We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good atmosphere, slow service.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Toninos Italian Restaurant

Toninos Italian Restaurant
8-9 Shooters Hill, Cowes PO31 8BE, England
01983-298464
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 49 Restaurants in Cowes
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Portadown, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good food, good atmosphere, slow service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The food really was great - we had pizza with a lovely thin crispy crust and generous toppings. Also had a pasta with pepper pesto - this was delicious! Complimentary bread and breadsticks were given also.

The only down side was the service - we waited quite a while for our order to be taken. After placing the order the food came relatively quickly, but no one approached us during our meal to ask how it was. When we finished we had to wait a while for the table to be cleared, then it took a while to catch someones eye and ask for the bill... The bill did not come so we had to ask someone else. From the time our table was cleared we waited 15 mins for the bill, and then the struggle to catch a waiters eye started all over again to get them to come over for payment! The restaurant was admittedly busy, but by no means full and I felt they could have been more efficient.

Service aside, this is a great place. I will go back (but only if not in a rush!)

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    29
    22
    16
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lutterworth, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Raw Chicken!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Service was appalling. We ordered mains, an hour later the owner came to clear the table, we told him we hadn't eaten yet. The food took a further 20 minutes. One chicken dish came out and had only been flash fried, so was virtually raw. A dish came out that we had not ordered.
This place is basic food at over inflated prices.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coventry
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The food was great, however it was let down by poor service, served drinks and food and that was it until I asked for the bill, no is everything ok or would you like another drink etc, and after waiting an age I had to go to the counter to pay my bill, which would have been more if I had been offered the choice of more drinks.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hexham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Bustling neighbourhood Italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Good choice of pizza, pasta and a change from the usual suspects such as Carbonara and Bolognaise.
I chose one of the days specials, fish stew and it was scrummy.
Saturday night was packed so book ahead

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wonderful restaurant ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

I came here solo after visiting Isle of Wight Festival. The pizza was delicious, service incredible and a lovely atmosphere too. Staff made me feel relaxed and at ease. Would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toninos Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Toninos Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toninos Italian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.