We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine B&B” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Seahorses B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Freshwater
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seahorses B&B
Save
You added Seahorses B&B to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Victoria Road, Freshwater PO40 9PP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 12 Freshwater B&B and Inns
Berkshire, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fine B&B”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Seahorses has a fine location and is close enough to the coastal path. The facilities were good and breakfast satisfactory. However, the b&b's biggest downfall was service.
had just completed 16 miles of the coastal path and needed to relax for a while in our rooms. After ringing the doorbell, I had to wait 5 minutes before someone disdained to let us in and then all statements were curt to the point of rudeness. Such a let down in a beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
9
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Verwood, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The self contained holiday cottage is charming. A lovely little garden which is secure for the dog and so nice to be able to take him with us on holiday. This is a very relaxing B and B with a spiritual atmosphere; very calm and quiet. We just loved it.

Room Tip: Taxis are not very frequent from the ferry if you are planning on walking over.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Seahorses is a wonderful experience. Comfortable rooms, delicious breakfasts and beautiful gardens.The team were extremely helpful, but not obtrusive. The attached art studio was very interesting and it was lovely to just walk around it and look at all the work in progress. The house was full of art and craft items, and the glass fusions were out of this world.Above all everywhere was so calm and peaceful, just the right atmosphere to unwind.Needless to say we have already booked for next year. Thankyou Brenda, Boris and the team for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Back rooms have views over the delightful gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambleside, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stayed in the self catering cottage for 3 nights for a wedding with friends. Sea Horses was perfect in every way. The cottage had absolutely everything we needed, very modern yet quaint. Secluded in a way that it was private but the B and B was on hand should you need anything at all. Enclosed garden was a real gem especially for the kids. Wouldn't even bother looking up any other accommodation should we happen to visit the iow again. Thanks to Boris, Brenda and your team.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hounslow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I recently visited Seahorses with my family as a part of touring Isle of Wight. We were very impressed with the quality of service we received and with the atmosphere(Artistic & Peaceful). Thanks to the people who are running that and for the charity activities they are doing. If you have Kids probably the best place to stay as the vast garden and the footpath from the hotel to Fresh water bay are amazing. Town centre and bus stops are also nearby. If you plan to stay long, there are some activities organised by them like painting classes. It's one of the life time memory for us and strongly recommend it for any one who is visiting Isle of Wight.

RaviTeja Sajja

Room Tip: All the rooms are good especially those facing the Garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I reviewed seahorses some time back for a bed and breakfast stay, which was wonderful - welcoming, cosy, beautiful artwork to enjoy around every corner, a delicious breakfast and great location for exploring. We recently returned to stay in the relatively new self catering cottage and found this a great alternative, extremely well laid out and equipped, with the same cosy and peaceful feel as the main house plus the benefit of being able to cook for ourselves in the fully equipped kitchen. We also enjoyed some activities in the art studio, with mosaic making, sculpting, silk painting, watercolour, printing etc on offer, and returned to London feeling rejuvenated after just a few nights there. We'll certainly be going back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P'boro
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Just stayed for an extended weekend over the bank holiday at Seahorses B&B in Freshwater. The location is ideal , close to centre of Village and 10 mins walk to the sea (talking the adjacent footpath.....rooms vast and garden is heaven for anyone with Children who love to run around and explore in a safe environment...Boris and team made all feel welcome , and breakfasts were amazing..........Would definately return also loads of books/DVDs videos to use

Room Tip: Either of the family rooms are great for those with little ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seahorses B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seahorses B&B

Address: Victoria Road, Freshwater PO40 9PP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Freshwater
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Freshwater
Hotel Class:4 star — Seahorses B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Seahorses B&B Isle Of Wight/Freshwater

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seahorses B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.