We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Francesco's

Francesco's
53 High Street, Tring HP23 5AG, England
0144282 7258
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 34 Restaurants in Tring
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Me and my fiancé have visited here a few times and have never been disappointed my 2 year old daughter never fails to finish her spaghetti! We have taken friends here who were very impressed with both service and food and have already suggested going back soon! The food was lovely and service was wonderful so friendly and helpful they couldn't do enough for us. It's a lovely little family run business and I would definitely recommend it. We will definitely be going back soon.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    23
    5
    6
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Nothing posh - just authentic Italian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We visited Tring for lunch recently and spotted Francesco's as we walked off the car park. We strolled around the town, spotted one of those 'Italian' chain restaurants that we avoid like the plague and a likely looking pub that turned, on closer inspection, into a soulless gastro nightmare so we went back to Francesco's. The inside is like visiting any small Italian town back street restaurant - idiosyncratic decor, plastic tablecloths, tiny seating area. The menu covers everything - breakfast, mid morning coffe, light lunches, afternoon teas, dinner; you're hungry in Tring at any time of day & Francesco's seems able to cater for it. We love Italian food so we didn't linger over any other part of the enormous menu. We both chose garlic bread with mushrooms to start. Service was very efficient and our starters arrived quickly. They were lovely -slightly oversalted for our taste, but soft garlic bread smothered in button mushrooms, we didn't leave a crumb. For mains my husband had chicken cacciatore while I had lambs liver with onions & peas (don't ask me to remember the Italian name for this dish!); they were served with talian fried potatoes and salad (as everything seemed to be). I thought the salad might be a strange accompaniment to liver but not at all, everything tasted delicious. A previous reviewer thought everything was cooked from frozen; if the mouth sized tender pieces of lamb with sweet yet still slightly crunchy onions had been frozen, it was by a freezing technique that Francesco ought to patent because the food was perfectly cooked. Once again we cleared out plates because everything was too nice to leave. The waitress, who was also Francesco's wife, was lovely and couldn't have been more attentive. With 3 bottles of Peroni, the whole meal came to £36. What a shame we live too far away to visit on a regular basis.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good honest food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Francesco,s is one of our favourite eating places, no swivel hipped waiters here, just Francesco and Rosa giving their customary friendly service, a proper plate of food and a bottle of wine for not a lot of money. If you want arty farty , don,t go there

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tring, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Francesco's - good food, good wine, good service, good value.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We go to Francesco's several times a year for anniversaries and birthdays and cannot believe the bad reviews we have seen here. We last ate there on 24th July. The atmosphere is relaxed, sometimes crowded, sometimes not, but we have always had a friendly welcome and excellent service. Yes the menus have seen better days but the food is good home cooking in satisfying quantities and not overpriced. The house red wine is soft and fruity and affordable - excellent value. The owners are always happy to provide a jug of tapwater with ice and lemon ( a habit we picked up travelling in Europe) alongside the wine.
Starters are a good size and have always been appetising.
Fish, veal and chicken dishes have all been delicious. Being an Italian restaurant we eat Italian dishes there rather than steak which we can get in any pub.
The zambaglione is to die for! They do a hot winter version and a cold summer version.
Friends tell us the pizzas are superb but we haven't tried them ourselves.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Are we all missing something here?!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

We visited the area recently as our close friends have retired here to be near family. So we decided to visit this small restaurant as we both enjoy Italian food. We had mixed views about our visit. What lovely owners-kind and friendly,but the food wasn't anything to shout about. My husband struggled to eat his but felt unable to complain as owners seemed overwhelmed by the table next to us sending food back the decor was so dated -felt older then us-If that is at possible! But at the same time very warm & cosy.
If the menu changed -maybe updated a-little and a higher stranded -as i think my food visited the microwave a few times on its way! -We may return.

I have now been on and read other reviews -seems to me that something is going on if your a local!? Special treatment-maybe? As most of the good review are from locals- do they get a free meal if they post a positive review? Are we all missing something here!!??.......

Kind regards

Mrs B

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Francesco's also viewed

Tring, Hertfordshire
 
Tring, Hertfordshire
Tring, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Francesco's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Francesco's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.