We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice staff good location poor food value and choice” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pendley Manor Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Pendley Manor Hotel to your Saves list
Pendley Manor Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cow Lane, Tring HP23 5QY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tring
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“nice staff good location poor food value and choice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

stopped in the hotel a few times in the last 2 weeks (work related) the first room was not the best the other 2 were ok, TV reception was a challenge as the tvs are old, even had to re tune one to get a picture
the food was overpriced and not much choice in the restaurant or of any quality, the bar food was also of poor value, i asked if i could have a roll with a salad and was informed that that would be an extra £2!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMpendley, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
shaun h; I am sorry to read this Shaun, food overpriced? – a three course dinner in our 2 rosette restaurant is under £30 including coffee etc, should our guests prefer a snack in the lounge, bar or in their room, these start at £4.95. I would hope that most would find our food to be of good quality and fairly priced. I’m afraid even a bread roll has to be made, baked and served
I’m relieved to read that at least you like our location and find the team to be nice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    202
    126
    69
    26
See reviews for
109
248
15
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I stayed recently as I was a guest at a wedding here and was impressed with the grandness of this hotel. The public areas are impressive although I didn't visit the spa. Slightly less impressive was my room as it was definitely in need of decoration, new furniture and better curtains which would actually cover the whole window. It would have benefitted from some accessible plug sockets too. As I checked-out another guest was complaining about their room so I was not alone. Despite this it was clean and comfortable, breakfast was tasty and the service was absolutely top notch so I would consider staying again, although would not be prepared to pay as much for the same room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMpendley, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Bathwickdave; Thanks for taking the time to comment on your visit, pleasing to read that that you experienced “top notch” service and that you enjoyed your meals with us. The public areas have largely recently been refurbished and I’m glad they meet with your approval. The bedrooms refurbishment plan is being developed and your comments will certainly be taken into account.
Thanks for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I had my wedding at Pendley manor in Nov 2012. It was stunning, the staff were great and helpful. Breakfast was wonderful, huge choice. Our rooms were great, 4-poster bed and spacious,
However there was no complimentary room for Bride and Groom and a few guests did not like our starters, and they requested the veg option. When I checked out I had extra starters on my bill! Shame they didn't just swap them over instead they felt ok to charge me extra on top of what I'd paid!
The bar was open till 4am too!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMpendley, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
• Moohames; Congratulations on your recent wedding and thank you for your kind review. It is good to read that you enjoyed a “stunning” day with us.
We do include complimentary accommodation for our wedding couples when they choose to book our inclusive wedding package. I gather you preferred to make bespoke arrangements – which is of course absolutely fine, however in that case I’m afraid that the various complimentary elements included within the package are not available – sorry!
I have also looked into the question of starters, evidently (and most unusually) some guests asked for a different starter to that which you had chosen following your “tasting” for your 60 or so guests. The starters were all prepared and those not served had to be thrown away, hence the charge for the additional starters which were prepared and served. I do hope that clarifies that point satisfactorily.

Notwithstanding that I am delighted that you had a great day, and that my colleagues played their part in making it so for you both. Thank for your review and also for your kind email to my colleagues
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solihull
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed only one night and were encouraged to upgrade to an Executive room. It was big, really big with a lovely new big 6ft bed. There was room for a dining table and 4 chairs, and a 2 seater & 2 arm chairs, as well as a writing desk. So what's wrong you ask? Well the TV reception was atrocious from an old 80s TV. The shower lacked any pressure. Generally the hotel needed external refurbishment and decoration with window frames rotting and guttering missing. The leisure facilities were ok, although the hike and need to take your room key with you to get from the pool to the sauna & steam room was cold and wet. They also managed to be cleaning the Stream room and Jacuzzi on the separate occasions we wanted to use them. Sorry we cannot recommend it. Sure with investment it could step up to 4 stars

Room Tip: Go for the Executive room, 221, but make sure they have replaced the TV first
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMpendley, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Liondavec; Thank you for taking the time out to review your stay with us, whilst I’s pleasing to read you appreciated the size and comfort of your room, I am sorry to read that the tv reception was not up to scratch.
The property is currently undergoing redecoration, though as you can imagine it is a costly and time consuming task, I’m pleased to say that we are making steady progress with much more in the planning.
Whilst we do place emphasis on cleaning, it does seem unfortunate that the sauna/ steam rooms were being cleaned on both occasions you visited – they are thoroughly cleaned first thing in the morning and then “topped up” throughout the day as may be necessary- really this should not be any more than a 5 minute job – sorry if that caused you inconvenience.

I am sorry that at the moment you feel unable to recommend us, albeit we currently hold 4 solid stars and 2 rosettes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The rooms and some parts of the common.areas are old , tired and very much in need of refurbishment. Refurbishment seems to be in progress, part by part. The room we were in was very tired indeed, no minibar, old tv, old flowery wallpaper. Not even fridge or bottle of water. Old brass worn light fittings.

That being said, it is undeniable that the old girl has a certain charm to her. The grounds are lovely , got to see the peacocks. What really won me over though was dinner, it was exceptional.

The newly rerbushed parts are very good, when completed we will go back, but only to a refurbished room.

Ps free WiFi was provided.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMpendley, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
• BarryM157;Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. Firstly the positive – as you say the “Old Girl” certainly has her charms; she has been around since the late 1800’s after all. Needless to say I’m pleased to read that you enjoyed the grounds, met the peacocks, liked those areas which we have so far refurbished and appreciated the complimentary wifi service. Thanks in particular for your “exceptional” rating of dinner – Chef will be as to read that.
As for our bedrooms – whilst I wouldn’t entirely disagree that they would benefit from updating to a more contemporary, I can’t help feeling that you are perhaps a little hard on us; of course all such reviews are subjective and equally appreciated. The phased refurbishment of bedrooms is very much at the front of our minds and I hope to be in a position to welcome you back to one of our new rooms in the non-too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, Dorset
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed here for the second time, first was when visiting Whipsnade Zoo and this time when going to the Leavesden Studios for the HP tour.

The main part of the hotel is a really pretty historic building with all the old fireplaces and panelling. Floors in the rooms are a bit creaky but what you would expect from an old property. Rooms were clean & tidy with good amenities, bed was quite firm but not uncomfortably so.

Breakfast was included in our booking and provided a good choice. Great value overall and a lovely countryside location within easy driving distance of attractions.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMpendley, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
• hinesadapo; it is always a pleasure to welcome back our returning guests, I’m pleased that you enjoyed your most recent visit and thank you for your positive review. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here on many occasions as a business base.

It provides a good base, good well sized rooms, good dining room and all for a reasonable price.

The rooms are pretty well equipped and the ensuite were well equipped too

Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMpendley, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Edge1959; Thank you for your review, it is good to read that you continue to enjoy your visits, and find Pendley Manor to be a convenient base.
We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pendley Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pendley Manor Hotel

Address: Cow Lane, Tring HP23 5QY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Tring
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pendley Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pendley Manor is a Victorian Country Manor House, sited in 35 acres of landscaped gardens, ideal for special occasions such as weddings, private dinners, Christmas Parties. Also suitable for outside catered events for up to 200 guests. Conference facilities suitable for 250. Hotel is now fully Wi-Fi, air-conditioned in function rooms only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Pendley Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pendley Manor Tring
Hotel Pendley Manor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pendley Manor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.