We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glamping” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Really Green Holiday Company

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Freshwater
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Really Green Holiday Company
Save
You added The Really Green Holiday Company to your Saves list
Blackbridge Rd, Freshwater PO40 9QJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Taunton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Glamping”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

We stayed at the Really Green Holiday Company over the lovely hot weekend in May 2012 - perfect weather for staying in the beautiful Yurt, which had a double bed, sofa, shelves and drawers along with cutlery, plates etc and a wood burner (which we didnt need at all becaus the weather was perfect!). outside our Yurt was a table and chairs, and a BBQ which we also used for hear and light in the evenings.

Both the owner and site manager were lovely, very friendly and very helpful. The orchard where the 5 or so Yurts were located was so peaceful with little paths between them cut into the grass - one evening after cooking on the BBQ and eating outside (which we did every night with candles for lighting) we saw a barn owl hunting amongst the trees.

Although late in the morning the road near to the field got a little busy, the shower is not very powerful and the loos took a bit of getting used to to say the least, we had such a relaxing time here - we would definitely come again for another long weekend. Wonderful stay - thank you so much Really Green Co!

Room Tip: Ask for a yurt facing away from the main pod - a little more private than some of the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    13
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
12
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

We travelled to the IOW for our first festival experience and had been in two minds whether to camp onsite with The Great Unwashed or whether to glamp it up a bit! How glad we were when we saw the overcrowded refugee-like shambles at The Festival campsite that we had chosen the relative luxury of a Yurt at Apple Farm.
The Yurts are beautifully constructed and keep the elements out and the woodburner generated warmth in. The IOW weather threw everything it had at us and our lovely Yurt held its own.
The site is super eco-friendly, set amongst an established orchard and it looks especially lovely at night. The only downside is the single solar/woodburner shower which is shared between all the Yurts and it did run out of hot water when the site got busier. We felt this could be improved whilst still retaining the site's eco credentials. We got used to the compost loos which aren't nearly as scary as they sound.
Overall the whole Yurt experience was a fun one and slightly improved facilities would make us rush back again.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

Just back from a great trip to the Isle of Wight, made fantastic by our stay in a Yurt at Freashwater.

Yurts (5) are set in an orchard about a mile from Feshwater Bay. Each yurt had a double bed, day bed, woodburn and all you need for your stay. Outside in the orchard we had a private area with bbq and table.

The site was great for young families wanting to camp without the effort of pitching tents, sleeping bags and cold children!

The site was sustainable without being worthy and fun for children to help with fire lighting, bbqing and understanding composting toilets.

I really recommend this site and company.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

This site is an absolute gem in the West Wight. The owners are friendly, accommodating and helpful and there's even a little farm shop/café on site that can supply food and drink for your stay.

The site is set on an apple orchard, with little mown paths in between the apple trees, illuminated by solar lighting. Dotted amongst the trees are 5 well equipped yurts, each with their own table, chairs and brazier/barbecue for keeping warm and cooking on. In addition to the Yurts there is also a large domed marquee with gas burners, tables, chairs and even a sofa. To top off the site's eco-credentials, the showers are solar heated with a wood burning boiler for backup and the loos are composting, but very clean and smell-free and you can pick your own seasonal vegetables from the raised beds.

This is one of the nicest sites I have stayed on and with the fantastic yurts and facilities provided it makes camping an absolute doddle.

Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Really Green Holiday Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Really Green Holiday Company

Address: Blackbridge Rd, Freshwater PO40 9QJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Freshwater
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Freshwater
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Really Green Holiday Company Isle Of Wight/Freshwater

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Really Green Holiday Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.