We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seahaven House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Seahaven House to your Saves list
Seahaven House
36 St Thomas Street, Ryde PO33 2DL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 18 Ryde B&B and Inns
UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“very comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

A no fuss place, very comfortable. Convenient if travelling by train, less than 300 yards from the esplanade rail station, and flat to get to, very useful if one of the group is pushing 80.
Overall is exactly what you get for your money, comfortable, clean and friendly.

Room Tip: Go for a high floor, with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    17
    9
    3
    11
See reviews for
10
17
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
HAREFIELD, MIDDLESEX
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Stayed here on a one night break, first impressions - the hallway smelt very musty on entering the building though seemed clean enough. My room had a seaview which was nice, although the curtains were on a wire type cord and hard to open or close properly. Bathroom was clean enough but the shower was useless, basically a dribble and hard to control the temperature, it was boiling (too hot!). Tea and Coffee was provided in room with biscuits which was nice.

Had a terrible night's sleep due to the mattress springs digging in my back, I had a look at the mattress and it had definetely seen better days and urgently needed replacing. I gave up trying to sleep in the end due to the foghorns sounding over the Solent all night because of the fog.

Breakfast was ample and the lady (landlady?) who cooked it was very nice and obliging to be fair. The dining room was ok but a bit dusty, cobwebs on the windows and they were pretty grimy outside too due to passing traffic. I would like to think they will be cleaner in high season. Cost was ok for a night's bed and breakfast to be fair but I wouldn't choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

We just stayed one night in this hotel in Ryde. Firstly the location is great - very near the pier, on the seafront and close to the shops and restaurants.
My room was at the back of house and was fairly basic. On initial impression the hotel seemed nice and clean but on closer inspection (Channel 4's Three in a Bed clean test!!!) it was a bit dusty and there was a lack of attention to some areas (maybe because it was early in the year).
The building is old (and very nice) - I would mention that the shower was not the best in the world but I imagine that the plumbing system is not the most modern. The radiator in my room made a lot of noise when it came on, and the mattress is really past its best as I could feel the springs through it. However, it is good value and my room was warm and quiet and had everything I needed.
The owner was very friendly and obliging and we had a lovely well cooked breakfast. Very good poached eggs!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

Excellent location, friendly owners.... Value for money. Yea is slightly dated but not to an extent which is horrible. I would visit again. :-)

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

We stayed here on the weekend of 30th July and very much enjoyed our stay, we walked off the passenger ferry and was at Seahaven House within 10 mins so it was very convenient for that. When we got to the hotel we were greeted by a friendly chap who checked us in and made sure we had everything we needed, once into our room we were admittedly slightly disapointed with the dated decor but everything was clean which was the main thing and we had a great view of the sea. In the morning we went down for breakfast, the breakfast is fantastic and service as quick and efficient. In a nutshell a great hotel, if the decor was up to date I would have scored it a 5 but then we probably would have paid a lot more!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

What a pleasant surprise from the lower expectations I had about a small B&B in a city on the Isle of Wight. The location was great, the view was charming, the hotel was clean and modern, I slept exceptionally well and the breakfast was first rate. The staff were perfectionists and that's a good thing!

Room Tip: Any room with a seaside view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

Don't know what the other reviewers are moaning about?? Must be new owners as they are a lovely couple who were really helpful. It is a lovely Victorian building which has clearly been refurbished recently ( didn't get a chance to ask) and is in a BRILLIANT location.
You can't ask for much more than seaviews with a lovely fresh cooked breakfast and FREE Internet all for around £30 each.
We will be back.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seahaven House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seahaven House

Address: 36 St Thomas Street, Ryde PO33 2DL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ryde
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Ryde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Seahaven House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seahaven House Ryde, Isle Of Wight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seahaven House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.