We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont eat here” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Vine Inn

The Vine Inn
Avenue Road, Freshwater PO40 9UP , England
01983 752959
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 21 restaurants in Freshwater
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
1 review
“Dont eat here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

Chef seems to have run of the place and makes his own recipes up as he goes along. Manager is rude. If you care to know what recipes are used and what is going to be in your dish exactly then don't go here. Or as the manger says.... It's your fault. Grrrr so so rude

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    19
    28
    7
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lymington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Not the same”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

From what I could see, The Vine no longer serves food. On a Friday evening the place looked much less crowded than it used to be and there were no families due to lack of food. This is a shame, as the food was always reasonably priced and very good. Perhaps the new owners are preparing a re launch or something but in the meantime, The Vine looks to have become a drinking pub. I for one will miss the food. Hopefully the new people will bring it back. Perhaps this is temporary blip? I hope so because they always seemed to do a lot of food covers, and there should be a demand. Strange, for a village centre pub. Best of luck to the new owners, it would be a shame to lose customer loyalty before they've even got started.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Basic "pub grub"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Basic "pub grub". Pub itself was dirty and scruffy, not really a place i could return to

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Changed Ownership”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We visited again on a Monday evening during our recent stay in Freshwater, having had some great meals in the past. Alas, it has new owners, and we found that it doesn't do food on Monday's (perhaps not the best idea with the tourist trade now picking up a pace!). From what we saw of the blackboard menu, there didn't appear to be much on offer if they had been doing food - steak and chips, burger and chips, fish and chips, etc. There was hardly a soul in there either, which was not how we remembered it on previous visits. So it was a very quick drink and off to the Red Lion in Church Place where we had a great meal, so I guess all turned out well.

We've heard it's early days for the new management, so I guess things may get back towards the way we previously remember it, and so we'll give it a visit the next time we're in Freshwater to see, but probably just for a drink only, and see what's happening on the food front!

PS. Noted the review by Darren S below is for the other Vine Inn on the IoW at St Helens, not this one at Freshwater. We thoroughly concur with that review - we had a lovely meal there on our last visit there!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Forgettable”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

The beer was okay, we are told the food is not great. A place for locals only. Sadly not worth a visit.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Vine Inn also viewed

Freshwater, Isle of Wight
Freshwater, Isle of Wight
 
Freshwater, Isle of Wight
Freshwater, Isle of Wight
 

Been to The Vine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Vine Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.