We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy experience!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Baan Thai

Baan Thai
10 Bath Road, Cowes PO31 7QN, England
01983291917
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 49 Restaurants in Cowes
Restaurant details
Perth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Happy experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The ladies who served us were wonderful, so friendly perhaps a little slow but I personally don't liked being rushed. They were a little upset because another large party still hadn't ordered food after being in the restaurant for an hour but they were so friendly, kind and funny with us...you reap what you sow in this life and rude behaviour doesn't get you good service!! We selected a variety of dishes to share and the waitress recommended an additional main course and she was spot on with quantities. The food was tasty and hot and we enjoyed every dish...the duck was particularly tasty as was the chicken curry.
The toilets are in need of a wee bit TLC but that wasn't a great problem.
We had a great time and I will happily recommend it.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    7
    4
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Strange Strange Place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

We was welcomed by a very miserable older lady , who made us feel like we was intruding, eventually she begrudgingly found usvabtable! This poor old lady appeared hard of hearing, partially sighted, and spoke little English, and was waiting on all the tables single handed , no wonder she was miserable. The food when it arrived was very good indeed. It was only as we was paying when the lady clearly had trouble reading the bill , she told us that she had a brain tumour which was effecting her sight. Bless her no wonder she is miserable

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely family run restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Having been going here for many years with my family and friends , never disappointed food is lovely and always treated well yum yum well done

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Average Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We arrived late in Cowes and ended up walking around looking for somewhere for dinner. All other restaurants were full apart from here. The service ranged from one miserable lady who seemed annoyed that we walked in to another delightful lady who was very chatty and welcoming! #confused The food was very average... definitely not awful but certainly not great. Have had the same quality Thai food for half the price.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“How does this place survive?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is the worst place to eat in Cowes by some margin. The food was so bad that it was actually quite enjoyable waiting to see what would be served next. Do not take a girlfriend here or she will thing you are trying to dump her.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baan Thai also viewed

Cowes, Isle of Wight
Cowes, Isle of Wight
 
Cowes, Isle of Wight
Cowes, Isle of Wight
 

Been to Baan Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baan Thai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.