We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique piece of history” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Donald McGill Archive & Museum

Donald McGill Archive & Museum
Royal Victoria Arcade | Union Street, Ryde PO33 2DU, England
01983 717 435
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 12 Attractions in Ryde
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Our museum pays homage to Donald McGill, who spent his life creating comic artworks for the then thriving postcard industry. Donald created over 12,000 postcards from 1904 till his death in 1962.You will find that Donald's Cards will depict anything and everyone, his watchful eye never missed a humorous situation as he witnessed the years as they rolled through the 20th century.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“A unique piece of history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We had been on the Isle of wight and this was to be our last attraction before we returned to the mainland, We needed a cuppa , so in we went , the museum is well worth visiting for everybody irrespective of age or nationallity

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    11
    6
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very small and compact”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I found it difficult as I am only 4ft 11 to read the postcards as many of them were above me and there did not seem enough light. It was though very interesting and I am pleased we managed to fit it in. Coffee and snacks in the cafe very good

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyde, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“It's been ages since.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

We went looking for this little museum as my American wife didn't understand my 'postcard' humour. It's a fine little museum full of interesting facts about the postcards of Mr McGill - some fine exhibits, plenty of history about McGill, his cards and the famous (infamous) court cases. Even my wife found the cards funny. And although at the back of the coffee shop it was good value for money (£3 for both of us). Argreed that if busy it would have been tricky given the size and shape but we were able to spend a good hour in there - we never once slipped out (if you go you'll get the joke - I hope).

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Not arf missus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

If you are of a certain age then a trip to the seaside wasn't complete without a saucy postcard. This is a display of the work of one of the most famous postcard designers and is bound to make you chuckle.

Interestingly, like Carry on films, there is actually nothing rude about them - it is all in your own mind which was a fact that was apparently used in one of the court cases for indecency.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Extremely entertaining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

Difficult to find - but be persistant - it is at the back of a cafe which serves excellent coffee!
I think you probably need to be over 60 to appreciate the humour. The reviews of court cases etc. were of particular interest - how times have changed!

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Donald McGill Archive & Museum also viewed

 

Been to Donald McGill Archive & Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Donald McGill Archive & Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.