We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super hotel in Cowes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN New Holmwood Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN New Holmwood Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN New Holmwood Hotel & Restaurant
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Queens Road | Egypt Point, Cowes PO31 8BW, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Cowes
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Super hotel in Cowes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed one night and relatives three nights attending a wedding reception in August. The hotel is in a lovely location right opposite the Solent and Southampton Water. The welcome was very warm and this was the prelude to a superb service by David and all of his staff. They were accommodating, friendly, all with a warm and cheerful disposition. As a previous reviewer commented it was customer service at its best. The rooms were clean, well decorated and some had a view over the Solent. The public areas, the bar, lounge and patio areas were generally small but gave a comfortable and intimate feel while the restaurant was larger but still gave a similar impression. I would certainly recommend the New Holmwood as a hotel and for functions such as receptions.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Holmwood C, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN New Holmwood Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. We are pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your time with us and felt that the staff were warm and welcoming.

As previously mentioned we count ourselves very lucky to have a view as we do and never get bored of it, as there is always something different to see and feel that it is a perfect setting for a wedding.

We are delighted to hear that you would recommend our hotel to others for accommodation and for functions and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Cheryl Hickey
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    62
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
49
81
6
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Spent 3 nights at this hotel recently as a short break in the Isle of Wight.
Cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. All the staff were very friendly and accommodating from the moment we arrived. We had a superior room which had a view across the water which was directly outside of the hotel.
The room was very clean, tastefully decorated to a high standard.
Our dogs who were also welcomed fully by the hotel staff.
The hotel is a short level walk to the centre of Cowes where there are plenty of bars and restaurants.
There is free parking spaces directly outside the front door although sometimes these did get full and had to park on the street although this was not a problem.
Overall would highly recommend and we will be returning again in the future

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Holmwood C, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN New Holmwood Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review, we are pleased to hear that you and your dogs enjoyed your stay with us.

We count ourselves extremely lucky to be in the position that we are with our sea views and quiet location but still close enough to enjoy the town.

We are glad that you found the team friendly and accommodating as we pride ourselves on our “family friendly feel” to the place and like to make our guests feel as comfortable as possible.

We hope to see you again on your return to the Isle of Wight

Kind Regards
Cheryl Hickey
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Hotel is in a good position with great sea views. Having attended a Wedding reception here recently I feel special mention must go to the very hard working hotel staff, they were cheerful and friendly without being intrusive. Customer service at its very best. Thank you to a great team.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Holmwood C, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN New Holmwood Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for your kind review.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We count ourselves very lucky to be in the position that we are with our wonderful sea views.

We pride ourselves on the service provided during the weddings that we hold and are grateful that you have taken the time to notice and comment on this and we hope to see you again

Kind Regards
Cheryl Hickey
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stayed here recently on a short break , the hotel was clean, comfortable and welcoming . All staff were professional and courteous, Nothing was too much trouble and they even accommodated our dog with no excessive rule book.
Great sea views from room . The restaurant served good quality food prepared to a good standard and always served with a smile , The receptionists were polite and had a no fuss approach to check in and out .
We have stayed in hotels all around the world and your service is on a par with some of the top hotels . Keep up the good work ,
Thank you

Room Tip: Stay in the sea view rooms at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Holmwood C, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN New Holmwood Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your short break with us.

As a dog friendly hotel we like to make them feel just as welcome as the guests so are pleased that you felt this was achieved.

We have passed on your comments to all the team and they are delighted to hear that their efforts were appreciated and we all hope to see you again on your next visit to the island.

Kind Regards
Cheryl Hickey
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I arranged a meal for my beautiful fiance on her Birthday at this restaurant. The lady I asked to make the reservation was charming and helpful beyond belief! I asked if they could provide a cake and candle - well it turned out beyond the call of duty. We got a lovely cake (chocky one at shortnotice - I only gave them a few hours, but they did fabulous~), We had an excellent meal, nice choices and extremely well cooked and the service from Cathy and "trainee" was perfection. Cathy is friendly but not over friendly, just professional in all her duties and very smily, with a very good "can do" attitude which is rare in this day and age. When we finished our meal the cake arrived and Cathy brought it out with a lit firework on top which was like a roman candle (it looked superb) my fiance was (I believe) impressed with it and especially the restaurant. We cannot recommmend this highly enough. Well done Cathy and "trainee".

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Holmwood C, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN New Holmwood Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for very much for your kind review, we are delighted that you and your fiancé had such a special evening with us and that we could play a part in making it so special for her.

We have passed on your compliments to all involved, Emma who took your booking and organised the cake, Kathy our restaurant manager and to our trainee Sarah who looked after you in the evening.

We have taken on board your comments about the “trainee” badge and this is something that will be considered for future new members of staff.

Kind Regards
Cheryl Hickey
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

The holmwood is excellent run hotel.
We stayed from the 15th of aug to the 18th of aug for a wedding and the service was 1st class.
The room we stayed in was number 12 and it has a beautiful panoramic view of the solent. The beds are massive and rooms very clean and tidy.

The staff are excellent and nothing is too much for them.
We could not get a taxi to the 8.15 am fast jet to the jetty and kath took us in her own car and dropped us off. Touches like that sum up this hotel and the attitude of the staff.
This was our 1st time on the isle of wight and we will definatley be going back to the island and especially to the holmwood.

Room Tip: Room 11 and 12 have a panoramic view of the solent and worth the bit extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Holmwood C, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN New Holmwood Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Customer Service is our number one priority and under the leadership of David and Kathy we believe that this shines through and it is always nice to hear when it is noticed

We hope to see you again on your next visit to the island.

Kind Regards
Cheryl Hickey
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I had booked a table for dinner as we had relatives from Australia & London on the Island and they wished to visit Cowes during Cowes week and see the fireworks on the Friday evening. After a shaky start as our taxi did not turn to bring us to the Holmwood we got there just in time to see the Red Arrows - which was fantastic. The menu was excellent with our party enjoying fillet steak, venison & sea bass - service was excellent as was the quality of the food - we watched the fireworks and enjoyed our 3 rd course and relaxed at the hotel until the crowds leaving the Esplanade had dwindled. Our guests really enjoyed there evening and we shall do this again next time they are in England.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Holmwood C, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN New Holmwood Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for your kind review.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed fireworks evening with us, and are glad that even with your shaky start you still made it in time to for the evening’s entertainment. A lot of planning goes in to our Fireworks Night to make it an enjoyable and relaxing evening for our guests and it is appreciated when this is commented on.

We hope to you and your visitors again soon.

Kind Regards
Cheryl Hickey
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN New Holmwood Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN New Holmwood Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Queens Road | Egypt Point, Cowes PO31 8BW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Cowes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Cowes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN New Holmwood Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western New Holmwood Hotel is situated at Egypt Point in Cowes on the Isle of Wight, home to a multitude of world famous yachting events. The hotel offers fantastic panoramic views across the solent from its public areas with the enchanting town of Cowes being only a 15 - 20 minute walk along the waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN New Holmwood Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western New Holmwood Hotel And Restaurant
Best Western Cowes
Cowes Best Western
BEST WESTERN New Holmwood Hotel & Restaurant Cowes, Isle Of Wight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN New Holmwood Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.