We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you want for a holiday or a weekend of” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seahorses B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Freshwater
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seahorses B&B
Save
You added Seahorses B&B to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Victoria Road, Freshwater PO40 9PP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 12 Freshwater B&B and Inns
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Everything you want for a holiday or a weekend of”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

B & B Seahorses has lovely spacious rooms, a very big and beautiful garden, for the rainy days a living room with a fireplace (+ TV, video’s and DVD’s) and gives you many delicious options to choose from for breakfast. I think it’s situated on the best corner of the Island (not that touristic). From the garden you can start several beautiful walks via the many public footpath the Isle has to offer. In the evening we enjoyed very tasteful meals in walking distance of the room. But the most important thing: Boris and Brenda are so kind and helpful you feel welcome from the first moment. If I visit the Island again I would definitly go back to Seahorses!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
9
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

We just don't seem to be able to stay away from Seahorses. This summer we returned for our fourth group summer holiday in as many years. The welcome is so warm and nothing is too much trouble to arrange. Highlights are the wonderful location with access to the sea and varied walks, the catering (we had full board) especially the magnificent breakfasts, the adjacent art studio (where under Boris' expert guidance we all took part in creating another beautiful mosaic), the lovely paeceful and safe gardens, the chance to meet interesting people in the house and art studio, and the easy-going atmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

Our family stayed with Brenda and Boris at Sea Horses B&B in August 2011 and had a wonderful trip. The family room was very reasonable, at £100 per night including a delicious cooked breakfast for all four of us. The Freshwater area is much more relaxed than other tourist traps on the Island, such as Ventnor or Shanklin, and offers easy access on foot to Freshwater bay, the coastal path walks and magnificent Tennyson Trail. The IOW number 7 bus stops outside the hotel. A public footpath, The Freshwater Way, runs through Sea Horses glorious garden, which is about 2.5 acres so plenty of space to run around and play games. We saw a buzzard, jays, swallows and plenty of finches. Run by the Steiner Foundation, your stay will also financially support the centre which is one of few in the UK still to provide short breaks for young adults with learning disabilaties. This also means Sea Horses is well set up to provide extra activies, such as organising sea kayaking, or its extensive games cupboard which includes indoor and outdoor games, including a badminton net and racquets. A relaxing and welcoming stay - thoroughly reccomended.

Room Tip: A family room (sleeps 4) is available for £100 a night. There is also a self-catering cottage which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

I stayed first with my other half to try it out for a walking group, and we loved it. The place is quirky and a little eccentric, with lots of art work decorating the house. Boris and Brenda were most helpful in accommodating all my requirements for the group, and when I brought the group the weekend worked very well. We used all the rooms which were spacious and clean, the beds were comfortable, and the water was hot. Excellent breakfasts, and plenty of room to chill out after our walks, in the lounge or conservatory, or the beautiful garden. A path from the back leads directly to Freshwater Bay, in about 10 minutes, and then onto Tennyson Down. It was so good that I'm bringing another group in October. Looking forward to it!

Room Tip: Room 1 is the biggest with the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

Our hosts, Boris and Brenda gave us a wonderful relaxing break with expert guidance for art work in extensive studios, beautiful gardens to linger in, and with a short footpath direct to Freshwater Bay. Their attention to our comfort and excellent tasty food from organic produce all made our visit one to repeat.
thanks from John Andii and Izzy

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

My partner and I stayed here at the beginning of March for an extended weekend, enjoying the natural beauty and peace of the Isle of Wight. The location is brilliant; a quick walk from freshwater bay and with plenty of longer walks on the doorstep, plus a bus stop opposite that enables you to easily explore the island without a car. Seahorses itself is a delight; our room was spacious and spotlessly clean, there is a huge choice of books and DVDs available to guests and the owners are extremely friendly and welcoming. The breakfast was delicious; plenty of choice and happily adapted to suit special diets (we are vegetarian) - and it would be worth returning just for the amazing mushrooms, apparently a Seahorses speciality!
The house is full of fascinating art work, much of which is produced at the busy art studio in the grounds where you can try your hand, under Boris' expert guidance, at pretty much any artistic activity you can think of...mosaic, silk painting, pottery, sculpture, watercolours...We spent a wonderful few days stone carving in the sunny orchard behind the studio. We will definitely be back in the summer, perhaps to try the self catering cottage - although I'm not sure if we could bear to miss the chance to have another of those fantastic breakfasts!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

The best B&B ever; very warm and welcoming hosts and a beautifully decorated B&B. We do a lot of weekend trips every summer and usually stay in B&Bs rated between 1 and 15 depending on price and availability...but this has to be the best B&B ever for us...Large airy rooms, a great choice of books, movies, lots of art, culture... and beautifully cooked English breakfasts...will definitely go back !

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seahorses B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seahorses B&B

Address: Victoria Road, Freshwater PO40 9PP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Freshwater
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Freshwater
Hotel Class:4 star — Seahorses B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Seahorses B&B Isle Of Wight/Freshwater

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seahorses B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.