We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a happy glamper” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Really Green Holiday Company

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Freshwater
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Really Green Holiday Company
Save
You added The Really Green Holiday Company to your Saves list
Blackbridge Rd, Freshwater PO40 9QJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not a happy glamper”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Maybe my expectations of glamping were a little high but this felt to me like camping in a yurt with someone's left over furniture and compost toilets. The label 'really green' felt like it had been applied to somehow excuse short comings and lack of attention to detail such as keeping the grass cut, providing a decent mattress or providing a working power pack for use by all campers. The location of the site near a busy T junction is also unfortunate as you are certainly not in the middle of an orchard as the site images suggest. Too rough and ready for my taste!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReallyGreen, Manager at The Really Green Holiday Company, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Apologies for the late response to this review but we had never joined TripAdvisor and were unaware that we had any reviews until recently made aware by a prospective guest. We are grateful to those who have taken the time to comment and I'm glad that most of the reviews are positive but we welcome constructive criticism.
To answer your comments I would say that our use of second hand and recycled furniture is clearly identified as part of our ethos on our website and most of our guests comment positively on it.
Our use of compost loos is also clearly identified as being a major part of our ethos and we use the best units available on the market from Separett in Sweden. We give clear instructions on their use during our arrival briefing.
I am sorry that you found the mattress unsatisfactory. We have had no complaints about any of our mattresses from any other guests in the last five years and unless we are told of any concerns during the stay we cannot take action to deal with them.
Finally the images on the website are genuine and our yurts were sited in the middle of an orchard. Each yurt was surrounded by 4 apple trees. Many guests have returned year after year because they enjoyed the environment.
Being aware however of the occasional road noise we have taken the decision to move from 2013 to a more secluded site which may be seen on our website. As we have not yet opened this year there are no current images on our website but they will be displayed soon.
We are sorry that you were less than satisfied with your stay but wish that you had discussed your concerns with us during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    13
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
11
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

I booked this trip as a birthday treat for my husband using an online deal and what a great deal it was. I am used to camping but this is something else. The way the site is run, the attention to small details, the beautiful setting and the warm welcome of the owners and the staff in the onsite farm shop really impressed us. I have returned thinking about life-style changes that will help us live a little greener.
The weather hadn't been kind to the site but with some strategically placed straw the ground was dry and mud free. We had the yurt with the four poster bed and I have to say it was lovely, cool during the day and cosy at night. We had our own barbecue and outdoor dining area and at night the solar lights, fairy lights, candles and lanterns gave the orchard a truely magical feel.
We were provided with everything you could need for a comfortable and civilised stay.
This site is perfect for couples and families alike. It offers peace, comfort and with shops within walking distance, a bus stop and the lovely Red Lion pub nearby it ticks all my boxes.
Anthony, the owner, also collected us from Yarmouth Harbour which was a lovely touch and a nice way to welcome guests as he helped us get our bearings.
*Ps Santa I would like a yurt for Christmas please!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReallyGreen, Manager at The Really Green Holiday Company, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Apologies for the late response to this review but we had never joined TripAdvisor and were unaware that we had any reviews until recently made aware by a prospective guest. We are grateful to those who have taken the time to comment and I'm glad that most of the reviews are positive but we welcome constructive criticism.
Thank you very much for your kind comments, I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you may join us again one day at our new site at nearby Kings Manor Farm in Freshwater.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

We stayed at the Really Green Holiday Company over the lovely hot weekend in May 2012 - perfect weather for staying in the beautiful Yurt, which had a double bed, sofa, shelves and drawers along with cutlery, plates etc and a wood burner (which we didnt need at all becaus the weather was perfect!). outside our Yurt was a table and chairs, and a BBQ which we also used for hear and light in the evenings.

Both the owner and site manager were lovely, very friendly and very helpful. The orchard where the 5 or so Yurts were located was so peaceful with little paths between them cut into the grass - one evening after cooking on the BBQ and eating outside (which we did every night with candles for lighting) we saw a barn owl hunting amongst the trees.

Although late in the morning the road near to the field got a little busy, the shower is not very powerful and the loos took a bit of getting used to to say the least, we had such a relaxing time here - we would definitely come again for another long weekend. Wonderful stay - thank you so much Really Green Co!

Room Tip: Ask for a yurt facing away from the main pod - a little more private than some of the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011 via mobile

We travelled to the IOW for our first festival experience and had been in two minds whether to camp onsite with The Great Unwashed or whether to glamp it up a bit! How glad we were when we saw the overcrowded refugee-like shambles at The Festival campsite that we had chosen the relative luxury of a Yurt at Apple Farm.
The Yurts are beautifully constructed and keep the elements out and the woodburner generated warmth in. The IOW weather threw everything it had at us and our lovely Yurt held its own.
The site is super eco-friendly, set amongst an established orchard and it looks especially lovely at night. The only downside is the single solar/woodburner shower which is shared between all the Yurts and it did run out of hot water when the site got busier. We felt this could be improved whilst still retaining the site's eco credentials. We got used to the compost loos which aren't nearly as scary as they sound.
Overall the whole Yurt experience was a fun one and slightly improved facilities would make us rush back again.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

Just back from a great trip to the Isle of Wight, made fantastic by our stay in a Yurt at Freashwater.

Yurts (5) are set in an orchard about a mile from Feshwater Bay. Each yurt had a double bed, day bed, woodburn and all you need for your stay. Outside in the orchard we had a private area with bbq and table.

The site was great for young families wanting to camp without the effort of pitching tents, sleeping bags and cold children!

The site was sustainable without being worthy and fun for children to help with fire lighting, bbqing and understanding composting toilets.

I really recommend this site and company.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

This site is an absolute gem in the West Wight. The owners are friendly, accommodating and helpful and there's even a little farm shop/café on site that can supply food and drink for your stay.

The site is set on an apple orchard, with little mown paths in between the apple trees, illuminated by solar lighting. Dotted amongst the trees are 5 well equipped yurts, each with their own table, chairs and brazier/barbecue for keeping warm and cooking on. In addition to the Yurts there is also a large domed marquee with gas burners, tables, chairs and even a sofa. To top off the site's eco-credentials, the showers are solar heated with a wood burning boiler for backup and the loos are composting, but very clean and smell-free and you can pick your own seasonal vegetables from the raised beds.

This is one of the nicest sites I have stayed on and with the fantastic yurts and facilities provided it makes camping an absolute doddle.

Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Really Green Holiday Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Really Green Holiday Company

Address: Blackbridge Rd, Freshwater PO40 9QJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Freshwater
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Freshwater
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Really Green Holiday Company Isle Of Wight/Freshwater

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Really Green Holiday Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.