We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Salutation Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Weobley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Salutation Inn
Save
You added Salutation Inn to your Saves list
Market Pitch, Weobley HR4 8SJ , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Weobley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cornwall
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
256 helpful votes 256 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We ended up here by accident after another hotel had made an error with our booking. What a lucky mistake it turned out to be! The Salutation is a fabulous old 'black and white' inn, with all the quirky irregularities you'd expect in such an old property, situated in a really beautiful village. The accommodation was excellent; good sized room with large settee, very comfortable bed and a good choice of teas, coffees, etc on the hospitality tray, The owner was extremely helpful and accommodating - when we asked what time breakfast was served, the reply was "When would you like it"! Both the evening meal and the breakfast were top quality. This is one B & B I'd love to re-visit!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    12
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
13
22
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alresford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

The Salutation is an old black and white building that is typical of this part of Herefordshire where you can get some really nice food.

We weren't actually staying in the B&B just popped in for a meal.

The menu is varied and there was a a fabulous vegetarian option that I enjoyed. Price wise its middle of the road and not expensive given the quality of the food.

My only gripes are that you have to pay extra if you want vegetables AND potatoes (you get the choice of one of these or salad included in the price of the main meal) but as the portions are generous we had one of each and shared it between the two of us.

The other moan is about the bar man who I don't think smiled at us the whole time we were there so unlike the lady who brought us our food who was all smiles.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serbia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Just stayed at the Salutation Inn wish I could have stayed longer we needed access to Ludlow and Leominster and very luckily found this hotel the accommodation was faultless spotless and we felt relaxed as soon as we arrived. We felt welcome as soon as we arrived the food choice and quality was excellent and breakfast superb. Nothing was too much trouble for the owner and staff I will most certainly be returning

Room Tip: Room 3 offered spacious accommodation but I am sure all the rooms would be lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

I went to Weobley to attend my mother's birthday party on 23rd June so booked three rooms at "The Sal" for myself and four other guests. My mother has lived in Weobley for nearly 30 years so I'm used to the village, the amazing old black and white properties and the way of life but have never had to stay elsewhere. I've eaten at The Sal many times over the years so talking from experience I can genuinely say it's at its best since the current owner took over in the last couple of years. I looked at the other accommodation but decided on The Sal...I'm glad I did. Old properties like this have crooked walls and floors, low beams and irregularities that are all part of the charm so better that the decor is left simple which this is with plain cream carpets, and white painted plaster between the beams on the walls and ceilings. The beds, covered in crisp white sheets and duvets, were very comfortable and we all had a good night's sleep. We were given a key so we could let ouselves in when we crawled back late after the party and in the morning were allowed to choose the time we wanted breakfast and what we wanted to eat! They offer a reasonable reduction for single occupancy of their rooms and you are made to feel most welcome. Any one of the five of us who stayed that night would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We used three of The Sal's rooms; one a good size double, one a comfortable sized twin, and one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for two nights at the Salutation. The accommodation, food, hospitality and location cannot be faulted in any way. The room (2) is cosy, spotlessly clean and gives you a delightful view over the village green and main street. We received a warm welcome and felt comfortable and relaxed. The breakfast was superb and cooked perfectly with locally sourced ingredients.

We also opted to eat here both nights and would definately recommend this. Again, beautifully prepared with good choice of starters, mains and deserts (if you have room!). There is a good selection of real ale, very well kept and an array of wines and spirits.

The inn is located centrally to Weobley which is very picturesque and there are lots of places to see and explore around the area.

I remember coming to the Salutation in the 1990s and having happy memories of times spent with my family here. It feels just the same and Stu and his staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful. The inn has been immaculately refurbished and provides what we believe is probably the best accommodation and catering in the area. We will definately be back as soon as we can.

Come and pay a visit, you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Home Counties
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

We would have liked to stay longer, and we will definitely stay here again. The pub-owner/chef is very welcoming and made us feel right at home. Our room was large, clean, comfortable and quiet. The food (dinner and breakfast) was fantastic. Prices were reasonable, and service was very good. An excellent experience all around.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tredegar, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

We were looking for a B&B with character and a good restaurant and we weren't disappointed. The Inn is full of character, rooms furnished in period, large, warm, comfortable with wobbly floors to match Weobley village. The beds were sumptuous with crisp white linen to ensure a great night’s sleep. We had a double and a twin, both had amazing views down the main street.
Downstairs we were welcomed by a roaring log fire and the smell of wax polish mingling with home cooked food. The staff throughout are friendly and show the right balance of attentiveness without being overpowering. The owner was great company in the bar,alovelyhost. The restaurant has well spaced tables and beautiful décor. I want to say the food is simple, but it is more of a case of letting the quality ingredients do the talking. Loads of local fresh produce, well presented and in hearty portions.
The breakfasts are great too, fresh fruit, real thick bacon and rustic sausages, hand cut toast, salty butter, freshly ground coffee - I could go on forever but instead ,I won’t spoil the surprise and let you find out for yourselves.

Room Tip: both Rooms1and 2 were fab. Watch out for head injuries as the doors are very low
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Salutation Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salutation Inn

Address: Market Pitch, Weobley HR4 8SJ , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Weobley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Weobley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Salutation Hotel Weobley
Salutation Inn Weobley, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salutation Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.