We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room Great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fountain Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Fountain Inn to your Saves list
The Fountain Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   High Street, Cowes PO31 7AW , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Cowes
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Grenada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great room Great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

We were staying only for one night and had two rooms. We were surprised by just how good the accommodation was given that its really a pub. The staff were so helpful and it wasn't just one. The food in the bar was great and when we wanted to some slight changes they were no problem. Such a joy. We will go back

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Fountain Inn, responded to this review, January 19, 2012
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. At Old English Inns we really value every one of our customer’s comments. Thank you for taking the time to post your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Old English Inns in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    79
    31
    23
    6
See reviews for
19
76
11
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

Spent christmas at the Fountain, had room 17 which was like a small appartment, nice bedroom with twin beds, seperate study with desk for laptop, and a very large bathroom, very clean hotel generally, excellent breakfast with the usual full english, salmon, kippers, various omlettes etc, free WiFi around the whole hotel, only downside was parking, nearest car park is the Co-op £1.30 for 2 hours from 8 till 6 if not shopping there, limited spaces oppisite hotel stay for 30 minutes 8 till 6, we were lucky as we could leave the car there for a couple of days because of xmas and boxing day, street parking if you dont mind a walk, would stay again.
Brian and Katrina, Portsmouth.

Room Tip: Room 17 is good with twin beds, am told some rooms are small
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

We stayed at the Fountain in October 2011. The outside of the building is in need of repair and redecoration. The inside reminded me of a student let. Dingy stained walls, worn carpets. The room was tiny but as it was for one night that wasn't a problem but it looked like it had been furnished form a charity shop - odd sizes and shapes. There was only one bed/ wall light and when you touched it it swiveled upside down. Only one bedside cabinet. The walls were stained with drink and where old furniture had been removed. Bits of old bed fitting were still screwed to the wall. The windows were dirty and broken with an October wind whistling through. The windows also had cobwebs in each corner. Bathroom was ok - looked like it had just been refurbed but had bits missing and the door had holes in. No complimentary shampoos etc. The bedroom light must have been fitted 30 years ago and gave off a dim glow - all about it reminded me of a Dickens story. We went to the 'lounge' but couldn't stay there as it was blasting out music - the restaurant tables hadn't been wiped from the previous customers - couldn't bring my self to eat there so went to local cafe for breakfast. When we left I left a complaints card at reception but no one was there so will never know if they did anything about it. Not a place for a quiet weekend as our room backed onto the kitchen ventilation and there is another pub next door that belts out music until 11. Probably a great place for teenagers to stay but not if over 40.

Room Tip: Don't choose a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

For what you pay this hotel is great value, especially during the week, off season. Perfectly located in the heart of Cowes just as you step off the 25minute fast passenger ferry from Southampton. Great free Wifi, rooms with baths and good size TVs, clean and reasonably comfortable although a little tight on space.
A good, varied food menu sadly stops at 9pm, so beware if you get the 845pm ferry!
Breakfast was very nicely done, served by friendly helpful staff in a spacious breakfast room.

Room Tip: Some late night noise from the various pubs in Cowes if you end up in a room overlooking the High st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Fountain Inn, responded to this review, November 27, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel.
We do value all comments good and bad and take great pride in offering the best possible experience for all our guests. We look forward to welcoming to back to one of our Inns very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

We stayed one night here, only because it had unfortunately been pre booked and paid {and our room was changed and up graded .}
Our immediate impression was the lack of cleanliness to the walls, carpets and doors along the stairways and thoroughfare areas. Worn and shabby paint work everywhere which frankly, could be corrected at little cost ! The Fire Doors were sticky to the touch as I doubt they had ever been cleaned. Ouite simply, disgusting. An establishment such as this, does not deserve to prosper.
Our room was very small and the headboard was literally off the wall, leaving one bracket hanging and much damaged plaster. The walls were grubby and desperately in need of a fresh coat of paint. This also appled to the window and sills.
The bathroom and towels were clean. Urika !
We decided to exit and not stop. We complained and were offered the choice of an alternative , up graded room. Still reluctant, we think this must have been their best room, as the furnishings and general standard of presentation were now acceptable, apart from scuff marks on small areas of the walls and an area of loose plaster on the ceiling needing obvious attention. In its favour,the room faced the waterside and was also suite size with a large, basic, but very clean bathroom. We stayed the one night and found the room quiet.
Due to the overall feel of poor hygiene on entering this hotel, we were not sure if we wanted to stay for breakfast. However, the cafe affair arrangement at the back of the hotel appeared clean and efficient. There was ample provision for a cooked and/or buffet style breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Fountain Inn, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Thank you for your comments further to your visit to the Fountain. We can assure you that all our guests comments are welcome good and bad so that we can take the relevant action to put things right. I’m glad that your upgrade room met with your approval. We have now instructed our maintenance team to inspect the decorations In the hotel and works will be progressed to bring any areas or rooms that require attention due to wear and tear, back to standard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

Really convenient if you get to West Cowes via the fast ferry. Walk off the ferry and walk in the hotel. The location is fantastic - right in the middle of West Cowes and within easy walk of shops and chain ferry to East Cowes. Room was adequate - a bit small for a single but OK for an overnight stay - some of the decor was looking a bit tired and could do with a bit of repair - TV fine (although kept on losing some signal) and bathroom was good. Bed and bed-linen were good but bed was a bit too hard for me (not the fault of the hotel, mind you). Only used the cafe/restaurant for breakfast and that had a good and quick service. The bar was good and well patronized - the local bitter was excellent.
Biggest problem were the doors which constantly banged shut and the noise went through the hotel - to get to my room on the 2nd floor, I had to go through 5 doors so you can imagine the racket when people were coming in and going out

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Fountain Inn, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our Old English Inn. We do value all feedback and work hard to maintain good service to all our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to one of our Old English Inns very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

if you want to relax from the hustle and bustle this is the place to go, total relaxations

Room Tip: don't get room no.4 it's right next to the ventilation
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Fountain Inn, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel.
We do value all comments good and bad and take great pride in offering the best possible experience for all our guests. We look forward to welcoming to back to one of our Inns very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fountain Inn

Address: High Street, Cowes PO31 7AW , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Cowes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Cowes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fountain Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your The Fountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fountain Hotel Cowes
Fountain Hotel Cowes
The Fountain Inn Cowes, Isle Of Wight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fountain Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.