We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bedrooms are very run down” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Royal Esplanade Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ryde
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bay Royal Esplanade Hotel
16 The Esplanade, Ryde PO33 2ED, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
£10 A NIGHT DEALS!
Ranked #5 of 5 hotels in Ryde
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“bedrooms are very run down”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

first time in isles of white stayed in the royal esplanade hotel ryde.the commune rooms where o/k with resent paint job .but the bed room we stayed in was a bit of a dump cold dated not very clean.food was o/k .the lift was a joke only three persons at a time in the lift . went for long week end break with .

Room Tip: sea view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JSLres, General Manager at Bay Royal Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Hi Villasol

I am sorry to hear that you didnt like your room during your recent stay, I am please to say that we will be having a number of rooms refurbished this year and that we are always looking for ways to improve. Your comments are noted and I hope you will give us try again in the near future.

Regards
Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    85
    53
    20
    29
See reviews for
25
109
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The hotel is in a lovely spot, very close to town, buses and taxis etc. Very friendly helpful staff and for the cost, the food was good. Pleasant dining room but a little cramped space wise. Bedroom adequate, wardrobe door kept falling off and bathroom, well!! We may as well have had the tub sited in the garden- it was freezing cold as there is an enormous gap in the side of louvred window -even the massive cobwebs didn't keep the draught out.
So, whilst we had a nice change of scenery- and would recommend most of the holiday, do avoid room 1 if you go there (triple room). Drinks option very well worth while buying too! Entertainment not sampled- rather crowded in that area.

Room Tip: Not room 1 as windows need replacing in there and also in bedroom- very draughty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JSLres, General Manager at Bay Royal Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Thank you for posting your recent review.

I will look into the issues you have raised and can only apologise if you found it cold. Unfortunately the temperature over the past month has been extremely cold especially for the Isle of Wight and this is not normally an issue however I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed all the other aspects of your holiday.

Regards
Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billingham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

enjoyed stay staff top class very helpful, bedrooms as all hotels some good view some not, all rooms very clean and comfortable, waitresses top as well remember your likes and dislikes, as I say staff friendliness makes this a good hotel

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JSLres, General Manager at Bay Royal Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review.

It means a lot to myself and the staff that the hard work that they put in is apreciated. All of the team are extremely friendly and try their best to provide excellent service to our guests.

Regards
Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester England
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We arrived on a National five day break. First impression of hotel was good.Three coaches arrived together we were the last. The manager came onto the coach to welcome us to the hotel and give us our room numbers. We then collected our keys from reception and were in our bedroom in less than ten minutes. We had paid extra for a sea view room and felt it was worth it The room was large with a bay window and had a double and a single bed which were extremely comfortable. The heater in the bedroom was adequate for the size of room, there was no heating in the bathroom but had this been a problem we would have asked reception for an extra heater. When we arrived the room was spotless and it was kept that way by a very pleasent young lady. Some previous reviews have mentioned the noise of the hovercraft which starts early in a morning till late at night. Although it did not bother us,if you are a light sleeper you might be better with a room at the rear.

When considering meals you have got to be aware of the budget the hotel has to work on bearing in mind what you have paid. Taking this into account, the food served was of good quality There was an excellent breakfast menu with a good range of cereals and for the evening meal four choices on each course all well cooked.

The staff were some of the most friendly and helpfull we have come across in the hotel trade. I did test two of them, the restaurant managress and the bar manager, both dealt wth my complaint in a most proffesional way and are a credit to the hotel

The hotel is an old victorian building, the hardest part was finding the bedroom, some of the public rooms are not an ideal size and shape and some rooms could do with a lick of paint But for what we paid it was extremely good value for money. The only down side was the entertainment but again this is down to cost. (You get what you pay for). We would certainly use this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JSLres, General Manager at Bay Royal Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for posting your recent review.

I am glad you found us good value for money and that you had an overall enjoyable holiday.

