We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Gurnard Pines

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Gurnard Pines to your Saves list
Gurnard Pines
Cockleton Lane, Cowes PO31 8QE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Don't go!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed for one night and booked for 3.we are going to check out tomorrow.could not have a drink in the bar after 7pm!private party and reception not helpful except Liz.never going to stay here again!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    77
    53
    47
    36
See reviews for
160
52
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We booked the £9,50 per person deal through the Sun newspaper only to be hugely disappointed at not only the ‘hidden costs’, the customer service as well as the state of the resort.

We booked the holiday online on the 07th January 2013, we then got an email on the 11th to say it had been reserved. We didn’t hear anything further until we called on the 1st Feb to see it was confirmed - On departure from Gunard Pines at 09:00, we received an email 15th Feb at 11:56 saying our holiday was confirmed.
On calling on the 1st Feb we learned of addidtional costs that were not mentioned on booking. We had already paid the £36-00 which was non-refundable. We then learnt of bed linen, leisure pass and a mandatory service charge- no explanation as to what this charge is for as there sure was no service at Gunard Pines. For a Service charge I would expect the unit to have been cleaned – or at least clean on arrival! The unit was revolting – opened a kitchen cupboard to find a loaf of bread that looked as if it had been there for weeks! All the crockery was filthy – cups stuck to the shelves and me having to boil a very black frying pan with hot soapy water to get the muck off. Then being told that I have to strip the beds and tidy when we depart – so what is this service charge for?

We also needed to have access to our emails but there was very little signal at the resort, after looking at the book in the unit we decided to go to the reception and ask to purchase the wifi but we were told that they only do wifi in the summer months.. this should really not be advertised then as a resort with these facilities.

Customers should be forewarned of the additional costs at time of booking – before paying the non refundable deposit. They should also be advised that there is nothing in the unit and to take absolutely everything from toilet rolls, oven gloves, washing up cloths, towels of which I then had to go out and buy.

There were also no activities going on - as apparently it's only done in the summer - false advertising! We had our two girls with us and had to go out every day.

Very disappointing

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I've only just returned from my short stay @ Gurnard Pines. After reading some reviews (subsequent to having made my booking), I was of the opinion that maybe I had made a wrong choice of venue. I also felt slight apathy when I telephoned to upgrade my accommodation, this due to the fact that I had booked through 'The Sun'. I could not upgrade because of the 'Promotional Offer'!
However, we arrived there early, shortly after 3pm. Check in should have been 4pm but we managed to check in straight away. Contrary to some reviews our accommodation was immaculate and incredibly clean. We also found it tremendously spacious, an added bonus as this made the place feel homely.
The staff were friendly and courteous, and when I reported a problem some repairs that needed to be done, these were very promptly dealt with. Another surprise of course bearing in mind some previous negative reviews which I had read!
I made use of the gym and found it to be well equipped and user friendly. I thoroughly enjoyed using the swimming pool, which was never crowded, and felt clean!!
We had chosen this place because we wanted a 'quiet short break', and it turned out to be just that, and just perfect for us. We've had a terrific time at Gurnard Pines and we'll most certainly be returning in the summer.
Our main regret this time is not making our booking longer, this place was certainly 'home away from home'.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dursley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

My family of 4 booked to stay for 4 nights through the Sun promotion, which seemed like a bargain at the time at £38, then £38 for the ferry (which was very good) and expected, but then we were stung by the 'Resort' costs of £105, broken down this was, £10 per head service charge, ok, £25 for bedding, ok...but £40 for Leisure passes??!! What a con! there was nothing for the kids to do, just a small ice cold pool and a tiny jungle gym from ages 1-10.

Overall the rustic lodge was good, warm and roomy, with all equipment expected for self catering. But we had to make the double bed with a heavily stained duvet and tatty pillows (I wish we had brought our own bedding) we paid £25 for this luxury!?! We had to find a shop in the middle of nowhere to buy toilet rolls as there is no onsite shop. The bathroom was grimy with mildew spots and orange grime around the bath and the shower curtain.
I would not recommend this 'Leisure Resort'....it was basically a small leisure centre that happened to have Rustic lodges and council house chalets in the grounds.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We booked for a group of us to go for a dinner and dance at Christmas. A few days before we were about to go they cancelled our evening. We have been promised a refund (cheque in the post) and a promise of collecting the cash if we went out their. So last Friday we went out there to be told nobody had left any cash for us in the safe.
My wife phoned again to be told someone will phone back. How long does it take to process a refund, they were quick enough to take our money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We booked this as a Birthday treat as we had never visited the Island and as it transpired it really was the only place open.
First impressions are that it was not clean. Heavy brown staining in the toilet bowls. Ugly black marks on the main bedroom carpet and when we tried to use the oven to bake a Birthday cake it almost caught fire because of the centimetre of grease inside. One of the bedrooms hadn't even been 'hoovered' as there was a medicine cup on the floor.
Be warned, you have to bring everything with you. Not just toilet paper, cleaning materials, but light bulbs are a good idea (we had 3 out) and if you use more than one towel normaly, ie, a hand towel in the bathrooms, bring those as well.
As for the hot tub. The temperature is preset and cannot be altered, but worse, although we were there for a week, no one checked on the water quality at any time.

Room Tip: Although this is a Hoseasons resort it is not up to their normal high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burnham bucks
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

we came here in jan for fri/mon we had a rustic lodge for 99.99, wow they are huge and very nice, one downfall you open the door and walk straight into kitchen area wich is very small, rest of the park is very peacefull and the lodges are set in mostly woodland ,but theres nothing on the park its self , theres a swimming pool wich is very basic, soft play area for little ones (although my 12 yr old enjoyed it aswell) please note there is NO shop at all here , to be honest had no probs finding the place used sat nav ,use the chain ferry will save you time ,2.00 per car runs till 12.30 at night good cos we didnt get over till 9.30, would go again for a rest

Room Tip: although the villas have a hot tub i would choose the rustic lodges for size
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Gurnard Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gurnard Pines

Address: Cockleton Lane, Cowes PO31 8QE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Cowes
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Cowes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within 50 acres of private woodland, a short stroll from the beach and moments from the lively yachting capital of Cowes, Gurnard Pines is the perfect destination for holidays and short breaks. With quality leisure facilities offering plenty of action for all ages, there is plenty of fresh air, freedom and flexibility to relax. Our Bungalows and Lodges nestle in a peaceful countryside setting, complete with a nature trail and quiet spots to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Gurnard Pines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gurnard Pines Hotel Cowes
Gurnard Pines Cowes, Isle Of Wight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gurnard Pines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.