We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Home from Home' Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Criers Croft

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Criers Croft to your Saves list
Criers Croft
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   107 School Green Road, Freshwater PO40 9AZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Freshwater B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“'Home from Home' Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We spent 2 nights with Tania and Peter (12th/13th September). They are wonderful friendly hosts and the accommodation was excellent. Really high standard; room was comfortable and the little basket of treats was much appreciated. En-suite was spotless. Great choice of breakfasts- tried the kedgeree and the pancakes - both superb! Would certainly stay again if we return to the Island.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
88
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmkngham
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We have recently returned from a 3 day break at this amazing B&B. We arrived earlier than planned but still had all the first class treatment. The room was clean and cosy and very contemporary in its decoration. The beds are soo..soooo.comfortable. The choice of breakfasts was amazing and was very well presented and executed. Very friendly owners, so just a great experience. So try it for yourselves.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

A truly wonderful place to stay. The room was spacious, spotlessly clean, beautifully decorated and the bed was really comfortable. Lots of nice little personal touches like a basket of goodies when we arrived. The breakfast is fabulous. Tania & Peter are great hosts and really go the extra mile to make your stay enjoyable.

Room Tip: We stayed in the lodge which is a completely self-contained room in the garden - wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

If you are looking for:-
- a warm welcome from hosts with pot of tea and freshly baked scones on arrival ( really best on island and we tried a few on our travels!)
- a little basket of treats waiting in your room including biscuits, chocolates and wine and water.
- fluffy white towels changed daily in a spotlessly kept bathroom with modern fixtures and fittings.
- a very comfortable king sized bed with white cotton linen in a beatifully decorated and immaculately kept room.
-a huge breakfast choice to choose from including, full english, kedgeree, smoked salmon, continental or pancakes with fruits of forest compote and sour cream ( my particular favourite!)
- a breakfast room with glorious views of a lovingly tended stepped garden with little stream running through.
- a peaceful little haven to rest at the end of the day.
........ then look no further than Criers Croft. The wonderful B&B is never more than 45 mins approx from anywhere on the island and only 10 mins from the ferry at Yarmouth.
Tania and Peter are absolutely wonderful hosts and it was a pleasure to stay in their beautiful home. We arrived as guests and left as friends.

Room Tip: We stayed in Sunrise room at the front and although on main road was extremely peaceful and quiet at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We were thrilled with our room in the summer house, the surrounding garden was a little haven of beauty. The room with sofa's etc., was so comfortable, as was the bed, we had a marvellous night sleep. We loved the complimentary basket of chocolate, crisps, wine etc., it was great fun. The full English Breakfast or pancakes and mixed berries were to die for, what more could you ask! Tanya and Peter go out of their way to attend to all the small details and are full of information to help you enjoy your stay. We will certainly be back again and would not consider staying anywhere else now.

Room Tip: The garden room is unique, quiet, sunny and beautifully decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beautiful Shetland Islands
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for just one night last week and we were overwhelmed by the genuine friendliness of both Tanya and Peter. The accommodation and gardens were superb and we would happily stay here again with no hesitation.
We are thinking of moving to the IOW in a couple of years time and feel that we have made a couple of friends there already should we definitely relocate to the beautiful island.
I can't recommend this B&B too highly !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We recently stayed at Criers Croft as we were visiting the Garlic Festival, and both were amazing!! We arrived in the evening and Tania showed us to our lovely room, complete with basket of treats including a small bottle of wine, biscuits and chocolate!! Peter had booked us a table at the local pub The Red Lion which was just a ten minute walk, the food was great fresh vegetables and tasty meals. Next morning we were warmly greeted for breakfast, the menu was very extensive and impressive and expertly cooked. We took time to sit in the wonderful garden which is beautiful, well done Tania and Peter for a great stay, a real home from. Hope to see you again soon!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Criers Croft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Criers Croft

Address: 107 School Green Road, Freshwater PO40 9AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Freshwater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Freshwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Criers Croft 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Criers Croft reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Criers Croft Isle Of Wight/Freshwater

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Criers Croft, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.