I am also pleased to hear that Ewa and Bence Passed your tests in a professional way and I will ensure that they receive your praise.

Regards
Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

This Hotel, used mainly by Shearing ans associated company coach tours is badly in need of refurbishment. The public areas are grossly inadequate for the number of guests that the tours impose on them. The heating in the bedrooms is virtually non existant and in the bathrooms absent entirely except for a very poor towel rail. The decor is poor with damp and discoloured patches and a stained floor carpet. the windows are very draughty further reducing the room temperature. The staff on the other hand are marvellous doing a heroic job with poor tools. There is one liftthat carries a total of three persons, any more it stops!!!

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JSLres, General Manager at Bay Royal Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
I am a little disappointed in how low you scored your recent break with us. For a winters break many regular guests and I believe that we offer extremely good value for money considering the overall cost covers transport from the north of England also.

You will be please to know that we will be having a number of rooms refurbished this year.

It is a shame that you didn’t bring the heating issue in your room to our attention as this is something we could have rectified immediately by effect of an extra heater.

Within the hotels public areas we have approximate seating for 130 guests and the regular amount of guests we accommodate in the hotel is 100-120 and this is not a common issue.

It is noted that you graded us 5 stars for our location and service and that the staff a credit to us.

Regards
Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Donington, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

just a quick review to compliment the staff of this hotel the meals and the service was superb we paid extra for a sea view room which was lovely we could see the hovercraft coming and going which my wife and i liked the room service was spot on the room clean and spacious the only downside was the fact that the windows were fastened and could not be opened so resulting in very heavy condensation on them so we had to keep wiping them with the towels but overall we would be very happy to return to this hotel we hope this review helps ps we were on a national holidays trip and our driver ron was a superb driver and very knowledgeable re the isle of wight

Room Tip: we were in room 34 as stated we paid a bit extra for this room but well worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JSLres, General Manager at Bay Royal Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you very much for your informative review regarding your recent stay.

I am glad that you found all aspects of your break enjoyable and I will look at getting the window fixed and hope you will make a return visit soon.

Regards
Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Having just returned from a here on a 4 day break with national holidays i must agree with other reviews about the rooms in this hotel. having paid extra for sea view we were dissapointed with the room.(59) the ceiling had a big damp patch and a lot of cobwebs the bed was very clean but uncomfortable, having said this it did not spoil our stay, food very good, always hot and pleanty of choice, our waiter paul was first class nothing was to much trouble for him and he always had a smile for you .would we stay here again? yes had a realy good weekend, bring rooms up to scratch and you have a nice hotel.

Room Tip: sea viewroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JSLres, General Manager at Bay Royal Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Your comments are noted and action has already been taken regarding the room issues. Paul will be pleased that he has been mentioned and I will ensure the kitchen team get to see the nice comments regarding the food.

Regards

Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bay Royal Esplanade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Royal Esplanade Hotel

Address: 16 The Esplanade, Ryde PO33 2ED, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ryde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 hotels in Ryde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on the esplanade this Victorian hotel has unique sea views and benefits from being on a level seafront position. The beach is close by and the shops and holiday attractions of the well-known resort of Ryde are only a short walk away. The hotel is also well-situated for buses, taxis, trains and the hovercraft, so offers the ideal base to travel all around the island as well as over to Portsmouth with its rich maritime history. The seafront position lends itself to some wonderful views from the restaurant and lounges - the perfect place to sit back and relax. A car is ideal for getting around the undulating roads of the Isle of Wight and there is a plethora of things to see and do for all ages. Whether touring historic houses or visiting natural adventure parks, watching the yachting action and festivities of Cowes week, or just relaxing on one of the islands many beaches, you are sure to enjoy the island’s unique charm. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Royal Esplanade Hotel
Bay Royal Esplanade Hotel Ryde, Isle Of Wight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Royal Esplanade Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bay Royal Esplanade Hotel to your Saves list