We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suprisingly pleased” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cowes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts
Save
You added Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts to your Saves list
Thorness Lane | Thorness, Cowes PO31 8NJ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Suprisingly pleased”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

MY wife and 9 year old daughter stayed here 6th to 13 th April.On arrival we were greeted by two young girls Jess and Jade who I have the greatest admiration for the way they handled a lot of rude people moaning about not being able to get in their caravans as they were still being cleaned.I waited patiently with my daughter by the side of the desk listening to all the complaints most quite trivial.When we got our keys we arrived at the caravan bronze with a uniterupted sea view and clean it was well worth the wait.Thanks for a great break

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    233
    176
    96
    79
See reviews for
538
93
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
birmingham
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

My family and i stayed at the Thorness Park Holiday Park between the dates of 09th April and 13th April 2012. We stayed in a bronze rated caravan known as Bluebell 88. It isnt the first time we have stayed in a caravan on this type of holiday park so we knew what to expect.
Upon arrival the reception area was clean and tidy and the staff were polite. We were directed to the caravan located within the heart of the caravan park area.
The caravan was dirty in the kitchen and bathroom area. The kitchen sink required bleaching before use, i will point out that the drainage hole and taps were covered in a black thick gunk that only bleech would remove. The toilet and shower smelt terrible and again before use needed bleaching thouroughly. There was mould on all window and along the bottom of all curtains.
The overall state of condition of the caravan made me realise that these caravans are not cleaned to a high standard as other parks.
When i tried to address the issue with reception staff i was told "Its a low grade caravan and we will be in to sort it out after you have vacate".
Save your hard earned money and avoid this park at all costs, its dirty and far below standard.

Room Tip: Stay away from the holiday park
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

I am a new Mum with an 8 month old. We booked this using supermarket vouchers and stayed in a silver chalet for 5 days. After reading many reviews we were a little worried about our visit.
Our chalet was fine and very clean. It looked like it had recently been refurbished as the carpets looked new. No mould on walls or curtains at all. Heating worked very well and kept us cosy! I'm not too sure what it would be like at the end of the season but we were very pleasantly surprised.
We didn't use the pool as the weather was too nice we went on day trips.
I would be very interested in staying with Park Resorts again.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Where to start - caravan not cleaned on arrival beds not made up, not enough linen supplied. entertainment appalling - unless you want OTT bingo that drags on and on with bored kids being told to shh even though it was school holidays. pool only open 2 hours am and 2 hours pm and always at capacity. So never got to use it. caravan freezing and despite being promised heaters these did not arrive as staff too busy arguing over whose job it was to bring them. Had fun on IOW but this place is awful and I would avoid. Queues of people complaining on arrival and departure day says it all!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

I was disappointed by the service and the size of caravan. We took Bronze caravan for which it is mentioned that it sleeps 6. Caravan was so small that we 4 adults with 2 kids struggled to sleep. My advice for anyone going for bronze is do not book it if you are more than 3 adults. Another let down was poor service at reception. Our check in time was 4 PM and there was a long queue at reception. It took us 40 mins just to get the keys to our caravan!!! Also, don't expect the private beach to be a sandy beach. It has a good view and you can see sun setting down, but you cannot really swim there. Having said all this, there are plus points as well. Park has good kids play area and other entertainment facilities.

Room Tip: For Bronze caravan, don't book if you are more than 3 adults or 2 adults with 1 kid, even though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

On arrival we were given are keys and went to the caravan which had not been cleaned at all.so after a long journey had to sit in the car with a toddler..no remote to tune or watch the tv and no microwave,not sorted after asking everyday at reception...pool was so cold one day that children wouldn't go in.Shop closes to early at 6pm.would not recommend this park would not stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

We have just returned from thorness bay and I would just like to say we had a brilliant holiday.
Only one thing that could do with improvements and that is the swimming pool, 80s look, water cold, very few changing rooms and shabby looking.
Plus points- fantastic children's entertainment, can't compliment the entertainment staff enough they were fab.
Nice and reasonably priced food in onsite restaurant and staff helpful.
Reasonably priced onsite shop.
Lovely location short walk to the sea.( it's not a bathing beach)
Great kids play area. Good daytime activities.
Chalet was warm and had everything we needed, we stayed in bronze would not have upgraded as everything was fine.
Overall a really pleasant holiday and have already been recommending it to friends.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts

Address: Thorness Lane | Thorness, Cowes PO31 8NJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Cowes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Cowes
Number of rooms: 660
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Isle of Wight countryside, Thorness Bay is a big hit with everyone. Why not stroll down to the bay, it's just at the bottom of the Park! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Hotel Cowes
Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts Cowes, Isle Of Wight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.