We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Live Music & Dining DO NOT MIX” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Fishbourne Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Fishbourne Inn to your Saves list
The Fishbourne Inn
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Fishbourne Lane | Fishbourne, Ryde PO33 4EU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 18 Ryde B&B and Inns
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Live Music & Dining DO NOT MIX”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

As my title indicates live music and evening meals do not mix. This was our first trip to The Fishbourne and we were looking forward to catching up with old friends over a nice dinner. There was nothing to prepare us for the cocophony of noise emitting from the two 6footx4foot speakers set up within the reletatively small lounge area and although we were seated in the dining area the Fishbourne is "open plan". The noise was so loud that we couldn't talk normally to our friends opposite us and ended up mouthing short words and waving our arms about. I had to yell at the top of my voice to place our orders and for drinks and when we paid our bills. We actually left after our mains because we couldn't tolerate staying for dessert and coffees due to the noise and the potential rubbish desserts we would be served - and moved onto another pub/restuarant.
Don't get me wrong, I love live music, and the two guys were quite good, but it has it's place - at one of our many fesitvals, out in an open field, or as a "gig" in a drinking only pub. NOT in a restuarant where people are primarily going to eat and talk! When I complained that live music had not been advertised on the website or mentioned when I phoned to book, I was told that it had been advertised widely on the local radio. All well and good if you have the luxury of being able to listen to the radio all day but unfortunately I work full time in a professional environment.
Now lets turn our attention to the food! Menu, large but catering for fish lovers not carnivores, so not wonderfully inspiring - badly balanced. I was charged £7.00 for a bowl of mushroom soup - obviously truffle oil is very, very expensive. My partners antipasta had no olives and no bread, just a few slices of cured meats and a dressed lettuce leaf. My friend complained that her garlic bread was far too salty and when we looked you could see excessive granules of rock salt all over it which she tried to scrape off. The mains - 2 of our party had the beef in ale pie and again the meat mixture was virtually inedible because of the salt content. We can only assume the vibrations from the excessively loud music had made the salt pot topple into the stewing meat! Another friend ordered a steak medium - he got rare. This is basic cooking done badly!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    30
    4
    8
    9
See reviews for
19
42
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Loughborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

A regular visitor to the Island, the Fishbourne Inn's proximity to the ferry has always made it a regular visiting spot for us. However the pub has changed hands since our last visit ... and what a difference its made. We were there early (6.30 ish) on a Saturday night and the place was already packed. We managed to get a table (just - I'd advise you to book) and despite it being busy we didn't have to wait long at all for our meals. My dish of Seabass fillets cooked with a lime and tomato salsa on a bed of summer vegetables was absolutely divine. Although I'm not a pudding person I was tempted by the lime and mint creme brulee which proved perfect. The rest of my party had duck, tagliatelli and steak and everyone raved about the quality and taste of their meals. Top end pub grub prices but you get what you pay for. Will definitely be booking a table next time we visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

I am a Island resident and have had a bad experience under the previous owners .Im pleased to say that my second visit was more succesful. The food was out of this world the smoked chicken garlic mushroom and truffle was supberb one of the best meals I have had for ages. Give it a try. I never stayed on one of the rooms.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryde, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Had an exellent dinner few moths ago. Came many times for a drink. I am a chef myself ( not at Fishbourne:) ) On a previous review, did that person realise that he paid only few quids for a drinks or he desided that he was getting free breakfast?

