We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic little gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Little Upton Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ryde
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Little Upton Farm
Save
You added Little Upton Farm to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Ranch   |   Gatehouse Road, Ashey, Ryde PO33 4BS, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Ryde
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A TripAdvisor Member
“A fantastic little gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

I visited Upton farm with my family who had rented he two adjoining cottages for Christmas and I have to say it was one of the best holidays we have ever had.

The owners of the farm were lovely and the children were able to ride a pony and have tractor rides which they loved.

The views from the cottages are amazing and you could sit there all day watching it change as the sheep moved around the fields and the sun rose in the morning- breath taking.

Cottages themselves were beautiful, clean and well equipped with everything we needed. We can not wait to go back again. 100% recommend to everyone for a quiet family holiday.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
46
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We hired 'Old Byre' which is one part the wonderfully converted barn over New Years - it slept 6 adults and two children comfortably. Being just 15 minutes from the ferry but well hidden amongst some glorious countryside this idyllic place even looked beautiful in the torrential rain that stayed with us for most of the week.

It has a real home from home feel with a wood burning fire, well equipped kitchen and beautiful views to boot. On arrival there was a super home-made cake to greet us!

The owners, Alison and Howard were unbelievably accommodating, even giving my 18 month old a tractor ride! Freedom to pet the horses and walk around the farm made it all the more personable.

Located just 5 minutes from a super market and with so much to do and visit, I think we shall be back in the summer months to see its beauty in a different light!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We have just had our second stay at Little Upton Farm and enjoyed it this time every much as on our previous visit. The primary reason for our stay was to take part in a round the island cycle ride, the farm being virtually on the signposted circuit. We travelled with other non cycling members of the family who enjoyed the trip equally as much and found plenty to do to keep the children amused. Howard and Alison are great hosts and the barns are homely and welcoming. The accommodation is spotlessly clean and there are nice touches like cake on arrival and toys for the children. The bedrooms are good sizes, each with an en-suite bathroom which makes it an ideal base for a larger group. The location is perfect - stunning uninterrupted views over the farm and surrounding countryside, yet only 10 minutes from the ferry terminal and Ryde town centre and a large supermarket. Thanks Howard and Alison for a lovely break at Little Upton Farm - I'm sure we'll be back again next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed in the three bedroomed Old Byre. The facilities were perfect for us - and have been updated since the photos. The views were beautiful and the upstairs terrace was perfect.

We have three girls - 8, 5 and 6 months and they all loved the holiday for different reasons. My eldest loved the freedom to roam around the farm, horses and stables on site and making friends. My five year old the trampoline, garden toys and chatting to Alison!! And the garden, space in the cottage and cows and sheep to watch were perfect for my 6 month old.

The farm is in a great location and ideal for families. We will certainly be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Have just returned from our second holiday in the Tithe Barn and was as impressed this time as the last. The accommodation is excellent and in an area that we love the most. Alison and Howard can't do enough for you and Alison is brilliant with the children giving them her time and the opportunity to see life on a working farm. We wouldn't hesitate in recommending Upton Farm to anyone and we will certainly be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Just returned (10-Aug) from a Sat-Sat stay in the Byre accommodation. This was without doubt the best holiday we have had in the UK. Upon arrival we were greeted by Alison and made to feel instantly welcome. After unpacking our bags we enjoyed a cup of tea and a slice of delicious cake that was provided for us. The accommodation is superb and views across the extensive farmland make for a very idyllic setting. The Isle of Wight offers so much for a family holiday. The weather was superb for us during our one week stay and the location of Little Upton Farm means short journeys to many of the island's attractions and a nice rural retreat to relax in. Howard and Alison are really nice hosts, both much appreciated by our children. Alison took our girls into the farm on a quad bike to check on the sheep and also brought in a pony and let them ride around the farm. We made good use of the table tennis table in the garden and had several walks around the farmland. The patio space is a nice area to sit in the evening and the balcony area in the Byre accommodation is great for appreciating the views. The booking experience was good and Howard was very helpful in arranging our ferry tickets (for which we got a discount on the price we would have paid if we booked ourselves). I couldn't recommend this place enough for a family holiday - give it a go, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Well I have to say The Cote accommodation we stayed in was quaint, quiet and such a lovely place to be. Alison and Howard two superb hosts. Such characters and lovely people. Whilst The Cote itself does not have the 'views' (to which obviously you would pay more for) it holds all the character a converted piggery should have. With beams in view and farm type furniture the stay was lovely.

Howard allowed my son to drive a tractor, Alison showed put Swift the Border Collie through his true duties, allowing us to view him at work rounding up the sheep. It's difficult not to praise the hosts or the barn or its working farm surroundings.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Little Upton Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Upton Farm

Address: Gatehouse Road, Ashey, Ryde PO33 4BS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ryde
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Ryde
Hotel Class:5 star — Little Upton Farm 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Little Upton Farm stands on a gentle hill facing south, on a 200-acre working farm with ponds, birds and animals. Filled with charm and character they adjoin each other (can be linked to sleep 12) and enjoy magnificent views across a valley of mature parkland with glimpses of the sea in the distance. Providing peaceful, relaxing and comfortable individual accommodation, with its own terrace. Sandy beaches within a short drive (nearest 2 miles). Sailing, golf, fishing, riding, shops, restaurants and pubs within 2 miles at Ryde and Seaview. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Little Upton Farm Ryde, Isle Of Wight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Upton Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.