We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“...and for that reason we loved it.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gotten Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gotten Manor
Save
You added Gotten Manor to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Gotten Lane, Chale PO38 2HQ , England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Chale B&B and Inns
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“...and for that reason we loved it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Don't stay here if you seek conformity, This is definitely not a standard B&B and for that reason we loved it. To have a sitting room separate from the (wonderful) owner is a real plus when it rains. You can come and go as you please. In addition we were directed to a part of the garden which was for the exclusive use of guests. The bed was very comfortable and the breakfasts delicious. After a day or two of the full English with home-made jams, we were offered smoked salmon and scrambled eggs. All delicious. Chocolate biscuits in a tin alongside the tea and coffee in our room and the fresh flowers were so welcoming as was the peace offered by the relative remoteness of the ancient Manor. (Neither of us are in the first flush and we had no trouble with the steps up to the bedroom.) A great stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    3
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Midhurst, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

The webstie and photos of Gotten Manor look magnificent so we booked a weeks B & B. The place is not clearly marked, but we eventually found it at the end of a very long narrow lane. On arrival we were shown around our quarters which was a common sitting room, as there was an adjacent room for another B & B couple. the sitting room was next to the breakfast room and our room was up a steep flight of stairs which was at a slant, a few times we bunped our heads going up. We were shown around by the owner and superficially, the room seemed cosy, it was large with a double bed, and a bath tub in the corner.

On closer inspection, there were gaps in the wooden flooring and we could see the light in the sitting room which was directly under our bedroom. Likewise, in the toilet, due to the gaps in the wood flooring, we could see the light in the breakfast room. The room was very draughty and cold as the windows did not fit properly. There were two radiators in the room, one of which was extremely old and needed to be got rid of and the other didnt generate much heat.

There was a kettle provided and it was so old that each time we poured out water, more water spilt on the floor and was seepong through the gaps in the flooring. The owner in fact didnt ask what sort of tea or otherwise we drank, fortunately i had brought my own green tea. no regular tea, for my boyfriend had been provided. We did however after 2 days of having water all over the corner of the bedroom where the kettle was situated, mention it to the owner and we also asked for regular tea bags, all of which was then provided.

The owner's house was adjoining this old building we were in and during the night and early morning we could hear conversations going on or the radio.

She supplied a full English breakfast and every morning as well as two loaves of bread together with croissants and hot cross buns. Every morning the brown loaf was cut and eaten but not the white loaf which was then brought back every morning and by the end of the week, was quite hard. We were given dried hot cross buns which no doubt had been warmed up but sadly when they cooled down it ws evident they were the same hot cross buns from the previous morning.

Every morning, for the seven days we were there, she gave us the same napkins despite having used them to wipe our jammy hands and wipe our mouths. The last day i was so flabbergasted but this behaviour, that i brought down my own serviette.

Not once during the our week's stay was the bedroom ever cleaned.

Out of 10, i would give Gotten Manor - 3. Realistically, perhaps a week end would have been ideal or even the self[catering.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meandmygarden, Owner at Gotten Manor, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Unique B & B - Not Everyone's Cup of Tea

Dear Katherine,
I am so sorry that you and Roger were disappointed with your stay at Gotten Manor in April. I do wish you had voiced your concerns at the time so that I could have rectified them immediately.
Gotten Manor is a very old house – it is mentioned in a will of 1305 and also in the Domesday Book – this makes it a truly unique B & B, which is what most of my guests love. Other guests staying the same week as you wrote the following in the visitors’ book:
‘Thank-you for a lovely stay Caroline. It’s a lovely quirky place with great character in a lovely setting. Lovely breakfast! We hope to come back again with our boys. Best wishes, Alex and Spencer’ 17th April, 2012
‘Thank-you Caroline for such wonderful breakfasts and an amazing quirky bedroom, a fascinating weekend. Regards Diana and Bill’ 22nd April, 2012
Again, I am so sorry that Gotten Manor wasn’t your cup of tea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

I have never written a review on Trip Advisor before, but had to for Gotten Manor. As other reviewers have said it is off the beaten track and it is not state of the art upmarket, but the warmth and romance of the place more than makes up for it.

