We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure bliss!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Champneys Tring

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Champneys Tring to your Saves list
Champneys Tring
4.0 of 5 Specialty Resort   |   Chesham Road | Wigginton, Tring HP23 6HY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pure bliss!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

Just back from an amazing stay at champneys tring. The staff are lovely, the food is great and the facilities are spot on. I have been here four times now and wouldn't choose another spa! The carefully selected diet makes you feel so healthy and motivates you into healthier lifestyle! I loved the early morning walks and the country hike. I then loved lazing under the duvet in the dark room feeling at utter peace. It truly is a great place to stay for relaxation and rejuvenation!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    176
    108
    78
    73
See reviews for
94
179
153
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Me, my sister and a friend booked in for a spa day at the original Champneys in Tring. I found that every member of staff was very helpful and wanted to ensure that the guests (including me obviously) had a perfect day. There were so many treatments, therapies and activities on offer a day wasn't long enough to do it justice. I had an aromatherapy wrap, a facial and a pedicure and every member of staff was friendly and skilled. My next visit will definitely involve a couple of nights stay, so that I can take advantage of everything there is on offer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had a great time and would definitely go back, but i still feel there are areas for improvement which need to be addressed particularly as it's marketed as a luxury resort for adults.
The checkin service was awful, the guy who checked us in was abrupt and very unhelpful, he even left us to try and find our own room without much help. The first room we checked into was overly stuffy, it was 2 single beds ( when we requested a double), there was no wifi even though it said rooms would have wifi and it was very dated. It felt like a real let down after the lovely rooms we experienced at the Forest Mere spa.
The minute we were moved to the newer part of the hotel, the experience improved and we had a really good time enjoying the different facilities and treatments. I think 2 nights are properly enough for a couple to relax, although i was surprised that some couples stayed a whole week.
The food was great and healthy , with plenty of variety, but i think they definitely could do with more staff at weekends as the service was slow and we were never served the drinks we ordered.
I think it's a great place, really big, with excellent gym equipment and all the spa staff were great, but reception and the restaurant areas need some improvement.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccles, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Went for a one night stay (2 days) as a treat for my 50th birthday (in the company of 3 close lady friends), I lead a very manic life juggling children, ponies, husband & work and this stay was money so well spent it was a real pleasure to stay from start to finish, the cuisine was first class. I have had many spa breaks in different places but this has to my favorite. Just wish I could have stayed longer, but will definitely try to fit another short break in before too long.

Room Tip: Paid a bit extra for superior but well worth that bit extra for tlc and longer stay, with garden pat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cublington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

After winning Champneys vouchers for the Tring Resort, my husband and I were very excited, our delight was heightened by spending a wonderful relaxing day at the resort. Staff were very friendly and helpful, treatments were fantastic, and the resort itself offered everything else; for fitness or relaxation, whatever your inclination. The ambience was of calm and relaxation, and offered a great selection of treatments. The restaurant and café offered a great selection of foods and beverages. Set in a beautiful house and grounds, the rumours about it were true - a wonderful place to visit or stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Champneys Tring is barely 2 miles from the A41 which means you are just 1 hour from London, or in our case 20 minutes from Dunstable. Surrounded by trees the entrance is only highlighted by a concealed entrance sign off a country road. The drive to the main building is impressive and the insides are just as impressive with a well maintained and majestic old building (premier rooms and suites) and seamlessly attached new extension housing the standard and superior rooms. All the staff are welcoming and the atmosphere is very much robe up and relax or pop on a track suit for comfort. Pre-book treatments to avoid disappointment. Look out for the occasional celebrity. The biggest surprise is healthy food doesn't have to be boring it is first class here. Not a cheap stay but look out for early booking deals.

Room Tip: Standard and superior in new wing, premier rooms/suites original building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My third times at Tring for three nights was, again, excellent and I bought two special vouchers offered to guests, so I am looking forward to another two nights of relaxation before the end of October. We had a sunny few days and it was so pleasant and restful, inside and outside.

Room Tip: I highly advise for a superior room, as it is on the ground floor with a French window leading to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Champneys Tring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Champneys Tring

Address: Chesham Road | Wigginton, Tring HP23 6HY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Tring
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Tring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Champneys Tring 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Champneys Tring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Champneys Tring Hotel Tring
Champneys Hotel Tring
Tring Champneys Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Champneys Tring, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.