We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay on the Isle of Wight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   High street | Wootton Bridge, Ryde PO33 4LJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ryde
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
135 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
251 helpful votes 251 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay on the Isle of Wight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed one night here while attending an event in Cowes, and this hotel was a great choice - no disappointment and exceeded expectations! It is located very convenient to the Ryde-Sthmpton ferry service in the north of the island. A 10 - 15 minute drive to Cowes. The hotel is nothing to get excited about from the outside, but inside it is modern, clean and contemporary. The check in was efficient, and the room was modern and spacious. The big double bed was very comfortable with ample space, pillows and soft sheets. The bathroom was large, good toiletries (Gilchrist and Soames), heated towel rack and white towels. The heating worked, and the room we had looked onto the lake. (as opposed to the parking lot). Choose rooms on an upper floor if you don't want noise above you...but if you want convenience to the gym and same level access for wheelchairs or older guests, choose the ground floor. The spa/pool was small (and the hotel should provide robes in room, or extra towels) and you need a 1£ coin for the lockers (no change at the spa desk provided - so that was a hassle). Pool is heated and small, a little bit claustophobic as there is no significant view or window light. The hot tub is small...with a small dry and wet sauna. Perfectly adequate for a paddle and relax. There is a shower too (if only guests would use it before getting into the pool or jacuzzi!).

The breakfast room is a walk inside down a long corridor connecting the hotel to the restaurant and banquet area... it is spacious with a view of the lake. Breakfast is set up on a table on the upper area...and there is ample seating. The coffee (latte and espresso machiatto) was excellent - and, the Breakfast sausages were big, plump, juicy and tasty! basic full english serve yourself with fruit and cereals. Pleasant service and an newspapers on the table at the bar. At night it is a restaurant (reserve in advance we were told), and a decent bar.

I think the hotel caters for weddings and conferences, but weekend tourists will feel at home. The grounds have a nice feel and you can walk on the public paths by the lake (bring your wellies!)

Have to say - for the price, this was a worth it as other friends of ours stayed in Cowes and Ryde and didn't seem to have quiet the same level of comfort. If you want a hotel with modern rooms and bathrooms, space, parking and a nice breakfast. Stay here!

The Coast restaurant (?) and Gossard in Cowes and Gurnard respectively were two fantastic restaurants, and the drives around the IOW were wonderful on a beautiful autumn afternoon.

A great stay!

Room Tip: upper floors are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    162
    50
    18
    21
See reviews for
86
355
8
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The Lakeside Park Hotel is modern and minimalistic but comfortable,clean and well equipped, though we were surprised there was no fridge or shaving mirror. The staff were friendly & helpful. The food in the Brasserie was of a high standard - the crab and smoked salmon starter from the dinner menu was particularly good. Being out of season, the spa was quiet and relaxing and its facilities were not over-crowded.. Be careful leaving the hotel as a large tree partially obstructs the view of the road. We would certainly stay at this hotel again and found it a convenient base from which to explore the island.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I went here for a spa day with some friends. Good value for money, but a few improvements could be made to make it a better experience. Unfortunately the steam room was not working which was a shame.
It would be nice to have an area where you can have a coffee and chat without disturbing the relaxation room - a few seats in the spa reception would suffice, and a pod machine would be handy - then it could be taken in paper cups to the pool side.
the relaxation room felt a bit like a hospital ward - the beds are lovely, but a bit over the top - we didnt feel as relaxed as we should have because of this hospital like atmosphere. Surely chairs and footstools would take up less space and would make the guests feel more relaxed - the addition of a water dispenser would be good too.
please use separate rooms for applying nail polish - I went for a foot massage after someone had had their nails done and the fumes knocked me back!
At the poolside there were not enough seats in the more spacious part of the area - the seats along the narrow poolside didnt give much leg room and gave the impression that one could easily step into the pool by mistake! The 3 loungers were incredibly uncomfortable as they could not be adjusted.
The pool temperature was just right and my friends enjoyed the spacious jacuzzi.
The changing rooms left a lot to be desired - a strange area with 2 doors to the outside corridor and one into the shower room - get rid of one of the doors and give more space for changing. No shower gel or shampoo in the shower, and soap dispensers were empty. Not a lot of room for changing with more than 2 people in the room!
The robes were fine except for the sizing - not everyone is a size 12! Please think of the more rounded guests.
Lunch was fantastic - but very glad we didnt go to lunch in our robes as suggested as the corridor was freezing and we would have looked very out of place.
I would go back again - but hope that some of my comments were addressed

