We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'm not a vegetarian” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anusia Cafe

Anusia Cafe
50 High St, Tring, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 32 Restaurants in Tring
Price range: $9 - $23
Cuisines: Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Organic, vegetarian small restaurant behind a cook shop
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“I'm not a vegetarian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I'm not veggie but my friend likes this place so we always visit if I'm in the area. The cafe/restaurant is in the rear area of a cookware shop on Tring High Street. There's always a great choice of interesting food on the menu and always more than one option that I fancy. The staff/owners clearly love food and cooking and really put their heart & soul into the dishes they create. I love the freshness of the food. Many of the perishables are grown on the outskirts of the town. The portions are generous and the prices reasonable, the only thing I don't like is the closeness of the tables. That said, although a party sat at the table right next to us, I wasn't actually disturbed by them at all. Very clean. Very knowledgeable staff if your that way inclined.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    15
    9
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nice coffee, shocking service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

A party of 9 of us went for coffee and cake on a quiet Sunday afternoon. We ordered cakes and a couple of scones as well as hot drinks. The drinks were made promptly, but were left on the counter for about 10 minutes before they made it to our table. Unfortunately, we'd finished our drinks well before the cakes appeared. We chased them up three times only to be told that they needed the chef to warm up the scones but didn't know where he was!
The cakes and scones arrived about 30 mins after we had ordered - they were quite nice and obviously homemade.
My brother in law then realised he had been overcharged, so we had to wait again for him to be refunded.
Overall, not a great experience. Sort out the service and this place would be quite pleasant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“good food and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

there is a simplicity to achieving quality and Anusia has it

the food is uncomplicated but very tasty
the carrot cake is devine
the friendly welcome is appreciated
the play area for children upstairs is such a good addition

there is an outside dining area but i have not been there so cannot comment but the upstairs and downstairs are perfect

if in tring, you wont go far wrong with this family welcoming and uncomplicated. Simply perfect dining

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Sambolic and disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

My wife is vegetarian and had wanted to eat here for some time.
Although we had to send my wife's main course back because it was cold in the middle the food is pretty nice. In a way that's a reall complement from me as I am not vegetarian and find that generally I don't like a veggie menu. But this food was nie and filling too.

Sadly this whole place was let down by a shambolic front of house. We arrived at 8pm and did not have our main course until 10pm.... They forgot our drinks so after 45mins we had to get up from the table and ask for them again. The starter took 1hr to come and we then waited another hour for our main course. We weren't the only table encountering this, in fact all of the tables around us were in the same situation.

Don't eat here unless you have lots of time on your hands and at circa £40 a head i was expecting more.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“The burger”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We visited soon after we realised that the premises were not just a cook shop, but also a cafe/restaurant. We had been to the previous incarnation of this restaurant (was it the Green House?) on two occasions and were disappointed when it closed down.

We soon came to the conclusion that it was the same people running Anusia when we recognised a face from last time around - we think he may be the owner. A further clue was that the prices were still quite healthy, although we felt that you certainly got what you paid for in terms of service and most importantly, quality of the food.

We both opted for the vege burger and our server commented on the fact that this was a big meal and that we were unlikely to finish it all, however we both knew that that would be unlikely as we were both pretty hungry. The food did not arrive quickly, but we were not in a rush and the server did reassure us that the food was freshly prepared. When our meals did arrive it was worth the wait. The burger came with bun, salad, coleslaw, wedges and relish and the flavours, freshness and presentation were spot on.

We will be back soon. Keep up the good work.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anusia Cafe also viewed

Tring, Hertfordshire
Tring, Hertfordshire
 
Tring, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Anusia Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anusia Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.