We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Little Bullocks Farm

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Little Bullocks Farm to your Saves list
Little Bullocks Farm
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Hope End, Takeley CM22 6TA, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 16 Takeley B&B and Inns
Cromer, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Another great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This time we stayed for 2 nights and it was another lovely stay. It's so peaceful and quiet there, so hard to remember you're only 10 minutes from Stansted. Everything is absolutely impeccably clean and neat and the tea/coffee making facilities in the room are more than generous. For breakfast, you go into the kitchen and help yourself to whatever you want. The choice available is incredible, I counted at least 12 varieties of cereal! Julie is so friendly and is there to help you if you need her. She can advise on places to visit in the area and where to go and eat. Don't hesitate in booking, you won't regret it.

Room Tip: Room 4, which has a double bed in it, is the nicest one with a large panoramic window looking out on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
29
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Congleton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed for 1 night while attending a wedding in the area. This B&B is excellent! The standard of cleanliness is exceptionally high and it has a lovely cosy, welcoming feel. I stayed with my husband and 2 young children (3 and 5) in the family room. The room was spacious and very comfortable. As others have commented, there are plenty of hot drinks and biscuits provided as well as ample toiletries and towels.
As we were travelling a long way, Julie helpfully allowed us an early check in. She also had hot croissants ready for us at breakfast along with a fantastic range of cereals, breads, yogurts and fruit for us to help ourselves. My kids loved it - Julie also provided childrens character napkins for my boys which was a lovely touch and the first thing my boys noticed!
It is so peaceful and you would certainly have no idea you were so close to the airport.
The TV and WI-FI connection is also ideal when travelling with kids too.
I would highly recommend Little Bullocks Farm!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Having had to go and stay in the Stansted area about every 8 weeks for the last 6 years (elderly mother in a care home) we have tried most B & B's in the area. This is the best by far and we can endorse all the other favourable comments. Very comfortable beds, clean and welcoming with masses of FREE parking.
The help yourself breakfast has 13 different types of cereal, every type of coffee/tea, yoghurts, fresh fruit, museli bars, waffles, cheese, ham, fruit juices, and a selection of bread. Toaster, microwave and mini oven are provided. This concept is a wonderful idea as you can have that extra half hour in bed without having to appear at an appointed time for breakfast.

We have now had 3 visits and Julie's kindness was amazing in a difficult time, as sadly we had to organise a funeral for mother.

Best places to eat are The Saracen's Head in Great Dunmow and the first floor Chinese Restaurant in Great Dunmow is superb.

Whether using the airport or just staying in the area, we can thoroughly recommend this lovely B & B.

Room Tip: All the rooms are quiet and this B & B is NOT under the flight path and is away from noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cunas City
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I had been back to England with my parents to celebrate my Moms birthday with her family and we stayed here the nite before our return home (in the Purple room). It was the perfect end to a wonderful trip. The room was, quite simply, delightful. Every last thought and detail had been taken care of. The room was not only extremely comfortable but also immaculate and beautifully color coordinated, including the bathroom.

We felt instantly "at home" and relaxed. Due to our early departure we knew that breakfast would be on a self service basis, but we were amazed and very pleasantly surprized to discover the huge selection of cereals, yoghurts, mini cheeses, tea´s & coffee´s etc in the beautifully appointed breakfast room. Again, every last detail was catered for here.

On top of all of this, the owners very kindly drove us to and collected us from, their local pub where we enjoyed a fabulous early supper. I would highly recommend this accomodation to anyone looking for an overnite near Stansted. The room was quiet and dispite our early start we felt rested and had slept well. A wonderfully delightful place!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Based on one night stay in very pretty twin room. Photos true representation. It it evident that the owners have put a lot of thought into setting up the rooms. Pretty, but not fussy, spotlessly clean, comfortable rooms and very practical. Lots of little touches that showed attention to detail. Everything you could need was provided. Our room not big but big enough for what we needed. Ceiling fan very useful as weather was very humid. Very quiet which is what we like, no airport noise. Would definitely stay again.
Julie extremely helpful, late arrival no problem, suggested somewhere for dinner that was reasonably priced and good meal. Showed us around the other rooms before we left. All equally good standard but larger family/double rooms, one had lovely view across fields.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Very happy to endorse other reviewers opinions. Easy to find, great welcome, Julie booked us a meal at a nearby pub & ordered us an early morning taxi. Would definnitely used this accommodation again if flying from Stansted.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Arrived late on in the evening and greeted by Julie who showed us to our rooms. The beds were very comfortable and bedding lovely and clean. It was in a lovely peaceful setting. A reservation was made for us to eat at a local pub and a taxi booked by Julie to take us to the airport the following morning We felt this was a great start to our holiday and would have no hesitation in booking again. We know where to stay if we ever fly from Stansted again. Thank you Julie

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Little Bullocks Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Bullocks Farm

Address: Hope End, Takeley CM22 6TA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Takeley
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Takeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Little Bullocks Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Little Bullocks Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little Bullocks Farm Takeley, United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Bullocks Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.