We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The White Hart

The White Hart
Main Road | Havenstreet, Ryde PO33 4DP, England
01983 883485
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 69 Restaurants in Ryde
Cuisines: English
Restaurant details
Cowes, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sunday Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We enjoyed an excellent Sunday lunch at The White Hart Inn on the 25th August this year when my husband and I were accompanied by my sister and her husband from the mainland. It was only 6 days after the new couple, Anne-Marie and John, had taken over the pub. Nothing was lacking - the welcome was warm and friendly, the service professional and attentive. This typical village pub, with an attractive garden and patio, has plenty of off road car parking and the interior is attractive and comfortable. A visit to the Ladies toilet is a must!!
We all chose the traditional roast lunch which was excellent and plentiful, there were so many vegetables we couldn't eat them all. My brother-in-law enjoyed his roast beef so much he said it was the best Sunday lunch he had ever had !! He then had to apologize to my sister swiftly! Good luck to Anne-Marie and John - seems like they're doing a good job. We'll be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    19
    2
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“It's a must try”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Very friendly service welcoming and relaxed atmosphere good quality home style food good choice of tasty dishes will visit again

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Suprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We visited the White Hart recently following its recommendation in several Isle of Wight eating guides. We were expecting a small country pub serving meals and drinks but what a surprise when entering.
The interior of the building is carpeted throughout and the walls are painted in pastel colours making the whole thing a very welcoming and relaxing environment to eat. The walls are adorned with a number of prints illustrating the islands transport history which (I presume), derives from the close location to the headquarters of the Isle of Wight steam railway just along the road.
There was a wide range of dishes to choose from and also a good choice of beers available at the bar.
The staff seemed to be very welcoming and we understood that new owners had recently taken over a matter of days before.
Food was very good, in fact I thought it was the better meals we tried all week.
There is ample car parking to the rear of the pub and a small garden area as well.
Would defiantly use this venue again when I am next on the island.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful anniversary treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

I have just moved to the UK and this was my first visit to Isle of Wight with my Husband and his family. We visited the White Hart on the Saturday night of the Bank Holiday weekend which was also our first wedding anniversary. They kindly took our late booking and we had a wonderful evening. The staff were both friendly and efficient and the food was fantastic. I had the rump steak which was cooked to perfection and Hubby had the chicken pie which he said was best he has ever tasted. Ended up with a daisy cow ice cream treat (in a little cute cow toy) and we all had an overall great night. We will definitely be back on our next trip and can highly recommend this lovely pub to anyone.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing atmosphere, lovely food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Fast efficient service, piping hot food, tasted lovely, good service, would recommend. Lots of choice and some interesting desserts!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The White Hart also viewed

Ryde, Isle of Wight
Ryde, Isle of Wight
 
Ryde, Isle of Wight
Ryde, Isle of Wight
 

Been to The White Hart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The White Hart, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.