We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TERRIBLE HOTEL” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Seahaven House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Seahaven House to your Saves list
Seahaven House
36 St Thomas Street, Ryde PO33 2DL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 18 Ryde B&B and Inns
Surrey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“TERRIBLE HOTEL”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Smelly, dirty, chipped paintwork, saggy stair carpet (dangerous) no-one there to greet, bathroom the size of a cupboard with very old smelly fittings - what more can we say - we didn't stay!!!!! Absolutely the worst hotel I have ever been into.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biggus000, Manager at Seahaven House, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Hello,

Depressingly, this guest didn't even stay with us (as admitted in the review) and was verbally abusive when we were unable to provide a seaview room with less than a day's notice. This was in the height of summer (!). It would appear odd they can comment on the room when they didn't even make it past our reception. Frustration doesn't come close to adequately describing the feeling about reviews like this. Regrettably, the thousands of happy customers per year leave lovely comments in our guest book and just don't feel the need to leave a review, which is our loss :(

We'll keep on trying to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    17
    6
    2
    11
See reviews for
10
14
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
wednesbury
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

hotel in great position , not one of the best places I have stayed but we only stayed 2 nights and was ok, room for 3 was average size. breakfast was good served by nice staff. would stay again for short break.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My wife and I had the misfortune of staying at the Seahaven House and I can assure you that this is a truly shocking B&B that is run by an extremely rude landlady. The rooms and showers are very small and filthy and the breakfast was disgusting. I have no idea how this place remains open and can only imagine the positive reviews are written by the owners.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biggus000, Manager at Seahaven House, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Hello,

Yet again, we feel obliged to respond to a completely fabricated review. This time the grudge arose because we didn't serve chicken for breakfast. Perhaps we should include drumstick on the menu in future. It's very difficult to address the other points as they are disingenuous.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

No owner on site we arrived approx.13.40 16th July 2013 was promised a call that morning to verify time of arrival no call from owner when we finally got through to the owner she argued about are time of arrival.We were instructed where to find keys no check in procedure I have been travelling for fortysix years this has never happened before. My sister and I were staying for three nights, the room was very small, bathroom very small, hot and cold taps and shower tap dangerous as never knew what temperature would come out of taps.Bed not cleaned underneath dropped some thing under bed found socks biscuit wrappers. this is room number 8
On the last day I accidently locked us out our room everything we had was in there (mobile phone) no owner on site no general telephone a very kind lady lent us her phone i phoned the owner got to voice mail also sent text much later another guest sent an email she finally turned up hour 30 mins later no apology, we had got her out of bed and father was ill we complained about the room she asked why we did,nt say anything no vacancies signs in both windows all this could have been avoided had there been an owner on site.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biggus000, Owner at Seahaven House, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Regrettably this lady was drunk and abusive and tried to leave without settling her bill. She was also caught sneaking into another guest's room during her stay and was asked to leave - hence we were expecting this bogus review.

She has quite an imagination as neither myself or my partner received a phonecall or voicemail on the evening they locked themselves out of their room. The shouting and swearing alerted us at 11pm (and all other guests) and despite us being courteous in letting them in with spare keys we were verbally attacked. I'm not used to such disgusting language from a middle-aged lady. These guests left us with a broken shower (without telling us) and ransacked the room before leaving in the early hours to avoid paying. We run a very happy ship at Seahaven, it's just unfortunate that out of thousands of very happy guests per year only the troublemakers ever leave reviews :(
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Conveniently located and a short walk from the train station. A warm welcome from the owner, and everything we needed was made available to us. If you have a room on the top floor, you can't access the free wifi, but you can go downstairs in the guest lounge and there's a strong signal.
The only complaint I have isn't the fault of the owners. The person who lives in the house next door, decided to play music LOUDLY for several hours and it went until nearly midnight. Luckily, it only happened the first night we were there.

Ryde itself is a neat place to walk around , and the train station and bus station are in the same place. Great walks along the water and I even found some sea glass to add to my growing collection .
Oh, and the breakfast is served in a very nice breakfast room, and is very tasty. (and there was plenty of it) Thanks Seahaven House!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

It was a last minute booking as going to the festival. Location perfect as bus to festival across the road. Allowed us to check in early and made to feel very welcome. Our bed was so comfortable . Car parking 2minutes away. Breakfast was nice plenty of selection and cooked fresh. Breakfast lady was lovely. If in Isle of Wight would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk south
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

stayed for 2 nights, the room was small but clean and had all i needed and i slept well cheryl's breakfast was good and she made sure you didn't go hungry, there is a good choice of cereal ,yogurt etc and a full english that kept me going for the day. i was made to feel very welcome and i feel it was excellent value for the money, a good location with shops and resturants just around the corner, ryde pier opposite and a public car park 75-100 yards away. all in all a good base and i will stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seahaven House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seahaven House

Address: 36 St Thomas Street, Ryde PO33 2DL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ryde
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Ryde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Seahaven House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seahaven House Ryde, Isle Of Wight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seahaven House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.