We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a lovely one night stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pendley Manor Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Pendley Manor Hotel to your Saves list
Pendley Manor Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cow Lane, Tring HP23 5QY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tring
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“We had a lovely one night stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We had a lovely stay early in January. The reviews describe the hotel as tired, and yes, it is in places, but we've stayed in far worse! We had a nice room and the breakfast was great. We would have loved to use the pool but it was closed for maintenance. We did know this when we booked though. The porters were a little over keen, especially when they saw us with a pushchair. For me, I really appreciate the help but hate the rut we Brits have got stuck in thinking we have to tip someone for doing something that is their job. We have family near by so may stay again. We know we'll have a good night's sleep and a nice big breakfast! Thank you

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMpendley, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
• Yorkiemum3012; Thank you for such a kind review, it is good to know that you found your room comfortable and that you enjoyed breakfast. Knowing the porter who met you, I do believe he genuinely wanted to help, especially if he felt that you may be struggling with a pushchair, as you say you should not feel the need to tip, neither would it have been expected, my colleague was doing his best in delivering great service to our guests.
Please do stay again when visiting your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    200
    125
    69
    26
See reviews for
109
246
15
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Tired,is the best way to describe this manorly pile.very large rooms and at £70 per night with breakfast,which was very good,good value,But bar prices and bar snacks are on the dear side.
the service and staff were very good,but my main course at our function wasn't,couldn't cut my
meat.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMpendley, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
maxieLondon Thank you for your comments, I am pleased that you felt your stay to be particularly good value and that you found the service very good. I am sorry to hear about your main course though. Could you let me know which function you attended please so that I can follow through on that with Chef.?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My wife and I were invited to dinner nearby and decided to stay overnight in luxury. Pendley Manor is a Victorian pile that doesn't disappoint, but it's not faultless. It's generally lovely, but it obviously needs a cash injection to get everything bang-on. The decor is quite mid-1980's in some areas, and although the pool is very good, the lighting is terrible and the cold concrete tunnel that leads to the sauna and steam room is grim. The bedroom was good despite the out-of-place pine 4-poster in a room that featured walnut and dark wood furniture. Patterned carpet, walls, curtains in a slightly old fashioned Laura Ashley-in-it's-heyday look. Everything was clean and the technology worked well. The wi-fi was free. The breakfast was terrific and the staff charming. The main function rooms are beautiful and traditional.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMpendley, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
• 1958speedster356; Thanks for you review, I am pleased to read that you thought the hotel to be lovely and found everything to be in clean with technology that works. It is also good to know that you enjoyed breakfast, appreciated our function rooms and found my colleagues charming. I am conscious of the down side and am working to have those areas updated
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us, please do visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We spent two nights here early in January to recharge our batteries for the new year ahead. The hotel was lovely in all respects. The setting was just outside of Tring in wooded grounds - close enough for a walk into town but far enough away to work up an appetite. The hotel building had character and was tastefully decorated. Our room was large with plenty of space, including a sofa so we didn't have to sit on the bed or scrunch up in a single chair to watch TV as in some hotels. The bed was very comfortable with quality pillows and duvet. We wandered into Tring for a pub meal on our first night but ate in on the second and enjoyed a lovely meal, quality ingredients beautifully presented. The staff were friendly and helpful - all in all we would recommend this hotel and will definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMpendley, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
• 7Scottie; Thank you for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit, found your room comfortable and enjoyed dinner. Thank you also for your kind comments regarding my colleagues.
I hope you left us with batteries recharged and that we can look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

For our 16th wedding anniversary we looked around for a nice hotel to stay in and decided on Pendley manor which was a great choice. The welcome was great, the room was enormous (albeit a little bit dated) and very clean, the breakfast was buffet style and was all piping hot and was served in a very grand dining room with high ceilings, ornate fixtures and fittings. The staff in the dining room and throughout the hotel were always on hand to help and were very friendly.
My wife and i used the gym facilities which were small but were adequate. The snooker room was a great addition to the stay also. There were peacocks walking round the grounds which was quite a sight too.
We ventured out into Tring on Friday night and Saturday night and used Johns taxis which were very prompt and reasonably priced.
The Akeman pub in Tring town centre is a great pub/restaurant and i would recommend this to anyone visiting, together with the Prezzo restaurant in Tring town centre.
A great trip overall.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMpendley, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
• Benandis; Congratulations on your wedding anniversary, and thank you for choosing to celebrate at Pendley Manor. Super to read that you enjoyed our facilities, food and that the team looked after you on such an important occasion.
Thanks for taking the time to post your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We had to make a last minute booking due to unforeseen family circumstances, and Pendley Manor fitted us in straight away, at a very favourable rate. The room was enormous, with a lovely view over the garden, very quiet and extremely comfortable. Breakfast was of a very high standard, served in a marvellous dining room. The staff were attentive without being intrusive.

A lovely couple of days- we might well be back again.

Room Tip: We have a room in the old part, which was very comfortable although slightly dated. We understand th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMpendley, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you anne a, for taking the time to review your visit. I believe you took advantage of our seasonal “visiting friends and family” promotion, which as you say was very good value. I’m pleased to read that you enjoyed your unscheduled stay, found your accommodation spacious and comfortable, enjoyed good food and that my colleagues were attentive in looking after you.

Thanks for your positive feedback.

I do hope that you will return for another break soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This has been our 4th stay at Pendley Manor and I can safely say we have ALWAYS had a lovely experience staying here. All the staff (we have have had contact with) are so friendly, welcoming, and accommodating. The hotel itself is beautiful and its wonderful seeing the peacocks roaming around, the only downside I would say, is that the rooms themselves probably need a little TLC, they are very clean and well equipped but the bathrooms need a little updating (in my opinion). The food (breakfast and dinner) is always yummy and delicious! Our children always look forward to returning to PM to explore the hotel and enjoy the pool! Thanks to all the staff and making our Christmas a memorable one. We look forward to booking our next stay at PM soon. I would always recommend PM to friends and family.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMpendley, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Yan K; it’s a particular pleasure to welcome our returning guests. I am delighted that your fourth visit was once again enjoyable. Thank you for your kind comments and for continuing to visit us.
I hope we shall see you again during 2013.
Best wishes for a Happy New Year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pendley Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pendley Manor Hotel

Address: Cow Lane, Tring HP23 5QY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Tring
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pendley Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pendley Manor is a Victorian Country Manor House, sited in 35 acres of landscaped gardens, ideal for special occasions such as weddings, private dinners, Christmas Parties. Also suitable for outside catered events for up to 200 guests. Conference facilities suitable for 250. Hotel is now fully Wi-Fi, air-conditioned in function rooms only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Pendley Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pendley Manor Tring
Hotel Pendley Manor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pendley Manor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.