We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect get away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fountain Inn

Save Saved
You added The Fountain Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Fountain Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   High Street, Cowes PO31 7AW , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Cowes
2 reviews
“A perfect get away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Me and my wife visited this lovely boutique hotel last Saturday evening and we must say what a great stay it was!

The rooms where spotless and cleaned by friendly staff and the breakfast was excellent.

We will be returning

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OEIGK, General Manager at The Fountain Inn, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stray with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Chris Francis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    63
    20
    18
    5
See reviews for
14
63
8
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Fountain Pub in Cowes from Sunday to Monday night (9th-10th June) and we too were not impressed by the constant noise of the banging pipes.

We booked in advance Sunday afternoon and paid just £35. Amazing value for money, especially as that too included breakfast for both of us. When we arrived at the hotel and found our room we were very impressed. We had stayed at the Fountain previously and asked to move to the back of the pub due to noise from the road, and this time we were given a back room first time round. Great! We thought. Unfortunately Room 2 is directly above the bar and although the pub closed at half ten (Sunday trading) the staff kept the music on until midnight, when I had to go down stairs to ask them to turn it off. It was then that the constant noise became apparent. We assumed it was staff banging around downstairs.

As publicans ourselves, we went to sleep around 1. My wife who is 7 months pregnant then woke up around 3a.m. (maybe due to another resident?). Aware of the noise, she ended up timing it and found it happened every 6 minutes, religiously! Throughout the night! This proved it was not man-made. My wife also went off to investigate and realised it was coming from the ‘Private’ room next to Room 1. She did not lock herself out or disturb anyone else though!

To add to my wife’s discomfort the hotel was also very hot and stuffy. Being pregnant, hot and irritated meant that my wife stayed awake until 6 a.m. and woke up too late and tired to contemplate having breakfast.

The next day we saw men working on the boiler in that same Private room. On checking out we were asked “How was your stay?” to which I answered “Noisy” and when we expanded the receptionist/bar man seemed to be totally unaware. So we assumed we were the only ones affected. Until now, when we read the Tripadvisor comment.

The hotel did look very nice after its revamp. And for £35 a night per couple it does seem a bit mean to complain. But today (Tuesday) the tiredness has caught up with my wife and she has found it nearly impossible to muster up the energy to do anything.

I'm sure we will go back. But I think the employees need some training in a) how to keep quiet after hours and in the morning (cleaners), b) not lie about an obvious issue.

Room Tip: Go to the back of the hotel, level 2 upward.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The hotel was clean and bright and our room was very big and spacious. I loved the decor. However, there were several things that happened. We were kept awake most of the night with some banging which turned out to be pipes. It was intermittent during the night but around 6 am the banging went on longer as people in the hotel started to have showers. As our room was right next to the boiler it was extremely loud and even recorded this on our phones where my husband measured 56 decibels. We were also disturbed by another person staying in the hotel who left his room to find out what the noise was and banged on our door thinking it was us making the noise. He consequently locked himself out of his room but could not find any member of staff in the hotel and proceeded to shout in the corridors. I tried to call reception and dialled the main hotel number but no one answered. In the morning after talking to the employee on the front desk not only did we learn that the previous staff member did not turn the on the night service on the phones which is why no-one answered but also they knew about the pipe issue when we checked in but did not warn us about it. The guy was very apologetic and helpful and assured us that after speaking to the manager that we would be receiving a full refund. It was such a shame as it seems like a lovely hotel and breakfast was nice with a good selection, but lack of sleep definitely made it a poor experience unfortunately. I would like to think we would give it another opportunity to prove to us that we can have a good stay there. But they need to manage people's expectations and let people know of issues which could affect their stay at the time of booking in.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OEIGK, General Manager at The Fountain Inn, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for your honest and fair review. I apologise for the pipeworks which resulted in you not having a good nights sleep. I have also held a conversation with our team regarding our in house procedures and i am confident this has been resolved.

Please do visit us again, as you will see from our feedback this is not the normal high quality service we aim to deliver our guests. Please feel free to contact me directly and i can put you on a special rate in the future.

Thank you once again for your honest review & highlighting that we gave you a refund, we fully support honest and fair feedback on this site.

Kind Regards

Christopher Francis

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edenbridge
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Very clean, superb food, we stay for 2 nights in room No 11 (double superior bedroom) - very nice and clean; bathroom very clean, food at breakfast and dinner extremely good; we had a room with a see view and it was excellent. All in all 5 star for very small amount of cash!!!

Room Tip: stay in room 11
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OEIGK, General Manager at The Fountain Inn, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for your great review!

We are glad we met your expectations during your visit and we very much look forward to seeing you in the future.

Regards

Chris Francis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed here for one night after visiting Shanklin.......Ocean View Hotel ( see other review )The Fountain Inn was great fab room, Tv remote had been stolen and not replaced ....oooopps.
We had a fantastic breakfast lots to choose from ....there is a buffet with juices etc then choose your dish from Full English to Smoked Salmom..great choice.the only down side was our room was at the front of the hotel (no view as such) but was very noisy we were woken up around 05.30 by the local bus service.not good when you are on holiday.........would go back but would recommend a room at the back due to noise.........
Cowes itself was beautifull we had beautifull wether all the boats were out...... not much to do as lots of things closed due to bank Holiday....would return..........the crossing makes a trip to The Isle Of Wight more expensive so its worth remembering that if you plan to go .........add onto your holiday cost the ferry charges £100 + for a car depending when you wish to travel ( we booked with Red Funnell)

Room Tip: We had a great room at the front (5) but it was noisy.........ask for a quiet room Photo to follow
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OEIGK, General Manager at The Fountain Inn, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for your great review, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your trip on the island. You are correct that our location is affected by a busy ferry terminal & encourage all of our guests to request rooms at the rear of the hotel for light sleepers! Many thanks again and i do hope we can look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Chris Francis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I just went to Isle Of Wight with my boyfriend and we really enjoy there. I booked one room for about 1 month earlier so that I have a very cheap price : only 32 pounds and the view is extremely beautiful : I can see the barrier between Cowes and East Cowes from my room.
Although the hotel is located in West Cowes, it is very near the Chain Ferry and Red Jet so time to travel to Cowes is definitely not a problem.
The breakfast is fantastic for 32 pounds 1 night. Free selected food in bar to choose from wide range of cereals, fruit, juices and croissant and also include one main dish. My boyfriend chose Smoked Salmon with srambled egg, mine was egg Benedict.We love the food and also the view in the small bar.
Thanks Fountain Inn for making our trip become amazing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed here a couple of weeks ago for one night. we got a great rate as we left it until 4pm to find somewhere to stay in Cowes. The hotel has recently been updated and we found it to be clean, efficient and tastefully decorated. The room was a little on the small side but the use of old railway compartment luggage racks instead of wardrobes was a nice touch that made best use of the space. Breakfast was good enough and you couldnt fault the location right in the heart of the town, close to the pubs and restaurants. No car park, but local pay and display carpark is just round the corner.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OEIGK, General Manager at The Fountain Inn, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for your kind review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay at The Fountain and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards Chris Francis General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Fountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fountain Inn

Address: High Street, Cowes PO31 7AW , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Cowes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Cowes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fountain Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your The Fountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fountain Hotel Cowes
Fountain Hotel Cowes
The Fountain Inn Cowes, Isle Of Wight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fountain Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.