Room Tip: Room 503 sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Decent enough food on both occasions.
Problem on the first trip to the Fishbourne was the length of time we had to wait for food. 50 minutes on what didn't seem a particular busy evening. Not a major issue, we were on holiday after all.
Trip 2 while waiting for the ferry back to Portsmouth was once again good food. Lovely breakfast in fact... for those who got it!!
7 adults, 4 fed. After waiting for only 15 minutes, not bad really on a busy breakfast shift the majority of the breakfasts arrived. 3 however didn't. 20 minutes later we asked what was happening. The server made a mistake and hadn't put it through properly. Mistakes happen, not a problem. Chef however wouldn't make the additional breakfasts as it was after the 11am cut off. Granted it was 11:05!!
The major rile was when we continued to see the breakfasts coming out though, seriously.
Guess where I'm writing this review from...you guessed it. Still sat here waiting for our breakfast. Free wifi though. Thanks ;)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, England
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights, Friday 9th to Monday 12th August 2013.
We took the half-hour WightLink ferry from Portsmouth to Fishbourne. The service was quick and efficient.
The hotel is literally a 2 minute drive from the terminal. We initially had trouble parking when we arrived because it was during lunch and main car park was very busy. There are two entrances to the establishment; one from the main car park and terrace, and the other is from the road and takes you straight into the bar.
The welcome was friendly and we were shown to our room. Hotel staying guests are allocated a specific numbered parking space in another car park alongside the hotel which is separate from the main restaurant car park. We used this during out stay and had no parking issues. There is a side entrance that takes you directly to the accommodation which means you do not have to walk through the bar if you don’t want to. There were two flights of stairs to the accommodation which is on the first floor.
Our well decorated room (504) was small with twin beds and an en-suite bathroom. There was no view and the room is situated above the kitchen with the main kitchen air conditioning unit under the bedroom window. The room was noisy at restaurant opening times when the air conditioning unit was on and kitchen staff were working below. This meant we couldn’t leave the bedroom windows open at night. This didn’t cause us any issues.
The room had tea making facilities which included coffee (including decaf), breakfast tea and hot chocolate. There is a hairdryer in the room and an iPod/iPhone docking station (which included a clock). The docking station was suitable for connecting iPhones using the old 30 pin connector. You will need a Lightening adaptor to use it with the newer models. Charging of devices worked with both connectors. The beds and pillows were comfortable and along with the bathroom it was extremely clean. The bathroom contained a bath with a step-in shower. The bath was deep so it is a large step over to the shower. We had constant hot water. The towels were not changed during our stay and we wouldn’t have expected them to be. Soap, shampoo and shower/bath gel are provided in the room. We did get some pipe noise (shuddering) and the shower made some unusual noises when the water was running but not at every use. Old plumbing maybe!
Breakfast is included. The hot choices are a Full English (or any combination of) or un-dyed smoked haddock and poached egg. There were plenty of cereals, toast, orange juice, jams etc. The standard of food was very good.
We ate dinner in the restaurant twice during our visit and it was excellent; the food couldn’t be praised enough. The quality and standard of fare is very good. I can recommend the fish and chips; the batter made with beer from the bar is as good as you will get anywhere. The hotel, although not a family establishment, does attract quite a few families to the restaurant. It is also popular amongst the locals hence the busy car park when we arrived. If you want to eat here you have to book a table. Most of the tables are for four with only two tables offering seating for two. These are by the car park/terrace entrance to the dining room. This isn’t a problem when its quiet, but on Friday night when we arrived there was constant traffic walking past the table which was not conducive to a relaxing dinner. You can also eat in the bar area which is very pleasant or on the outside terrace in fine weather. On Friday night there was a BBQ set up on the terrace cooking burgers, chicken and sausages. This was popular with families.The restaurant service was excellent and the staff friendly who couldn’t do enough for you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle Of Wight
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

My wife and I have had two great meals at the Fishbourne Inn on consecutive weeks. Only living a 30 minute walk away it is or I should say now is our " local ". It has been tastefully decorated and has a nice outside garden that catches the early evening . On our first visit last week we were offered a table (102) in the bar area. The table was so good, large round and private but still feeling the good atmosphere of the Inn. It was a busy service but all staff worked well in clearing the dishes and serving the food. The knowledge of the bar staff was superb and gave us very good advice regarding the beer and choices of wine. We chose fillet of sea bass, 3 nice fillets for each of us cooked superbly. For starters we enjoyed the garlic bread, but although the deserts were very tempting we decided on a quality bottle of New Zealand white. The meal and service was so good that we came back the following week. Again we were offered a table in the bar area and again a great table this week we chose soup of the day, courgette and pepper served with real bread. For mains we chose from the "specials board" and had cod fillet with Parma ham. Superb.
I am a fussy eater and travel the world you would have to go along way to find better, food, hospitality and service. I would like to thank the manager ( sorry forgot your name) also Sasha on the bar and Zoe who served us and the chief. We will definatly be comming to the Fishbourne on a regular basis.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fishbourne Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fishbourne Inn

Address: Fishbourne Lane | Fishbourne, Ryde PO33 4EU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ryde
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Ryde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fishbourne Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your The Fishbourne Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fishbourne Inn Ryde, Isle Of Wight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fishbourne Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.