hotel we left the hotel and bought breakfast elsewhere, even though we had pre-paid.

I've checked back on the minimum standard for AA 3* hotels and I have to say I do not think this hotel merits the rating based on the levels of maintenance and the standard of the breakfast.

There is not a great choice of hotels in Ryde however many of my friends who attended the wedding the same weekend chose to stay in local B&Bs. These were lower priced and by all accounts much better value.

Room Tip: If you do stay in the hotel then I would recommend requesting a room at the back. Rooms at the fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YelfsHotel, Manager at Yelf's Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
We take all our reviews very seriously and I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. I have noted your comments regarding the accommodation and have included this in our new refurbishment programme.

I was surprised by your remarks regarding your breakfast. We have had great reviews on the quality and quantity of our breakfast . There is a framed sign on the buffet table stating that Fresh Fruit Salad is available and that during a buffet breakfast our full breakfast menu is also available from the waiter. We do not provide 'seeds' but do have muesli, Special K and Wheetabix, natural yoghurt, grapefruit and prunes. Our full breakfast menu includes freshly poached haddock, smoked salmon, kippers and many other choices.

We are very proud of the AA *** rating and the hight percentage score we have. We are inspected every year and can assure all of our customers that we endeavour to provide excellent customer service, high quality catering and good value for money accommodation.

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay but please feel free to contact me directly if you wish to discuss this matter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yelf's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yelf's Hotel

Address: 54 Union Street, Ryde PO33 2LG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ryde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Ryde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Yelf's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yelf's Hotel offers an all year round service, including Christmas, to holiday and business visitors, from single rooms and suites to self-catering accommodation. The hotel is one of the oldest original coaching inns on the Isle of Wight and has been carefully refurbished to retain much of its charm and atmosphere. Our comfortable Bar and Lounge, Conservatory and Patio Beer Garden, and an air conditioned Restaurant and Conference suite provide Islanders and visitors alike with a relaxing venue for a drink or delicious meal during a short stay or longer break. Whatever the purpose of your visit, you're guaranteed a warm welcome, fine food and great service all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Yelf's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yelfs Hotel Ryde
Yelf's Hotel Ryde, Isle Of Wight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yelf's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.