We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Restaurant !!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amabi

Amabi
Shepards Wharf | Cowes, Cowes PO31 7HT, England
+44 1983 716164
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 50 Restaurants in Cowes
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Cowes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Superb Restaurant !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

This fairly new Basque Restaurant is situated towards the river Medina end of Cowes. It's superb choice of menu caters for decent and varied tapas dishes and main courses. The ambience is superb, the staff friendly & efficient,the food fresh, very well presented and cooked. The prices are very reasonab;le given the quality. At the rear of the restaurant is a lovely sheltered outside Mediterranean style seating area. We booked a table for 4 last Saturday and were delighted with the whole experience - we shall be using this restaurant again. I have no relationship with the restaurant owners or the staff. This is an honest assessment from somebody who enjoys good food in good surroundings. Thank you Amabi !!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    32
    7
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Neots, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Very long wait”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We had drinks before at Amabi, but this time we wanted a quick bite and ordered a two platters. We had children with us and there is no children menu or anything that is even suitable for kids on their menu. So, we didn't want to spend a very long time there and thought the platters sound nice and easy and fast to make... Another table just finished their food as we ordered ours so I do not know why it took such an awful long time for these to arrive, as our order must've been the only one at that time! Of course, once on the table wasn't very hard to see that everything on the platters were from jars or cans. As expected but then again it doesn't justify the long wait. The bread was very nice, very thin slices of warm ciabatta - four on each platter. The oil was too much on the wooden board and got spilt on the table. It says on the menu "platter for two" so it should be enough for two people as starters I suppose, but is not enough, so the price of £12.75 is a bit steep. The service was very cold from the two young waiters and the young man that I paid my bill to, at the end did not make eye contact or asked how the meal was... However the lovely waitress/manager with a lovely accent was very friendly and knowledgeable. Maybe the staff needs training, or have a friendlier attitude which can be expected when working in hospitality...

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Just lovely!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We have eaten here a few times now and it never fails to impress. The food is delicious and the staff have always been very friendly and attentive. The atmosphere is wonderful...feels like you're on holiday and can sit back and relax no matter what the weather!would highly recommend it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Friendly service and loverly food !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Having eaten in many of the restaurants in Cowes we decided to try Amabi and it was definitely worth it ! The decor and atmosphere were very pleasant. The waiting staff were both knowledgeable and helpful without being pushy. We had the fish starter for two and it was possibly the nicest fish dish I have had. Main course we had Tapas and again cooked perfectly. Reasonably priced we will definitely return.

Chris

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Delicious wagyu steaks!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Had an offer from The Price is Wight for a wagyu steak dinner at half price. Selected a couple of delicious tapas dishes to start then eagerly awaited the wagyu steaks. When they came they were cooked to perfection (medium rare) and were absolutely delicious. A nice bottle of Spanish red to wash it down. Friendly staff. Nice ambience. Lovely evening.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amabi also viewed

 
Cowes, Isle of Wight
 

Been to Amabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amabi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.