We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One in a million!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Little Upton Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ryde
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Little Upton Farm
Save
You added Little Upton Farm to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Ranch   |   Gatehouse Road, Ashey, Ryde PO33 4BS, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Ryde
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One in a million!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

The title says it all ........ just back from another fantastic stay at Little Upton Farm. In fact this was our 7th year staying in Tithe Barn. We really can't rate it highly enough. The accommodation is exceptional, a real 5* home from home experience. The barns are extremely comfortable, full of character with your every whim catered for. The view has to be seen to be believed and the fenced garden very safe for young children with the odd baby lamb coming in to visit! Our Daughter has been staying with us at Tithe Barn since she was 2 and cries every time she has to leave!! The location is brilliant as a base for exploring the island. It is only 10 mins from Fishbourne ferry and a very handy 5 mins from Tescos. Alison and Howard really do go the extra mile to make you feel welcome, from the homemade cake left in the kitchen to the quad bike, tractor and pony rides for children as well as trampoline, bikes etc. We honestly feel people would be hard pushed to find somewhere else of this standard on the island, and have already booked again for next year! You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

16 of us ( 4 families) shared the Barns and Cottage this year and yet again had a glorious stay. Previous reviews and a tenth visit must say it all. Was great to celebrate with Howard and Alison and have a little party for 25 of us who have enjoyed Little Upton over the years. We will be back....and soon if the kids have any say in it!!!! Thank you for all our wonderful times and very happy memories with you.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Little Upton Farm is a great find - this was our second visit to stay in the barns and we had a brilliant week, none of us wanted to come home! The accommodation is great for multi-generation holidays, with plenty of space to spread out, lots to do near by, plus the kids loved being on a working farm. Our family group ranged in age from 4 up to 89 and we all had a lovely week. Alison and Howard are super friendly and helpful and made us all feel really welcome. The farm is in a very peaceful area of the island and the view from the barns is beautiful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

What can we say........wonderful holiday, in a beautiful, peaceful location, in fabulous accommodation!

We have been visiting Little Upton Farm for a few years now and it never disappoints. On this occasion we joint my parents for a week whilst my husband was back for a few weeks from Afghanistan. We had a lovely time, the weather was beautiful and we were able to get out and about to enjoy what the Isle of Wight has to offer, amazing beaches and great places to eat too.

The accommodation is always clean and well kept with everything you need for a self catering holiday. With the owners Alison and Howard on hand if you need anything. My son, Archie loves it here as Alison and Howard kindly gave him a thrilling tractor and quad bike ride, along with a little ride on Emma the pony. He also loves bouncing on the trampoline and running around the garden enjoying all the space this place has to offer.

We have some wonderful memories, made even more special by the little extras that Alison and Howard provided. My husband is now on his way back to Afghanistan and he feels more relaxed having had such a lovely holiday. Thank you so much and we look forward to coming back in the summer.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Although the weather was a bit patchy, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay in The Cote. Lots of original features combined with everything we'd need for a comfortable stay created a perfect backdrop to a great family holiday. Our two boys (3 & 6) loved the trampoline, the working farm surroundings, sheep dogs, horses and, best of all, a ride on the tractor! The accomodation was clean, warm and uniquely charming. We were made to feel most welcome and a freshly homemade cake was waiting for us! No hesitation in recommending Little Upton Farm.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

I visited Upton farm with my family who had rented he two adjoining cottages for Christmas and I have to say it was one of the best holidays we have ever had.

The owners of the farm were lovely and the children were able to ride a pony and have tractor rides which they loved.

The views from the cottages are amazing and you could sit there all day watching it change as the sheep moved around the fields and the sun rose in the morning- breath taking.

Cottages themselves were beautiful, clean and well equipped with everything we needed. We can not wait to go back again. 100% recommend to everyone for a quiet family holiday.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

We hired 'Old Byre' which is one part the wonderfully converted barn over New Years - it slept 6 adults and two children comfortably. Being just 15 minutes from the ferry but well hidden amongst some glorious countryside this idyllic place even looked beautiful in the torrential rain that stayed with us for most of the week.

It has a real home from home feel with a wood burning fire, well equipped kitchen and beautiful views to boot. On arrival there was a super home-made cake to greet us!

The owners, Alison and Howard were unbelievably accommodating, even giving my 18 month old a tractor ride! Freedom to pet the horses and walk around the farm made it all the more personable.

Located just 5 minutes from a super market and with so much to do and visit, I think we shall be back in the summer months to see its beauty in a different light!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Little Upton Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Upton Farm

Address: Gatehouse Road, Ashey, Ryde PO33 4BS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ryde
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Ryde
Hotel Class:5 star — Little Upton Farm 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Little Upton Farm stands on a gentle hill facing south, on a 200-acre working farm with ponds, birds and animals. Filled with charm and character they adjoin each other (can be linked to sleep 12) and enjoy magnificent views across a valley of mature parkland with glimpses of the sea in the distance. Providing peaceful, relaxing and comfortable individual accommodation, with its own terrace. Sandy beaches within a short drive (nearest 2 miles). Sailing, golf, fishing, riding, shops, restaurants and pubs within 2 miles at Ryde and Seaview. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Little Upton Farm Ryde, Isle Of Wight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Upton Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.