We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So pleasant...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seahorses B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Freshwater
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seahorses B&B
Save
You added Seahorses B&B to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Victoria Road, Freshwater PO40 9PP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 12 Freshwater B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“So pleasant...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Family with one 8-yr old kid, went there at end March, very well catered for, really nice place/rooms/food, huge garden, perfect service, marvellous surroundings. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
9
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Our family group was aged between 12 and 80 years and we all loved our weeks stay at Seahorses on Isle of Wight. We stayed in Studio Cottage, a newly converted stable block, tastefully decorated. We had our own garden which is fenced in, handy if one wants to take your dog. This is the second holiday we have had here and we plan to make it an annual trip. Seahorses is 10 minutes drive from Yarmouth which is half an hour ferry ride from Lymington in the New Forest.
Freshwater is a lovely part of the island, very unspoilt with cliff walks close by. As we were self catering we used the co-op for our supplies which is less than 10 mins walk mostly through a country path. What I love best is the Art Studio which is 4 steps away from the Cottage, (making it easy to pop back for a cup of tea after a mornings work) where we were all able to try our hand at what ever craft we fancied. Mosaic, Silk Painting, Clay, Stained Glass, Fused Glass (jewelry making), Drift wood models, T shirt stencilling. Boris (artist) is on hand to help with advice and show you what to do if you need help. Great fun was had by all and we came home with our new treasures and happy memories.

Room Tip: Very comfortable beds and a good shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012 via mobile

We took our children here. Fantastic place to stay. Very welcoming and excellent service. There is an art studio where we had a go at working soap stone.
Good night sleep and great location.
thank you

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

B & B Seahorses has lovely spacious rooms, a very big and beautiful garden, for the rainy days a living room with a fireplace (+ TV, video’s and DVD’s) and gives you many delicious options to choose from for breakfast. I think it’s situated on the best corner of the Island (not that touristic). From the garden you can start several beautiful walks via the many public footpath the Isle has to offer. In the evening we enjoyed very tasteful meals in walking distance of the room. But the most important thing: Boris and Brenda are so kind and helpful you feel welcome from the first moment. If I visit the Island again I would definitly go back to Seahorses!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

We just don't seem to be able to stay away from Seahorses. This summer we returned for our fourth group summer holiday in as many years. The welcome is so warm and nothing is too much trouble to arrange. Highlights are the wonderful location with access to the sea and varied walks, the catering (we had full board) especially the magnificent breakfasts, the adjacent art studio (where under Boris' expert guidance we all took part in creating another beautiful mosaic), the lovely paeceful and safe gardens, the chance to meet interesting people in the house and art studio, and the easy-going atmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

Our family stayed with Brenda and Boris at Sea Horses B&B in August 2011 and had a wonderful trip. The family room was very reasonable, at £100 per night including a delicious cooked breakfast for all four of us. The Freshwater area is much more relaxed than other tourist traps on the Island, such as Ventnor or Shanklin, and offers easy access on foot to Freshwater bay, the coastal path walks and magnificent Tennyson Trail. The IOW number 7 bus stops outside the hotel. A public footpath, The Freshwater Way, runs through Sea Horses glorious garden, which is about 2.5 acres so plenty of space to run around and play games. We saw a buzzard, jays, swallows and plenty of finches. Run by the Steiner Foundation, your stay will also financially support the centre which is one of few in the UK still to provide short breaks for young adults with learning disabilaties. This also means Sea Horses is well set up to provide extra activies, such as organising sea kayaking, or its extensive games cupboard which includes indoor and outdoor games, including a badminton net and racquets. A relaxing and welcoming stay - thoroughly reccomended.

Room Tip: A family room (sleeps 4) is available for £100 a night. There is also a self-catering cottage which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

I stayed first with my other half to try it out for a walking group, and we loved it. The place is quirky and a little eccentric, with lots of art work decorating the house. Boris and Brenda were most helpful in accommodating all my requirements for the group, and when I brought the group the weekend worked very well. We used all the rooms which were spacious and clean, the beds were comfortable, and the water was hot. Excellent breakfasts, and plenty of room to chill out after our walks, in the lounge or conservatory, or the beautiful garden. A path from the back leads directly to Freshwater Bay, in about 10 minutes, and then onto Tennyson Down. It was so good that I'm bringing another group in October. Looking forward to it!

Room Tip: Room 1 is the biggest with the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seahorses B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seahorses B&B

Address: Victoria Road, Freshwater PO40 9PP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Freshwater
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Freshwater
Hotel Class:4 star — Seahorses B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Seahorses B&B Isle Of Wight/Freshwater

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seahorses B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.