We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm and friendly hotel in a wonderful location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN New Holmwood Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN New Holmwood Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN New Holmwood Hotel & Restaurant
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Queens Road | Egypt Point, Cowes PO31 8BW, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Cowes
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A warm and friendly hotel in a wonderful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

A very warm welcome from Carol started a great stay. My room was warm and comfortable. The resturant very well managed by Cheryl was of a very high standard and the food was excellent. It was so refreshing to eat in a hotel resturant all week with a beautiful view, good food, not observe one resident wearing a baseball cap, woolly hat over the ears or sunglasses on top of the head ( on a dull day ) at the table. Thank you to all the staff, lets hope you maintain this high standard.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    60
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
45
78
5
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

the bedrooms are maybe a little tired for the young(ish) metropolitan, but everything works, the public rooms are lovely, a nice atmosphere and friendly, helpful staff. fantastic views over the solent watching the cruise liners from southampton.

Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2010

We booked a short break across to the Isle of Wight and decided after reading the reviews here, to give the Holmwood a try - Very glad we did! Arrived on the island early and kept on the western side, then checked in late afternoon. They had a wedding reception going on, which they advised us of my mail once we booked two weeks ago. We were little worried about possible noise, however we didnt hear any at all from our room. The room it self was large with a large King bed, and little touches like 2 bottles of water, chocolate's on the pillows, choice of tea/coffee/hot choc - and a super nice powerfull shower...really nice, with all the bathroom accessories you might need. We booked room only as we thought the breakfast would be full with the wedding guests, and found it a short walk (waterfront) into pretty cowes which has lots of places to eat. Checked out at midday and spent the last day exploring the eastern half of IOW....lovely break!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the hotel for six days - I was working she was relaxing. The food at the hotel is very good indeed even thogh they cook their bacon too much for me! Once told of course they did it exactly to my liking.
The bar is cosy and well stocked, the view from the restaurant is wonderful, the room was large warm and clean - even the water in the bath comes out fast - better than a dribble in many other hotels - yes I can be picky!
The thing that stood out most, is the staff - attentive, very friendly and seem really happy in their work, even the cleaners!
A great hotel - I will be back next year.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern England
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2010

Stayed for a few days in February. Can only reiterate the previous postings. Must be one of the most relaxing hotels on the Island. Their short breaks with the inclusive ferry fare are great value.

There are things that can be annoying. Like the bed base, that goes all the way to the floor and is all too easy to stub your toes on. The basin and bath that take forever to drain. The way they manage to ruin an otherwise great cooked breakfast with awful cheap sausages – even Wetherspoons can do better.

But without a doubt, it's the view from the restaurant and the terrific staff that make this place so special.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2010

I had a friendly welcome and the staff were more than helpful, making sure I was settled quickly.

My room was cold for the first 3 days, I can only assume that the heating had only been switched on on the Monday just before I arrived, by Thursday it was a lot more comfortable.

The bed was way too hard, I don't think it had any give in it at all. It may be just in the room I was in, the Uffa Fox Suite. The lighting was extremely dim too, I had to apply make up in the bathroom as I could not see enough in the mirror in the bedroom, reading was difficult using the main light too, I had to rely on the bedside lights.

The food in the evenings was exceptional, the choice was great and whatever I ordered I enjoyed. The breakfast was typical hotel fayre, no real imagination there.

All in all, I thought it was good for my purpose of just somewhere to eat and sleep, I may have been more disappointed with the accommodation had I been on holiday instead of there for business purposes.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

My wife, her sister & I stayed at The New Holmwood for the long weekend of my birthday.

The hotel is a pleasant 10 minute walk along the promenade from Cowes town & looks out over the Solent.

It's an oldish hotel so the rooms are a little tired, however the food in the restaurant including breakfast was excellent.

But best of all, the staff were the friendliest people anywhere & couldn't have made us any more welcome. They went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN New Holmwood Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN New Holmwood Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Queens Road | Egypt Point, Cowes PO31 8BW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Cowes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Cowes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN New Holmwood Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western New Holmwood Hotel is situated at Egypt Point in Cowes on the Isle of Wight, home to a multitude of world famous yachting events. The hotel offers fantastic panoramic views across the solent from its public areas with the enchanting town of Cowes being only a 15 - 20 minute walk along the waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN New Holmwood Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western New Holmwood Hotel And Restaurant
Best Western Cowes
Cowes Best Western
BEST WESTERN New Holmwood Hotel & Restaurant Cowes, Isle Of Wight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN New Holmwood Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.