We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great with a Vitality discount” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Champneys Tring

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Champneys Tring to your Saves list
Champneys Tring
4.0 of 5 Specialty Resort   |   Chesham Road | Wigginton, Tring HP23 6HY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great with a Vitality discount”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We get a massive 75% discount on Champneys through my partner’s Vitality membership (links aren't allowed so look up vitalitylife co uk). It cost us less for a long weekend this time around than we’d paid previously for one night!

We're doing a tour of their resorts to take full advantage and Tring is probably the best, certainly the food and better maintained. I know that Champneys can seem a bit old-fashioned compared to some newer spa resorts, but the treatments, food and classes were very good and it was brilliant value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    216
    126
    86
    76
See reviews for
114
212
178
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

......or members will also start leaving in droves.

As a club member, I see the place regularly, and over the last 12 months or so it has gone from average at best to pretty poor. Its been deserted by most of the celebs that used to frequent the place and their most famous 'gym resident' is sorely missed. The changing facilities are a joke, its dirty and shabby, poolside is slimy and filthy, towels are regularly hard to come by, staff have recently left in numbers and for members (and guests), it doesn't really have anything going for it. Showers don't work, fixtures are worn or broken - its a mess.

The staff are actually generally lovely and the odd occasion when I've had a treatment in the spa its been good, but they still charge for using the thalassotheraphy pool which most other spas don't.

Essentially, the owner needs to spend a hatful of money on the place to get it up to the standard of places like Ragdale.

So unless things start to improve, I for one will be unlikely to be renewing my membership next year and I know from discussion with other members that I'm not alone. membership is expensive and as a group, we are not currently getting value for money.

Room Tip: Never stayed so can't comment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Beautiful setting, clean, fresh, all "included" facilities really good especially the food. Restaurant service excellent. Extras not as good as should have been for the money. Luxury pedicure particularly poor value. However, would go again if only for the Thalassio pool! Much better on a sunny day......

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Visited just for the day on this occasion, stayed overnight on a previous visit. Lovely welcome at reception. Pre-booked treatments were not at the times requested but I was able to move them on the day. Fantastic facial, body radiance treatment and full body massage. I came out feeling like a new woman! Therapists were all very professional. Greeted (if you can call it that) by a smarmy and sarcastic maitre d at the restaurant at lunchtime, he is not a good representative for Champneys. Food was ok. Nothing to write home about. I was not offered a drink (water or anything) at any stage during my meal. I had to go and find a waitress so that I could order tea. The buildings and grounds are beautiful and well worth a walk at some point during your stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This is my second trip. I am pleased to report that the quality of the place has not changed and the resort itself and the staff were excellent. I can really find no fault with the facility. I stayed in the main building first time in older rooms, but full of character. The Garden Wing (superior room) was a little disappointing because although clean was spartan. I would describe the accomodation as three star in a five star setting.

Room Tip: Try and get a room in the main building. Garden Rooms can be a bit of a hike
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This is the place to come if you want to relax, eat lovely healthy food,keep fit with the facilities and go for nice long walks in the grounds and local countryside. All the staff are there to please. I can only endorse what has been said by many others below so there is no point in repeating.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Langley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

From the very first moment to the end of the day, I cannot praise the staff enough. Nothing was too much trouble, the treatments were fantastic. I would happily recommend this health resort to anyone and I shall certainly visit again.

Thank you

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Champneys Tring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Champneys Tring

Address: Chesham Road | Wigginton, Tring HP23 6HY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Tring
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Tring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Champneys Tring 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and LateRooms so you can book your Champneys Tring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Champneys Tring Hotel Tring
Champneys Hotel Tring
Tring Champneys Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Champneys Tring, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.