Caroline spoiled my wife and I with home made bread and home made jams and provided recommendations as to places to visit and places to eat.

My wife and I spent a blissful three nights there without our children. We relaxed and took a complete break from our normal hectic life of jobs and children. Provided you tap into the vibe of the Manor I thoroughly recommend coming here to get away from it all.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Probably the most wonderful place to be. The place is as magic as Whistmans Wood in the Dartmoor: Somewhere hidden, hard to believe that it exists. Caroline spoilt us with whatever we wanted for breakfast. Whether you want to go for a hike starting in the backyard or go for a swim near Freshwater bay, it's the best possible location for a romantic weekend. We stayed there on our way from Switzerland to Devon and had 2 folding bicycles in our trunk – The perfect way to get to see the scenery in an appropriate pace.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

Such a wonderful and magical place is Gotten Manor! I have been meaning to write a review since staying in the summer but not sure where time has gone! I am writing it now as we are looking to book again this summer and reading the reviews I wanted to add our own.

My husband and I stayed in the 'Cart House' self catering accommodation with our young son (he had just turned two) who had a whale of a time running around the grounds and playing games. We felt very relaxed as it was very safe to let him run freely about. Caroline and her family made us all feel so welcome and were very helpful recommending family days out for us to do.

The accommodation itself was impeccably clean and nicely decorated. Very much enjoyed sitting in the lounge area, having a glass of wine in the evening while looking out onto the grounds. So peaceful.

The situation of Gotten Manor is off the beaten track a bit and as such you feel you are a million miles away from any hustle and bustle. Bliss.

Would highly recommend and as mentioned, planning on returning for a family getaway soon. Thank you Caroline for such a lovely welcome and stay, we will be in touch!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Hill, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

Stayed four nights at Gotten Manor in the B&B. Friends with their six year old stayed in the adjacent bedroom. A rural and peaceful setting. B&B separate from the owner's house with two bedrooms, dining room and sitting room plus walled garden down the path for our use. We enjoyed our stay - beds very comfortable, breakfasts good (croissants, breads, prunes, apricots, oranges and bananas with yoghurt and full English on offer or smoked salmon and scrambled eggs) and the owner a real character and very full of beans but left us to our own devices. Our room was very spacious and we had mixed feelings about the roll top bath in the corner of the bedroom and a very small toilet behind an ill-fitting door in the corner. Soundproofing between the two bedrooms was not great and sound insulation isn't a feature. Our friends' room was similar, with a put-you-up bed at the foot of their bed for the six year old. With an additional charge of £30 per night for the six year old it seemed rather expensive (we also have a day bed in our room). Hot water in the mornings was a problem - there was none on two mornings! We worked out we shared a tank with the other bedroom and had to coordinate our baths! Not luxury but very clean, nicely furnished, a bit of a hideaway and the owner really is delightful.

Room Tip: Soundproofing not great in room over dining room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Molesey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010

Atmospheric & interesting - but a steep precarious, ladder-type, staircase to climb to your rather primitive dark bedroom. Guess it's very difficult to convert a building this old to give the real feel of comfort & luxury which one expects for £100 a night, but some brighter lighting in this rather dark gloomy, creaky room would have been a help, rather than cheap Ikea minimalist!. Would not really recommend it to over 60s! Isolated setting, sadly no obvious interesting country walks in the immediate vicinity. Pleasant garden but nothing special. Excellent breakfast

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gotten Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gotten Manor

Address: Gotten Lane, Chale PO38 2HQ , England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Chale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Chale
Hotel Class:4 star — Gotten Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gotten Manor-The Old House - is described in a will of 1305. There is a choice of two huge en-suite bedrooms with a roll-top bath IN the room. Downstairs is a sitting-room and breakfast room. The walled fruit garden is reserved for b/b guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gotten Manor Isle Of Wight/Chale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gotten Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.