We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice B&B, convenient location, but poor communication on website and in person” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The White House

The White House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The White House to your Saves list
The White House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Smiths Green | Dunmow Road, Takeley CM22 6NR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 16 Takeley B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Nice B&B, convenient location, but poor communication on website and in person”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at The White House in mid October 2012 as we were going to a wedding nearby. The room was great- a good size and clean, though the shower was on the cramped side. The B&B let themselves down on their confusing messaging (on their website, by phone and in person), however.

We booked our stay through the White House website, going for the "Room only" choice. For some hotels, "Room only" means no ensuite and for others it means no breakfast, so before booking we rung the phone number advertised on the website to confirm whether or not ensuite and/ or breakfast was included. I was assured by the gentleman who answered that ensuite and breakfast was included with every room (I checked a few times to make sure there was no misunderstanding). Based on this information we proceeded to book a room. On arriving at the hotel (at around 7pm) we received a very friendly greeting and were walked through the breakfast arrangements (with no mention of an additional cost).

When we arrived back from the wedding very tired- at around 1am- we were met by a dressing-gowned gentleman we had not previously seen who informed us that breakfast was not in fact included (and if we wanted it we would need to pay an additional £10 each for a full english). We had some debate about this, during which we mentioned the phone call where the inclusion was confirmed. The gentleman did not apologise for any error or mis-communication on the B&B's part. We left for bed with the matter unresolved, and in the morning chose to sleep in and have breakfast at a nearby cafe rather than further debate the point. When we left the B&B the breakfast was not mentioned.

Further, the White House website is confusing on this and other matters. For example, the booking confirmation page mentions a "Special Offer until March 29th 2009", breakfast prices of £5 and £7.50, and a parking fee of £3. This was completely out of date and incorrect (the year of booking was 2012).

So- nice B&B, convenient location, just a shame about the confusing messaging and lack of apology when an error was made.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindawilk, Owner at The White House, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Guest - Sorry for the misunderstanding of the expression "Room Only" which I and throughout the trade means no meals provided.

I am sorry if you were misinformed by the staff but maybe you didnt mention at the time that you had chosen the £50 Room Only offer rather than the usual rate of £80.00 bed and breakfast.

I do, however, agree the website is a little confusing and that is currently being dealt with.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    1
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
15
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

First stayed at the white house last year and again this weekend (Nov 2012). Can't fault this B&B, really clean with lots of little extras - robes, tea coffee and bisuits, luxury bathroom. Comfortable room, fresh linen and white fluffy towels, warm welcome and excellent english breakfast. If you need to be in takeley or stanstead then I recommend this B&B without hesitation.

Room Tip: all rooms good and have ensuite showers but if you want a bath then book the blue room at the back o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed for one night, in June, prior to our holiday flight. On arrival we rang the owner, they also have a pub nearby, and he came and showed us our rooms and the house. We were leaving at 07.45am the next morning and were expecting a nice cooked breakfast before our journey so were disappointed when he said there would be cereals, bread and coffee left out for us to help ourselves in the morning. He then went back to the pub. The rooms were very nice and we did enjoy a lovely meal at the pub in the evening. However, in the morning there was no hot water and the showers was freezing cold, the house was deserted and there was no one about who could help. The owners also live at the house and it is a typical family kitchen with pots in the sink and so on, I had to look for a cup to make a coffee but felt like an intruder looking through the cupboards. My daughters had cereals but commented that the packs were out of date. This is not what I expected of a bed and breakfast and under no circumstances would I stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindawilk, Owner at The White House, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Guest - I am sorry that you were not completely satisfied with your stay with us back in June and sorry that it has taken you so long to inform us of your "bad experience".
We clearly state on our website and the literature in the rooms plus I would have informed you on your arrival that we serve a cooked breakfast between the hours of 0800-1000. For guests leaving anytime earlier than that we provide a substantial continental breakfast consisting of cereal, fruit platter, yoghourts, toast, pastries etc.
I can only think that the guests that had left earlier must have used all the coffee cups which would account for the washing up in the sink.
I am sorry to hear that your shower was not working correctly, I cannot think what that could have been as we have had no other complaints and we pride ourselves that we can provide constant hot water for all our guests, from our very ellaborate heating system which we installed when we first set up the BB.
As you can see from the rest of our reviews that we do provide a very high satisfaction rate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Great, down from Scotland seeing friend, everything you needed, clean, well equipped and lovely people. Would stay again! Just steer well clear of the lion and lamb pub! Food was shizen!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Great character property, all the mod cons, free internet access, saterlite TV ensuite double and a breakfast to dye for ... Fresh Fruit, cereal, juices toast and oh course an amazing full english breakfast. great family atmosphere .... home away from home ... Very spacious rooms evening with a desk in case you have work to do . Off road parking secluded with lovely garden. This place is a real gem.

If you do want dinner Mike and Linda also own the Pub The Lion and Lamb five minutes down the road which does GREAT food. Both the Pub and B&B are great value for money. I have stayed here many times and to be honest I always use The White House as my base for business when I'm in the part of the UK ... even if I need to to get to my next meeting.

Couple of useful points only five minutes from Stansted Airport (luckily the house is not below the flight path) and they run a car service to and from the pub just in case the weather is bad .. or you fancy a few beers at the end of a long day.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice .....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Stayed here in April 2012 on the way to Denmark mid week. I have always stayed in airport hotels before, and took a chance on a B & B. What a good choice, this place is really beautiful, rooms are first class, and I felt like we were in a really high class hotel. But beyond this, the service was fantastic, the owner couple, were so helpful and genuine, something that is hard to come by these days in the hospitality trade. They also had a pub, half a mile down the road, "the Lion and Lamb" and the service and atmosphere was exactly the same there. Its great to see a small family run establishment, competing so well with the monopoly hotels. I think it's in all of our interest to keep these vital businesses thriving, because if we don't, in ten years, we will all have to suffer the poor service of globalisation.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

A wonderful level of service totally beyond all norm. Better breakfast and towels, just to mention a few details, than in top hotels. Like staying with your best friends on such a day that they for some reason want to be extra nice to you. Very convenient to Stansted airport, a 9 GBP taxi ride. This is quite rural though by a road with some traffic so you will be relying on taxis, though a bus stop is close. I don't know where the buses go, and being on business did not have the opportunity to investigate.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House

Address: Smiths Green | Dunmow Road, Takeley CM22 6NR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Takeley
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Takeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The White House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White House is a delightful 15th Century Grade II listed manor house set in one acre of attractive gardens providing a relaxing atmosphere for all. Having been awarded 4 Yellow Stars by the AA for its outstanding facilities and service and the prestigious Enjoy England Silver Award, The White House is also highly recommended by the English Tourist Board. Having been refurbished by Mike and Linda, The White House offers first class bed and breakfast accommodation in comfortable surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White House Takeley, United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The White House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.