We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best crab salad on the Island!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fishbourne Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Fishbourne Inn to your Saves list
The Fishbourne Inn
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Fishbourne Lane | Fishbourne, Ryde PO33 4EU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 18 Ryde B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best crab salad on the Island!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We went to the Fishbourne inn recently, the crab salad was out of this world!!! so good we went back the next day and had another! my husband had the steak which was cooked to perfection he said he had never tasted such good onion rings, and he is an expert on onion rings and steak!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    32
    6
    8
    10
See reviews for
21
45
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Londone
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Just a few minutes from the ferry, this pub is set in a quiet road with plenty of shade and space to settle inside or out.

Drinks quality is top-notch.

Wide ranging food menu with cheaper snack options going up to more expensive full meals. Worth booking a table due to popularity.

Friendly staff, clean pub, good quality facilities.

On entering at lunch time you're likely to be hit by some seriously compelling food aromas ... just the way it should be.

Enjoy.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

We stayed here last week with friends and found this to be a charming place to stay. The rooms are well appointed with good size bathrooms and a good shower. Our friends had a suite which was even bigger and worth the extra money. There are tea and coffee facilities in the room but only one tea bag each a few - more would be welcome and probably our fault for not asking!

Whilst the printed menu is a little ordinary the specials board is extensive and the two nights we dined here had dishes off the specials which were delicious, a very good wine list is also available.

Staff are all very friendly and helpful and the breakfast which was included in the price was excellent.

Overall a lovely place very close to the ferry and a lovely outside patio makes this a great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowes, Isle of Wight, UK
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

I'd say the food here lies somewhere between a standard pub and a gastropub. There is a printed menu and a specials board. Local steaks.

Service is quick and friendly. Tables aren't too close together. Nice garden if the weather permits.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Highly recommend the fish and chips to anyone. The best meal all holiday. Just shame it was before our boarding of the ferry home.
Location wise it's lovely peaceful. Staff all very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Excellent Hotel with so much to offer. A peaceful location with the closest location to the Fishbourne Ferry Terminal. Comfortable and well appointed rooms with a stunning family room offering sea views from the side window. The restaurant offers freshly cooked home food in the evening and the breakfast is excellent. The rooms are competitively priced and the staff are really welcoming.

I would definitely recommend The Fishbourne Hotel to the business traveller.

Room Tip: The Family room is a little more expensive but much larger and certainly more comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

We were staying at the Lakeside Park Hotel and Spa and this pub is about 5 minutes drive up the road. We went at 7.30 p.m.on a Monday evening for dinner and found a couple of family groups finishing their meal and a decent sprinkling of couples of all ages at various stages of their meals. Several small groups and couples arrived after us, providing a good atmosphere and plenty of business for what is usually a pretty dead night. I had a beautifully cooked duck and mushroom dish - even the vegetables were cooked to perfection - and plenty of sauce. And all dairy free, essential as I have an allergy. My husband had two starters - IOW smoked salmon and potted shrimps, which he really enjoyed. The wine list is unusual so we indulged a trip down memory lane with a bottle of Fitou, last drunk in southern France over 20 years ago. So different but enjoyable. Wanting to catch the ferry the following day, we stopped here for lunch and again the place was pleasantly populated, service impeccable and food delightful. If this place was over the water in Poole, we would be regular visitors and will go back if we ever visit the IOW again.

Room Tip: We only ate there but the location is excellent and I imagine the service would be too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fishbourne Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fishbourne Inn

Address: Fishbourne Lane | Fishbourne, Ryde PO33 4EU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ryde
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Ryde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fishbourne Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Fishbourne Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fishbourne Inn Ryde, Isle Of Wight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fishbourne Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.