We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Crown Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Crown Hotel to your Saves list
The Crown Hotel
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   10 St Thomas' Square, Ryde PO33 2PJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 18 Ryde B&B and Inns
Gosport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Has to be THE most horrendously overpriced, under maintained, unclean, health and safety free place I have ever had the misfortune to stay at! The ‘hotel’ title needs to be used very loosely indeed. ‘Dank, limp and inadequate rooms above a pub with beds in’ is more the required term. Can not even call it a B&B because, although our trip was booked for bed & breakfast, and overpaid at that we saw no food at all and ended up having to buy breakfast at a nearby place. When we were eventually shown to our rooms we discovered that there were not enough beds for us all and we would have to share! The rooms were unclean and very tired. The bathrooms were rather sad with the last residents’ used soap bar left in the shower. The tea and coffee making facilities were in the rooms only minus the cups and in the absence of a bin the tea bag removed from the paper cup, purchased elsewhere, tended to burn your fingers rather whilst you searched frantically for somewhere to put it! I suspect, looking at the carpet, this happened a lot and it usually ended up on the floor. The complete absence of reception staff meant that nobody was there to listen. The rotten window hidden behind the grey nets looked out onto a flat roof currently being used as a junk yard. I suspect this was necessary however as the entire premises seemed to be moonlighting as a junk store with rooms and even main areas of the bar being used to store piles of furniture and broken equipment. They were not totally lacking in health and safety however as out of date fire extinguishers were jauntily placed throughout propping open every fire door in the building including one which led directly onto the flat roof. Despite the original booking being paid in full the leader of our party, the hen, was then accosted by the incredibly rude, sweaty friend of the manager and was forced to pay an additional £200 ‘for the extra occupation of the rooms. The nearby establishments tell us this is habitual of The Crown who for reasons unknown seem to suffer from a complete lack of return custom! Stay away you WILL be sorely disappointed!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nemmis, Owner at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
It is sad when a Guest feels they have to write such a Review that is as untrue as it is unfounded .
Our Manageress worked very hard to fit this booking in, moving clients around so these women could have there hen party.
The rooms they were allocated were brand new they were the first people to walk on new carpets sleep in new beds and use the new furniture .
I can only put this down to the fact that allthough quoted a rate of £30 pound pppn they argued that they should only be paying £10 pppn .
I would like to take this point to praise my staff for their profesional handling of some very abusive behaviour from some very drunk guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    16
    10
    10
    13
See reviews for
6
15
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gosport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Room very basic, not enough tea bags or milk, plastic spoons. No sheet on the bed just a throw not very pleasant to sleep under, dirty soap in the bathroom could have done with a good clean in the bathroom to be honest. Lots of items cluttering the hallways. Bar staff very pleasant and helpful especially Becky.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
halesworth suffolk
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

clean comfortable and ok the showers could be better but slept well ate a good breakfast and although the champagne wasnt there what more did i expect?nothing! cant be beaten on value

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

When you arrive and look at the outside it looks nice and clean with a fresh coat of paint tables and chairs on the patio.

Then we walked inside we had to book room 9 a family room for 1 night as the doubles where fully booked then the other 3 nights we stay in room 3 a double room.

Room 9 – Decoration was awful cobwebs in the ceiling carpet really dirty no lamp shades on lights, no head board and dirty marks on wall, no mirror anywhere in room. The plus side it did have a electric shower which is more than I can say for room 3.

When moving rooms the next morning the manager made a passing comment that the hotel was like faulty towers. I couldn’t agree more.

Room 3 – 1st impression better than room 9 had a mirror and headboard then we tried to open the window only to find you have to put something in the gap as there is no locks to hold it open see picture. There were a few marks on the floor and it could do with a coat of paint but the worst bit was yet to come. The shower or a drip would be a better word for it 3 days we struggled with a shower that had no pressure at all see picture why in 2012 is a hotel not using electric showers in all the rooms amazes me.

The bar downstairs was nice not much entertainment but the regulars seem a nice bunch good place to watch sport cant comment on the food as we didn’t eat in there after seeing the cleanliness of the hotel.

Hotel has potential just needs some effort put into it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

Mattress cheap & lumpy, bed very low. Room basic, but carpet filthy. Room warm and a central location, but parking can be difficult and room backed on to pub garden - but quiet after 11pm. Cheap, but felt like it and no breakfast included.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

The b and b is in a great central location. The bar is great with widescreen tvs howin the sport. Staff are polite and welcoming. Our room was a little disapointing, however only paying 25 pound each for one night we werent expecting much. Everything seemed clean enough but there were no spoons for our morning coffee. There is a lot of junk in hallways. We woulds consider staying again for a cheap nights stay but may on the other hand fork out a little more for a more 'grand' place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altnaharra, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

Was lucky enoght to find this gem slap bang in centre of town, a functioning pub, Hotel & food to boot! The ritz it aint but at the prices charged its clean & comfortable, nicely located, suitable for business stop over, small parties, weekend stop overs to enjoy the scenics of the isle of wight, & best of all when i breezed in to Town the Chef was having 'Curry & A Pint night' Tuesdays, what could be better, warmed the cockles of me heart accompanied with some lively conversation with other bar patrons, big thumbs up!

Room Tip: if stopping weekends get a room at back of the premises away fromthe high street, but not that major...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel

Address: 10 St Thomas' Square, Ryde PO33 2PJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ryde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Ryde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Hotel is a old building that was built in 1849 and is now a large Public House with accommodation above. It is family run with a 5 star kitchen award plus a Silver award for Best Bar None, in May the Hotel was awarded the Punch Taverns Quality award then in June 2012 it was awarded the Cask Mark. It is famous in Ryde for its English Breakfast and lunch menu. All Rooms have been upgraded including new carpets,beds and furniture, Tea & coffee, flat screen TVs with free view and Sky Sports are also included. Wifi is also provided free of charge. En-suite rooms hsve power showers . Breakfast is not included in the cost but can be purchased in our restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Ryde, Isle Of Wight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.