We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service, great coffee and scones!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coasters - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Coasters
1 Parsonage Place, Tring, England
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Restaurant details
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic service, great coffee and scones!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Just a few feet down from Costa is this lovely independent cafe. The owner/manager made me and my partner very welcome, served up a fantastic soya cappuccino and an extremely tasty scone. Very reasonably priced too - I live in central London and whoever it was who thought this was expensive in a previous review, clearly has never ventured further afield than a greasy spoon to buy their coffee and lunch.

Delightful atmosphere, great location and warm and friendly service. He even helped us with directions on to the M1 as my partner had only recently qualified! Why would anyone choose to go to the nearby Costa or any of the ubiquitous chains when you can support real gems like this one.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    0
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Nice, but slow service and very overpriced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Just visited this cafe, overall nice atmosphere and friendly staff. However, food service was very slow and when it finally arrived about 30 minutes after we ordered, it didn't meet our expectations. The quiche was nice but small and cold, so not impressed considering how long it took them to prepare. And at £7.95 per portion it wasn't worth the money.
Coffee was mediocre and large scone was not large at all.
To sum up friendly staff, nice atmosphere but not worth the money we paid and we will certainly not be coming here again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fab coffee, fab cake, lovely staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

I stumbled across this small cafe two years ago with my husband whilst visiting family in the area. We called back because we remembered how nice it had been. It is still really nice! Delicious home made cake and great coffee served by friendly and welcoming staff. Knocks the spots off the likes of Costas (which sadly happens to be very near by).

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tring, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A real gem to find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

A lovely little cafe in the heart of Tring. The coffee and tea was good and there was a really nice selection of homemade cakes. A nice place to sit and read the paper on a Saturday morning, or grab a light lunch.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“bright and cheery cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We have been here a couple of times - it is a friendly cafe and the food is good honest cafe fare all served on nicely cleaned tables. They try to have a regular gluten free cake on sale too. They serve a nice cup of tea.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coasters also viewed

 
Tring, Hertfordshire
Tring, Hertfordshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coasters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.