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We booked through an internet site and all went to plan. The IOW ferry, and Hotel was just as we expected and more. The hotel food was outstanding as was the staff who were serving. Adam was great at suggesting wines with our food, thank you. The spa was very relaxing and clean. The room was cosy and up to date with all modern appliances. Wonderful walks in the area so the experience was great for our two day break.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Four of us just spent a long weekend at the Lakeside and we had an excellent time. The staff were all friendly and helpful, especially Faye in the Brasserie. We used the spa every day - sauna, steam room, pool and jacuzzi all clean and well maintained. We had spa treatments - massages - which were very relaxing.

Using the hotel as a base from which to see the island worked well. We were lucky enough to get good weather.

Well recommended. We will return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowes, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We got married at the lakeside park hotel on october 19th 2012. The whole day was just fantastic, the staff were so helpful and nothing was to much. We opted for a weekday to get the package offer but this did not mean we were treated any different from full price weddings, We couldn't have been happier with the service we received. We had a delicious 3 course meal with wine, bubbly for toasts and coffee too. The service was quick and no one was waiting long for their next course or another drink. Even the bar staff were really friendly and helpful.
I (the bride) got ready at the hotel with my 4 bridesmaids, mother, and 2 friends so you can imagine the mess we made in the room.... Well at the end of the night when my husband and I went to bed the room was spotless, even the clothes had been folded or put on hangers. You wouldn't have known we had been there at all. We had breakfast delivered to the room in the morning which was a really nice treat. Having two children at home breakfast in bed never happens for us. And we were not rushed out of the room at all. We spent the following day in the spa and had booked a massage each with a voucher we had been given, the upgraded us free of charge to a full body which made our day. We then had a meal in brasserie which again was delicious. To sum up our whole wedding experience it was absolutely perfect. I would fully recommend the lakeside park hotel to anyone planning a future wedding. We really couldn't have better things to say about it and all its staff. Maybe we will return for a weekend stay on our year anniversary :-)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakesideParkHotel, General Manager at Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you for you kind review. I was pleased that you both had a Perfect Wedding Day and that you all enjoyed our food, service and Spa Treatments. We look forward to welcoming you back on your First Wedding Anniversary if not sooner! Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

From the on set, i knew this was going to be a nice stay. My wife had made a booking through Secret breaks and the web site had defaulted to December rather than November (Just to note their returns policy is not as severe as it sounds but if you do make a mistake with your booking they will cancel it but give you a credit to be used on their site and not a re-emburment).

She phoned the Hotel and was met with a very warm and friendly member of the reservation team, Roxy, who immediately empathised with the situation and booked us in to stay a month earlier.

On arrival we were met with a warm welcome from Roxy who had upgraded us because it was my 30th Birthday. The room was tidy and well decorated in a contemporary style and the shower was amazing. The bottle of Presseco that was part of the offer was nicely chilled and went down well with the lake side view from the window.

Dinner was very nice and cooked to a good standard both nights. All the waiting staff were very helpful and down to earth and full of useful tips about ordering different option at breakfast and things to do and see. (We went to Ryde Cinema in the evening to watch Skyfall for £2.50!!!)

The Spa was relaxing, although they needed more beds in the relaxation room and some magazines that would suit a male reader. A sign of a good treatment is either when you full asleep or you hear the knots being worked out of your shoulders, the latter was part of a good 25 minute session, well worth the money.

Overall i would say that we had a thoroughly relaxing stay, in an idlic part of the Island, that was surprising close to the ferry terminal and other amenities. We will stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake side room and you'll get a really nice view. You can always ask for different opt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa

Address: High street | Wootton Bridge, Ryde PO33 4LJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ryde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ryde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand New, Purpose built 4 star property set in 37 acres of outstanding natural beauty incorporating a 20 acre lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside Park Ryde
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa Ryde, Isle Of Wight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.