We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Treasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mill House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Rapids
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mill House Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Mill House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
24070 Front St., Grand Rapids, OH 43522   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Grand Rapids B&B and Inns
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Hidden Treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

This place is a peaceful getaway in a lovely small town with little shops and restaurants within walking distance. Beautiful view of the Maumee River and great walking along the canal tow path. We will be back next year. Innkeepers Ron and Kathy are super!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
29
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

My wife and I found this B&B through a 2000 publication titled 'Bed, Breakfast &Bike Midwest'. We arrived early, and parked at the Inn, while we went on our 35 mile bike ride around the area.

Once we returned to the inn, we checked in with Ron and Kathy. They were both very hospitable, and gave us a brief tour of the B&B including our room. After moving our bikes ounder the deck and putting our bags in the room, we sat outside and enjoed the patio and scenic view of the river.

The Munk's provided us with snacks, water and pop for the afternoon. They also had menu's from local restaurants so we could view what as available for dinner.

After dinner we returned to the inn, and found home made scones for dessert ... a very nice surprise and quite delicious. There were movies/DVD's available for watching in our room.

We stayed in the 'Ruth Thomas Room'. This room had a queen sized bed with a twin bed and a private bath. The room was fairly spacious, very clean and comfortable.

I rated the room a 'met my expectations', as I would have preferred a couple of chairs in the room for reading. The common area of the house is very small, and can only accomodate a few guests at a time. On a cloudy/rainy day, the house becomes somewhat 'small'.

The dining just missed an 'outstanding' rating due to the breakfast. While the breakfast scones were very good, available (choices and quantity) was very limited. Part of this may have been due to Kathy having to leave early in the morning. But overall, still a good meal.

I would recommend this B&B to others.

Room Tip: The Inn has a great website describing each room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Pleasant PA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

What a great B&B. Rooms were very comfortable and cozy. The innkeepers Ron and Kathy were welcoming and friendly. Our breakfast was yummy. From Kathy's famous soft scones to the incredible caramel bread pudding. Our meal was a feast for the eyes as well as the stomach. This was by far one of our nicest get away weekends. Plan on returning soon.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dayton
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2008

Located in the well kept community of Grand Rapids, Ohio, this B/B is within a 20 minute drive of excellent restaurants, relaxing walking trails and hiking and plenty of locations for "antiquing". The innkeepers are superb; very hospitable and never over-bearing. The breakfasts are superior! This particular inn has developed a unique opportunity for pastors and individuals actively engaged in ministry; offering very nice rooms at a substantial discount. Yet, whether one is involved in ministry or not, this inn is among the best in which we have stayed.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2005

Me and my fiance were highly impressed with this bed and breakfast! We stayed in the Garden Room and loved it! The owners are very nice. We fell in love with this Bed and Breakfast and the little town it is in. If you are looking for a perfect, quiet getaway where you can relax and take strolls by the water this is the perfect place for you! Their are many events to do in the area if you just reserch the weekends they are happening on. We normally go during the Community Garage Sales. Also, the BlueBird train is very close and two different parks to go to! In town all the shops are very quaint and remind you of an old fashion town. They food is wonderful! We had a snack at night and a huge breakfast in the morning outside in the warm summer air. (they also have a place insdie to eat, but it was too nice not to take advantage of it). I can not say enough wonderful things about this place and the owners! This is a must see Bed and Breakfast!

  • Stayed August 2003
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mill House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 24070 Front St., Grand Rapids, OH 43522
Location: United States > Ohio > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mill House, in a converted steam powered flour mill built in 1898, is located on the Miami and Erie Canal overlooking the Maumee, one of Ohio's scenic rivers. We offer time honored hospitality, a welcome change from the rest of our fast paced world. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mill House Bed And Breakfast Ohio/Grand Rapids

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mill House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.